Electric Vehicle (EV) Fee
In addition to standard registration fees, EVs, including all-electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEVs), are subject to an annual fee. The specific fees are as follows:
|Vehicle Type||Gross Vehicle Weight Rating||Fee|
|PHEV||8,000 pounds (lbs.) or less||$30|
|EV||8,000 lbs. or less||$100|
PHEV fees will increase by $2.50 per $0.01 that the state motor fuel tax exceeds $0.19 and EV fees will increase by $5.00 per $0.01 that the state motor fuel tax exceeds $0.19.
(Reference Michigan Compiled Laws 257.801)
Type: Laws and Regulations
Enacted: Nov 10, 2015
Technologies: EVs, PHEVs
See all Michigan Laws and Incentives.