Electric Vehicle (EV) Charger Make-Ready Requirements for Multifamily Housing

New or reconstructed multifamily housing developments with five or more units must designate 15% of required off-street parking as EV make-ready parking spaces, in proportion to new or reconstructed multifamily housing. Prior to occupancy, EV chargers must be installed in 5% of off-street parking. Multifamily housing must then install EV chargers in an additional 5% of parking spaces within 3 years of occupancy and another 5% within 6 years of occupancy. Multifamily housing may install make-ready parking spaces and EV chargers at a faster rate than required. Throughout the installation of EV chargers in make-ready parking spaces at multifamily housing, at least 5% of EV chargers must be accessible for people with disabilities. This does not apply to multifamily housing that is entirely restricted to low- or moderate-income housing. Additional terms and conditions apply.

(Reference New Jersey Statutes 40:55D-5, 40:55D-66.20, 52:27D-119, and 40:55D-66.2 and Senate Bill 3490, 2024)

Jurisdiction: New Jersey

Type: Laws and Regulations

Enacted: Jul 9, 2021

Amended: Jan 8, 2024

Technologies: EVs, PHEVs

See all New Jersey Laws and Incentives.