Alternative Fuel Vehicle Fee

Owners of plug-in electric vehicles and fuel cell electric vehicles must pay a biennial fee of $120, in addition to standard registration fees. Hybrid electric vehicle owners must pay a biennial fee of $60.

(Reference South Carolina Code of Laws 56-3-645 and 12-28-110(39))

Jurisdiction: South Carolina

Type: Laws and Regulations

Enacted: Jan 1, 2018

Technologies: EVs, HEVs, Hydrogen Fuel Cells, PHEVs

See all South Carolina Laws and Incentives.