Electric Vehicle (EV) Annual Fee

The owner of an EV that is exclusively powered by electricity must pay a fee of $180 and the owner of a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle must pay a fee of $90 in addition to any other required registration fees at the time of initial registration and annual registration renewal.

(Reference House Bill 259, 2023 and North Carolina General Statutes 20-87)

Jurisdiction: North Carolina

Type: Laws and Regulations

Enacted: Jul 26, 2013

Amended: Sep 18, 2015

Technologies: EVs, PHEVs

See all North Carolina Laws and Incentives.