Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV) Fee

Beginning July 1, 2024, ZEV owners must pay an annual fee of $250 in addition to standard registration fees. ZEV fees increase by $10 every year until 2028. The fees will contribute to the Transportation Trust Fund Account – Subaccount for Capital Reserves to support transportation projects.

(Reference Assembly Bill 4011, 2024)

Jurisdiction: New Jersey

Type: Laws and Regulations

Enacted: Mar 26, 2024

Technologies: EVs, Hydrogen Fuel Cells

See all New Jersey Laws and Incentives.