Electric Vehicle (EV) Charger Fees

EV charger ports are subject to the following annual registration fees:

  • $20 per Level 2 port
  • $40 per direct current fast charging port
The Department of Agriculture may adopt additional registration fees and consider differential fees for electric vehicle service providers operating less than 25 public EV chargers in Washington.

EV chargers found to be an economic detriment to the customer may be subject to a $200 penalty for the first violation, and $500 penalty for the second violation.

(Reference Revised Code of Washington 19.94.175 and 19.94.517)

Jurisdiction: Washington

Type: Laws and Regulations

Enacted: Jul 25, 2021

Technologies: EVs, PHEVs

See all Washington Laws and Incentives.