Idle Reduction Requirement

Vehicle operators may not idle any commercial diesel vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of more than 10,000 pounds for more than 10 minutes in any one-hour period. Exemptions apply for the following: traffic conditions; prevention of safety or health emergencies; emergency or law enforcement; maintenance, service, repair, or diagnostic purposes; state or federal inspections; power work-related operations; loading or unloading; sleeper berth temperature control during 1) rest or sleep periods, 2) times when the ambient outside air temperature is less than 40 degrees Fahrenheit or greater than 80 degrees Fahrenheit, or 3) at rest areas, terminals, truck stops, or legal parking locations greater than 500 feet from homes, schools, hospitals, or daycare facilities. Violators are subject to a $75 fine for each offense. A portion of the fine will go towards the Diesel Idling Reduction Fund operated by the South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control to develop an idling awareness program. (Reference South Carolina Code of Laws 56-35-10 to 56-35-80)