Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Charging Tax

Something Missing?

Email the Technical Response Service or call 800-254-6735.

Public EV charging stations are subject to a tax of $0.03 per kilowatt-hour. The EV charging station charging tax will go into effect on January 1, 2024. The tax does not apply to EV charging stations at private residences. Tax revenue will be apportioned to the Driving on Road Infrastructure with Vehicles of Electricity (DRIVE) Revolving Fund. Oklahoma residents may apply EV charging station tax payments as income tax credits that may be carried forward for up to five years. (Reference House Bill 2234, 2021, and Oklahoma Statutes 68-6501 through 68-6510)