Electric Vehicle Working Group

Something Missing?

Email the Technical Response Service or call 800-254-6735.

The Secretaries of Transportation and Energy must jointly establish an electric vehicle (EV) working group (Working Group) to make recommendations regarding the development, adoption, and integration of light-, medium-, and heavy-duty EVs into the transportation and energy system of the United States. The Working Group will be comprised of 25 members from federal agencies, the automotive industry, the energy industry, state and local governments, labor organizations, and the property development industry.

The Working Group will produce three reports describing the status of EV adoption, including barriers and opportunities to scale up EV adoption, and recommendations for EV issues including electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) needs, manufacturing and battery costs, EV adoption for low- and moderate-income individuals and underserved communities, and EVSE permitting and regulatory issues. The first report must be submitted within 18 months of the Working Group establishment, and the second and third reports each two years thereafter. Based on the Working Group reports, the Secretaries of Transportation and Energy must jointly develop, maintain, and update an EV strategy that includes how the federal, state, and local governments, and industry can establish quantitative transportation electrification targets, overcome barriers, provide public EV education and awareness, identify areas of opportunity in research and development to lower EV cost and increase performance, and expand EVSE deployment.

The Secretaries and the Working Group will use existing federal resources such as the Alternative Fuels Data Center, the Energy Efficient Mobility Systems program, and the Clean Cities Coalition Network. The Working Group must be established by November 15, 2022, and will terminate upon the submission of the third and final report.

(Reference Public Law 117-58)