Low-Speed Vehicle Access to Roadways

A low-speed vehicle is defined as a four wheeled electric vehicle that has a maximum speed greater than 20 miles per hour (mph) but not more than 25 mph, has a gross vehicle weight rating of less than 3,000 pounds, and conforms to the maximum safety equipment requirements and standards specified in Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations, section 571.500. Low speed vehicles may not be driven on any roadway or highway with a speed limit greater than 35 mph. Additional requirements apply.

(Reference House Bill 5457, 2023)

Jurisdiction: Rhode Island

Type: Laws and Regulations

Enacted: Jun 21, 2023

Technologies: EVs

See all Rhode Island Laws and Incentives.