Natural Gas Laws and Incentives in Wisconsin
The list below contains summaries of all Wisconsin laws and incentives related to natural gas.
Laws and Regulations
Alternative Fuel License
Any person acting as an alternative fuels dealer must hold a valid alternative fuel license and certificate from the Wisconsin Department of Administration. No person may use alternative fuels in the state unless the person holds a valid alternative fuel license or an authorized supplier has delivered the alternative fuel. For more information, see the Wisconsin Department of Revenue License, Permit and Registration Services website. (Reference Wisconsin Statutes 78.47)
Alternative Fuel Vehicle and Alternative Fuel Use Policy
The Wisconsin Department of Administration (DOA) encourages state employees operating state-owned or leased motor vehicles to use hybrid electric vehicles or vehicles that operate on gasohol (a motor fuel containing at least 10% alcohol) or alternative fuels whenever feasible and cost effective. DOA must place a list of gasohol and alternative fueling station locations in each state-owned or state-leased motor vehicle for driver reference. DOA also encourages Wisconsin residents and state employees who use personal motor vehicles on state business to use gasohol and alternative fuels. (Reference Wisconsin Statutes 16.045)
Alternative Fuels Tax
A state excise tax is imposed on the use of alternative fuels. Alternative fuels include propane and natural gas. The current tax rates are as follows: $0.226 per gallon of propane; $0.247 per gasoline gallon equivalent (GGE) of compressed natural gas; and $0.197 per GGE of liquefied natural gas. No tax is imposed on alternative fuels used by the U.S. government or its agencies (when presented with a valid exemption certificate) or on vehicles used for urban mass transportation of passengers. For more information, see the Wisconsin Department of Revenue Alternate Fuel Tax website. (Reference Wisconsin Statutes 78.40)
Liquid Alternative Fuel Sale Requirement
An individual may only sell liquid alternative fuels if the seller provides the purchaser a delivery ticket with the name and address of the seller, the name and address of the purchaser, a description of the fuel delivered, and a meter reading showing the volume of liquid fuel delivered. The definition of alternative fuels includes those suitable for motor vehicles. (Reference Wisconsin Statutes 98.225(1) and (2))
Alternative Fuel Tax Exemption
A county, city, village, town, or other political subdivision may not levy or collect any excise, license, privilege, or occupational tax on motor vehicle fuel, alternative fuels, or the purchase, sale, handling, or consumption of motor vehicle fuel or alternative fuels. (Reference Wisconsin Statutes 78.82)
Alternative Fuel Tax Refund for Taxis
A person using alternative fuel to operate a taxi used to transport passengers may be reimbursed for the paid amount of the Wisconsin state fuel tax. Refund claims must be filed within one year of the fuel purchase date and must be for a minimum of 100 gallons of alternative fuel. (Reference Wisconsin Statutes 78.75(1m)(a)(1) and 78.75(1m)(b))
Clean Diesel Grant Program
The Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources (DNR) provides U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Diesel Emission Reduction Act (DERA) funding for projects that reduce diesel emissions in Wisconsin. Funding for between 25% and 100% of eligible projects costs is available to businesses, nonprofits, and public entities that reduce diesel emissions by replacing engines, retrofitting exhaust controls, purchasing new vehicles, or installing idle reduction equipment. For more information, including funding amounts and application details, see the DNR Clean Diesel Grant Program website.
Heavy-Duty Transit Bus Grants
The Wisconsin Department of Administration (DOA) offers grants for the replacement of eligible public transit buses. Funding is available for the replacement and scrapping of model year 1992-2009 heavy-duty public transit buses with new replacement diesel or alternative fueled buses. The program is funded by Wisconsin’s portion of the Volkswagen Environmental Mitigation Trust. For more information, including how to apply, see the DOA VW Mitigation Program website.
Idle Reduction and Natural Gas Vehicle (NGV) Weight Exemption
Any vehicle or combination of vehicles equipped with fully functional idle reduction technology may exceed the state's gross and axle weight limits by up to 550 pounds (lbs.) to compensate for the additional weight of the idle reduction technology. To qualify, the vehicle operator must be able to prove the weight of the idle reduction technology with written certification and demonstrate that the idle reduction technology is fully functional at all times.
NGVs may exceed the weight limits by an amount equal to the difference of the weight of the natural gas tank and fueling system and the weight of a comparable diesel tank and fueling system or by up to 2,000 lbs., whichever is less.
(Reference Wisconsin Statutes 348.15(3)(f) and 348.15(3)(h))
More Laws and Incentives
To find laws and incentives for other alternative fuels and advanced vehicles, search all laws and incentives.