Expired, Repealed, and Archived Rhode Island Incentives and Laws
The following is a list of expired, repealed, and archived incentives, laws, regulations, funding opportunities, or other initiatives related to alternative fuels and vehicles, advanced technologies, or air quality.
To reduce fuel consumption and pollution emissions, and purchase vehicles that provide the best value on a life cycle cost basis, the state must take the following actions:
- At least 75% of state motor vehicle acquisitions must be AFVs, and the remaining 25% must be HEVs to the greatest extent possible. By 2025, 25% of state motor vehicle acquisitions must be ZEVs;
- All new light-duty trucks in the state fleet must achieve a minimum city fuel economy of 19 miles per gallon (mpg) and achieve at least a Low Emission Vehicle certification, and all new passenger vehicles in the state fleet must achieve a minimum city fuel economy of 23 mpg;
- All state agencies must purchase the most economical, fuel-efficient, and lowest emission vehicles appropriate to meet requirements and discourage the purchase of sport utility vehicles;
- All state agencies must purchase low rolling resistance tires with superior tread life for state vehicles when possible; and
- All state vehicles must be maintained according to manufacturer specifications, including specified tire pressures and ratings.
The Rhode Island Executive Climate Change Coordinating Council (EC4) and the State Chief Resiliency Officer were developed a statewide Action Plan to Stand Up to Climate Change (Plan) and submit the Plan to the governor by July 1, 2018. The Plan includes recommendations to make Rhode Island's transportation infrastructure more resilient to the impacts of climate change. For more information, see the EC4 website. (Reference Executive Order 17-10, 2017)
The Charge Up! program provides rebates to state and municipal agencies for the purchase and installation of publicly accessible Level 2 or DC fast chargers. Agencies are eligible for up to $60,000 in incentives for EVSE that are installed and operational on or after July 1, 2016. Agencies that install EVSE also qualify for up to $15,000 to support the purchase or lease of a new PEV acquired on or after July 1, 2016, as part of their public sector fleet. For more information, see the Rhode Island Office of Energy Resources Charge Up! website.
The Driving Rhode Island to Vehicle Electrification (DRIVE) rebate program offers rebates of up to $2,500 for the purchase or lease of qualified PEVs. Rebates are offered on a sliding scale based on battery capacity, providing $2,500 for any vehicle with a battery capacity of 18 kilowatt-hours (kWh) or greater, $1,500 for any vehicle with a battery capacity between 7 and 18 kWh, and $500 for any vehicle with a battery capacity less than 7 kWh. Applicants must be Rhode Island residents and eligible vehicles must be purchased or leased on or after January 29, 2016. Rebates are offered on a first-come, first-served basis until funds expire. For more information, see the Rhode Island Office of Energy Resources DRIVE website. Funding for this program is currently unavailable (verified August 2017).
The Rhode Island Office of Energy Resources (OER) will prepare a study on strategies to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and promote alternative transportation fuels in Rhode Island, including any suggested regulatory changes. OER will submit the report to the governor and the senate. (Reference Senate Resolution 1020, 2015)
The Rhode Island Office of Energy Resources prepared a regulatory study to identify issues affecting PEVs in an effort to increase vehicle adoption and maintain and enhance electric system reliability. The study includes recommendations to address transmission and distribution infrastructure impacts, utility reporting requirements, rate design to encourage off-peak charging, vehicle-to-grid opportunities, PEV consumer education, third-party sales of electricity from charging infrastructure, and policy coordination with other New England states. For more information, see the Rhode Island Office of Energy Resources House Resolution Report.
The Biofuels Study Commission (Commission) was established to study the feasibility and effectiveness of incentives that promote the development and use of advanced biofuels in the state, including production credits, feedstock incentives, and direct use consumer credits. The Commission will also explore the possibility of entering into an agreement with the states participating in the Regional Greenhouse Gas Initiative to develop and implement a low carbon fuel standard for transportation fuels. The Commission must report results and recommendations to the General Assembly at least every two years beginning January 2012. (Reference Rhode Island General Laws 31-36.2)
The Rhode Island Office of Energy Resources offers loans for up to five years, with low administrative fees, to state agencies and municipal governments to cover the incremental cost of purchasing original equipment manufactured AFVs.
The Alternative Fueled Vehicle and Filling Station Tax Credit entitles taxpayers to a tax credit equal to 50% of the capital, labor, and equipment costs associated with the construction of, or improvement to, any alternative fuel fueling or recharging station providing domestically produced alternative fuel or facilities for recharging electric vehicles. For the purpose of this tax credit, alternative fuels are defined according to the Energy Policy Act of 1992 (Public Law 102-486) and include ethanol fuel and biodiesel produced from feedstocks including virgin vegetable oil, yellow grease, waste vegetable oil, and animal fats and tallows. Taxpayers are also entitled to a tax credit equal to 50% of the incremental cost of purchasing an AFV or the capital, labor, and equipment cost of converting a motor vehicle to operate on an alternative fuel. Taxpayers may carry forward any unused credits or any unused portion of the credit for up to five years. This incentive is effective until January 1, 2008. (Reference Rhode Island Code 44-39.2-2)
Corporations that sell alternative fuels are allowed a deduction from the gross earnings from sales reported in the corporations' tax returns. The deduction is equal to the total of gross earnings from the sale of alternative fuels when used as motor fuel to operate motor vehicles and when separately metered. This incentive is effective until December 31, 2007. (Reference Rhode Island Code 44-13-5)
A taxpayer entitled to a federal qualified EV tax credit is also entitled to a state tax credit equal to 25% of the federal qualified EV tax credit. (Reference Rhode Island Code 44-30-2.6)
The state is administering a $100,000 grant program for the incremental cost of purchasing an alternative fuel Senior Citizen Para-Transit van. A limited amount of funds remain in this program, and the program is set to expire December 31, 2003.