Natural Gas Laws and Incentives in Alabama

The list below contains summaries of all Alabama laws and incentives related to natural gas.

Laws and Regulations

Alternative Fuel Taxes

The state road tax for vehicles that operate on propane (liquefied petroleum gas or LPG) is paid through the purchase of an annual flat fee sticker, and the amount is based on the vehicle's gross vehicle weight rating. Each person owning and/or operating a vehicle that operates on propane must obtain a decal annually from the Alabama LPG Board. The decal must be affixed to the vehicle according to LPG Board specification as proof that the issuance fee and decal fee have been paid. Vehicle owners must apply for a decal within 10 days of converting a vehicle to operate on propane, or a 20% penalty will be applied to the decal fee. Out-of-state alternative fuel vehicle operators that purchase propane within the state must pay the current Alabama motor fuel tax or they may elect to purchase the annual flat fee decal. The propane dealer or supplier must remit these funds to the LPG Board before the 20th of the month following the date of sale.

Similarly, the Alabama Department of Revenue administers an excise tax on compressed natural gas (CNG) and liquefied natural gas (LNG) used as vehicle fuel. Taxes are applied in the following amounts:

CNG:
  • $0.08 per gasoline gallon equivalent (GGE) until September 30, 2023;
  • $0.13 per GGE from October 1, 2023, until September 30, 2028; and
  • $0.18 per GGE from October 1, 2028 and beyond.

LNG:
  • $0.08 per diesel gallon equivalent (DGE) until September 30, 2023;
  • $0.13 per DGE from October 1, 2023, until September 30, 2028; and
  • $0.18 per DGE from October 1, 2028 and beyond.

A GGE will be equal to 5.66 pounds (lbs.) or 126.67 cubic feet of natural gas for CNG and a DGE is equal to 6.06 lbs. for LNG.

(Reference Code of Alabama 40-17-160 through 40-17-165 and 40-17-)

Fuel-Efficient Green Fleets Policy and Fleet Management Program Development

The Alabama Legislature established a Green Fleets Review Committee (Committee) and Green Fleets Policy (Policy) outlining a procedure for procuring state vehicles based on criteria that includes fuel economy and life cycle costing. State fleet managers must classify their vehicle inventory for compliance with the Policy and submit annual plans for procuring fuel-efficient vehicles. These plans must reflect a 4% annual increase in average fleet fuel economy for light-duty vehicles, a 3% annual increase in average fleet fuel economy for medium-duty vehicles, and a 2% annual increase in average fleet fuel economy for heavy-duty vehicles per fiscal year. Government entities must manage and operate their fleets in a manner that is energy efficient, minimizes emissions, and reduces petroleum dependency by using specified proven technology the Committee identifies.

(Reference Code of Alabama 41-17A-1 through 41-17A-6)

State Incentives

Alternative Fuel and Idle Reduction Revolving Loan Program for Public Entities

The Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs (ADECA) offers low-interest energy efficiency loans through its Local Government Energy Loan program to local governments and educational institutions. Eligible energy efficiency improvement projects include those involving idle reduction equipment and natural gas and propane vehicle conversions or purchases. Dedicated and bi-fuel vehicles are eligible. Loans may cover both incremental and conversion costs. Local governments and public colleges and universities may borrow up to $350,000, and K-12 public schools may borrow up to $350,000 per campus or $500,000 per school system. The minimum loan amount is $50,000 and the maximum loan term is five years. For more information, including application availability, see the ADECA's Energy Division website.

Point of Contact
Maureen Neighbors
Energy Division Chief
Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs
Phone: (334) 242-5292
maureen.neighbors@adeca.alabama.gov

Idle Reduction and Natural Gas Vehicle (NGV) Weight Exemption

Any motor vehicle equipped with an auxiliary power unit (APU) or other idle reduction technology may exceed the gross, axle, tandem, or bridge formula weight limits by up to 400 pounds (lbs.). To be eligible for the weight exemption, the vehicle operator must be able to provide written proof or certification of the weight of the APU and demonstrate or certify that the idle reduction technology is fully functional at all times. Any NGV may exceed the limits by up to 2,000 lbs. (Reference Code of Alabama 32-9-20)

Medium- and Heavy-Duty Diesel Vehicle Replacement Rebates

The Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs (ADECA) offers grants for the replacement of qualified medium- and heavy-duty diesel vehicles with new diesel or alternative fuel vehicles. Grants are available for medium- and heavy-duty trucks; school, shuttle, and transit buses; freight switchers; airport ground support equipment; and forklifts and port cargo handling equipment. Vehicles must meet model year requirements. Funding amounts are based on vehicle type, fuel type, and applicant type. The program is funded by Alabama’s portion of the Volkswagen Environmental Mitigation Trust. For more information, including program guidance and the application, see the ADECA Volkswagen Settlement website.

More Laws and Incentives

To find laws and incentives for other alternative fuels and advanced vehicles, search all laws and incentives.