Expired, Repealed, and Archived Vermont Incentives and Laws

The following is a list of expired, repealed, and archived incentives, laws, regulations, funding opportunities, or other initiatives related to alternative fuels and vehicles, advanced technologies, or air quality.

Workplace Charging Pilot Program – Green Mountain Power (GMP)

Archived: 12/22/2023

GMP offers business customers the opportunity to install Level 2 electric vehicle (EV) charging stations through a monthly subscription pilot program. The subscription package includes charging equipment, installation, software, project management and maintenance starting at $45 per month per charging station. For more information, see the GMP Workplace Charging website.

Electric Vehicle (EV) Rebates - Green Mountain Power (GMP)

Expired: 06/30/2023

GMP provides residential and business customers rebates of $2,200 for the purchase of a new all-electric vehicle, $1,000 for the purchase of a new plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV), $1,500 for the purchase of a used all-electric vehicle, and $750 for the purchase of a used PHEV. Customers with qualifying low and moderate household incomes are eligible for an additional $1,000 rebate. EVs must have a manufacturer’s suggested retail price that is less than or equal to $70,000. For more information, see the GMP EV website.

Fuel-Efficient Vehicle Incentive Analysis

Archived: 09/09/2022

The Vermont Agency of Transportation (VTrans) must complete a study and submit a to the legislature determining whether to implement a rebate program for individuals to purchase or lease fuel-efficient vehicles that is funded by fees collected from individuals that purchase or lease inefficient vehicles. The report must also assess how this incentive program could function with other Vermont incentive programs to reach the plug-in electric vehicle goal in the Vermont Comprehensive Energy Plan. VTrans published a report on October 15, 2019. (Reference House Bill 529, 2019)

Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Fee Authorization

Expired: 07/01/2022

Any Vermont agency or department that owns or controls EV charging stations may establish and set user fees. The agency or department may establish fees that are less than or equal to the cost of charging or the retail rate charged for the use of EV charging stations available to the public. Fees collected must be deposited into the same fund or account from which the EV charging stations expenses originated. This authorization expires on July 1, 2022. (Reference Vermont Statutes Title 32, Chapter 7, Section 604)

Regional Transportation and Climate Initiative (TCI)

Archived: 11/19/2021

Delaware, District of Columbia (D.C.), Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, and Virginia signed a Declaration of Intent to create the TCI, a regional initiative to improve transportation, develop a clean energy economy, and reduce carbon emissions and air pollutants from the transportation sector. The signatory states and D.C. agree to explore and develop policies and programs that result in greater energy efficiency of regional transportation systems and reduce emissions. Additionally, states support the deployment of clean vehicles and fueling infrastructure, such as electric vehicle supply equipment, to maximize the economic opportunities and emissions reductions. For more information, see the TCI website.

Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Grants

Archived: 07/01/2021

The Vermont Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD), in coordination with other state agencies, provides funding to governments, businesses, non-profit organizations, homeowner associations, electric utilities, and EVSE providers for the cost and installation of eligible EVSE. Applicants will be required to match 20% of all awarded funds. Eligible projects must include a minimum of 11 EVSE locations throughout the state. This grant program is funded by Vermont's portion of the Volkswagen Environmental Mitigation Trust. In 2020, the remaining VW funding was awarded. For more information, see the DHCD For more information, see the DHCD EVSE Grant Program website.

Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Code Reporting

Expired: 07/01/2021

On or before December 1, 2019, the Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets (Agency) must submit a report to the legislature that provides an update on the National Institute of Standards and Technology’s (NIST) progress toward adopting a code on EVSE and makes a recommendation for an annual licensing fee for EVSE available to the public. If NIST has not adopted a code on EVSE by December 1, 2020, the Agency must submit an additional report on or before that date that provides an update on NIST’s progress toward adopting a code. (Reference Vermont Statutes Title 9, Chapter 73, Section 2730)

Support for Plug-In Electric Vehicle (PEV) Adoption

Archived: 07/01/2021

The Vermont Climate Action Commission (VCAC) was established to evaluate actions that the state can take to reduce greenhouse gas emissions from all sectors of the economy, including transportation. VCAC published its Final Report on July 31, 2018, which recommends that Vermont take the following actions to increase PEV adoption:

  • Reduce the purchase cost of PEVs;
  • Increase the availability of electric vehicle supply equipment;
  • Increase public awareness of PEVs and their benefits.

For more information, see the VCAC website. (Reference Executive Order 12-17, 2017)

Support for Autonomous Vehicles (AVs)

Archived: 07/15/2020

The Vermont Agency of Transportation (VTrans) assembled a meeting of public and private stakeholders on November 8, 2017, to discuss raising awareness regarding the opportunities and challenges of AVs. Topics of discussion included:

  • AV registration and inspection;
  • AV education, training, and operator licensing;
  • Insurance and liability;
  • Enforcement of AV laws;
  • AV testing;
  • Emergency response;
  • AV infrastructure needs; and the
  • Social, economic, and environmental impacts of AVs
VTrans reported on the conclusions of this meeting in its report to the Vermont General Assembly, Preparing for Automated Vehicles in Vermont.

Carbon Reduction Procurement Policies

Archived: 07/10/2020

The Vermont Agency of Administration and the Climate Cabinet must revise state acquisition policies to ensure consideration of vendor business practices that promote clean energy and address climate change. Policies should consider, for example, the use of and support of plug-in electric and zero emission vehicles, including providing workplace charging stations. (Reference Executive Order 05-16, 2016)

Plug-In Electric Vehicle (PEV) Charging Fee Analysis

Archived: 07/10/2020

By December 15, 2019, the Vermont Public Utility Commission (Commission), in consultation with electric utilities, the Vermont Agency of Transportation, the Vermont Department of Public Service, and Efficiency Vermont, must submit a report to the legislature evaluating:

  • The steps necessary for electric utilities to implement a PEV charging fee;
  • A PEV charging tariff design for electric utilities with more than 17,000 customers;
  • Whether the Commission should require electric utilities to submit regular reports on PEV charging-related activities;
  • The amount of additional revenue electric utilities expect to be generated by PEVs over the next 10 years; and
  • How to address the use of net metering and net metering energy credits for PEV charging.
(Reference House Bill 529, 2019)

Fuel-Efficient and Low Emission Vehicle Acquisition Requirements

Expired: 07/01/2020

The Climate Neutral Working Group (Working Group) aims to reduce greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions from state government operations. As part of this effort, all state government agencies, offices, and departments must purchase the most fuel-efficient vehicles available in each vehicle class according to specifications set by the Working Group. The Working Group must consider vehicles that meet high fuel economy standards and provide lower total overall emissions of GHGs, criteria pollutants, and hazardous air contaminants. The State Agency Energy Plan specifies additional responsibilities for the Working Group. This directive expires on July 1, 2020. (Reference Executive Order 14-03, 2003)

Plug-In Electric Vehicle Rebate - Burlington Electric Department (BED)

Expired: 12/31/2019

BED customers are eligible for a $1,200 rebate on the purchase or lease of a new qualifying all-electric vehicle (EV) or plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV). Moderate income customers are eligible for an additional $600 rebate for an EV or an additional $300 rebate for a PHEV. Vehicles must have a manufacturer's suggested retail price of less than $50,000 and be registered in Burlington, VT. Rebates are available through December 31, 2019. For more information, including how to apply, see the BED Electric Vehicles website.

State Agency Energy Plan Transportation Requirements

Archived: 07/09/2019

The Vermont Agency of Administration developed and oversees the implementation of the State Agency Energy Plan (Plan). The Agency of Administration must modify the Plan as necessary and re-adopt it on or before January 15 of each fifth year. As specified in the 2016 Plan, the Vermont Agency of Transportation must continue to use 5% biodiesel (B5) in its fleet of heavy-duty vehicles. The Vermont Department of Buildings and General Services will increase its deployment of plug-in electric vehicles (PEVs) to comprise at least 25% of its light-duty fleet by 2025 and install electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE), as necessary. All state agencies must install EVSE and increase their use of PEVs to a level that will displace 10% of their gasoline use by 2020.

(Reference Vermont Statutes Title 3, Chapter 45, Section 2291, and Executive Order 15-12, 2012)

Volkswagen (VW) Settlement Allocation

Archived: 07/09/2019

The Vermont Agency of Natural Resources must select projects and distribute funding to leverage 15% of Vermont's portion of the Volkswagen Environmental Mitigation Trust for the purchase of light-duty vehicle electric vehicle supply equipment. The remaining funding must be allocated towards projects that replace eligible vehicles and equipment with all-electric technologies or convert them to all-electric. (Reference House Bill 16, 2018)

All-Electric Vehicle (EV) Income-Based Rebate - Green Mountain Power (GMP)

Expired: 05/31/2018

Low-to-moderate income customers are eligible for a rebate of $600 towards the purchase of a new EV through May 31, 2018. See the Low Income EV Rebate website for application information.

Alternative Fuel and Advanced Vehicle Research and Development Tax Credit

Archived: 06/01/2017

Vermont businesses that qualify as a high-tech business involved exclusively in the design, development, and manufacture of alternative fuel vehicles, hybrid electric vehicles, all-electric vehicles, or energy technology involving fuel sources other than fossil fuels are eligible for up to three of the following tax credits: 1) payroll income tax credit; 2) qualified research and development income tax credit; 3) export tax credit; 4) small business investment tax credit; and 5) high-tech growth tax credit. Certain limits and restrictions apply. This incentive expires December 31, 2016. (Reference Vermont Statutes Title 32, Chapter 151, Section 5930a, c, f, g, and k)

School Bus Pilot Program

Expired: 09/01/2015

The Vermont Department of Motor Vehicles will approve up to three participants for a pilot program to operate Type II school buses that are retrofitted with an auxiliary fuel tank to enable the use of biodiesel, waste vegetable oil, or straight vegetable oil. Eligible buses must pass inspection in accordance with the state School Bus Periodic Inspection Manual and comply with the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards. A Type II school bus is defined as a school bus with a manufacturer's rated seating capacity of more than 10 and fewer than 16 passengers, including the operator. The pilot program will expire on September 1, 2015. (Reference Vermont Statutes Title 23, Chapter 1, Section 4)

Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) User Fee Study

Archived: 06/01/2015

The Vermont Agency of Transportation, in consultation with the Joint Fiscal Office, the Motor Vehicle Department, Department of Taxes, and Department of Public Service, analyzed and reported on options for user fees and fee collection mechanisms for AFVs using fuels that are not currently taxed. In addition, the Committee on Transportation Funding released a report on estimated transportation revenues over five years and potential new sources of revenue, including a tax based on vehicle miles traveled. For more information see the Vermont Transportation Funding Options Final Report. (Reference House Bill 770, 2012)

Plug-In Electric Vehicle (PEV) Purchase Incentive - Drive Electric Vermont

Archived: 05/01/2015

Drive Electric Vermont is offering a $500 incentive for qualified PEVs purchased at participating dealerships. This pilot program will fund approximately 75 PEVs and is available on a first-come, first served basis. For additional information, including eligibility requirements and participating dealerships, see the Drive Electric Vermont Purchase Incentives page.

Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) Promotion

Archived: 08/01/2014

The Vermont Climate Cabinet is responsible for, among other duties, identifying strategies to reduce Vermont’s greenhouse gas emissions and dependence on fossil fuel for transportation by encouraging AFVs and more efficient vehicle and mobility choices. (Reference Executive Order 05-11, 2011)

Natural Gas Vehicle (NGV) and Infrastructure Funding

Archived: 07/01/2012

The Clean Energy Development Fund provides funding for projects that involve the purchase of dedicated NGVs and development of natural gas fueling infrastructure. To qualify for funding, the NGV must produce fewer emissions than commercially available vehicles using conventional fuel, and fueling infrastructure must deliver natural gas without interruption. (Reference Vermont Statutes Title 30, Chapter 89, Section 8015)

Green Workforce Collaborative

Archived: 07/01/2012

The Vermont Workforce Development Council and the Department of Labor will create a Green Workforce Collaborative to develop and promote career training and employment opportunities for Vermont residents in green industry sectors, including the energy-efficient, low emission, and advanced vehicles industry; the mass transit fleet conversion industry; and the biofuels industry. These programs will enhance the economic and environmental vitality of the state and give priority to programs that provide education, training, and other services to target populations. (Reference House Bill 313, 2009)

Biodiesel Use Study

Archived: 12/31/2009

The Vermont Department of Buildings and General Services, Public Service Board, and Agency of Transportation must submit a report to the state legislature with recommendations for increasing the use of biodiesel in the state vehicle fleet. The report must include recommendations for using biodiesel blends of at least 5% (B5) in the transportation fleet by December 31, 2009, and at least 10% (B10) by 2012. (Reference Senate Bill 209, 2008)

Greenhouse Emissions Study

Archived: 12/15/2008

By December 15, 2008, the Vermont Agency of Transportation must submit a report to the state legislature on the role of motor vehicles in contributing to air emissions in the state and determine what portion of overall statewide energy consumption is attributable to motor vehicle use. The report must also include recommendations to encourage and reward energy-efficient transportation, reduce greenhouse gas emissions generated by the transportation sector, and support alternative modes of transportation, as well as recommendations for public education on clean and efficient transportation options. (Reference Senate Bill 350, 2008)

Governor's Commission on Climate Change

Archived: 09/01/2007

Recognizing that emissions from vehicles are the largest source of greenhouse gas emissions in Vermont, the Governor's Commission on Climate Change was established to develop recommendations on how to reduce greenhouse gas emissions in the state and provide these recommendations to the Governor. The Commission will submit these recommendations to the Governor in a Climate Change Action Plan no later than September 1, 2007. (Reference Executive Order 07-05, 2005)

Electric Vehicle (EV) Lease Program

Archived: 07/01/2005

EVermont coordinates the Vermont Electric Vehicle (EV) Lease Program, leasing EVs to Vermont businesses and institutions. Vehicles used in the lease program are primarily Solectria’s E-10 (a converted, fully electric Chevrolet S-10), and Solectria’s Force (a converted, fully electric Geo Metro). The average annual lease is $4,000 for EVs and includes complete technical support, all maintenance, liability insurance, license plates and registration fees, and promotional support. For more information, please contact EVermont at (802) 828-4039, or visit the Web site.