Expired, Repealed, and Archived Florida Incentives and Laws
The following is a list of expired, repealed, and archived incentives, laws, regulations, funding opportunities, or other initiatives related to alternative fuels and vehicles, advanced technologies, or air quality.
Jacksonville Electric Authority (JEA) offers rebates for the purchase or lease of new PEVs. PEVs with a battery less than 15 kilowatt-hours (kWh) in capacity receive $500, and PEVs with larger battery capacity are eligible for $1,000. A copy of a valid Florida vehicle registration, proof of sale, and a recent JEA Electric bill are required. For more information, see JEA's Electric Vehicle Incentives website.
A driver may operate a qualified Inherently Low Emission Vehicle (ILEV) or a hybrid electric vehicle (HEV) in an HOV lane at any time, regardless of the number of passengers, provided that the vehicle is certified and labeled in accordance with federal regulations. All eligible ILEVs and HEVs must comply with the minimum fuel economy standards set forth in Title 23 of the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations, section 166(f)(3)(B). The vehicle must display a Florida Division of Motor Vehicles issued decal, which must be renewed annually. Special fees may apply. Vehicles with decals may also use any HOV lane designated as a HOV toll lane without paying the toll. An HEV is defined as a motor vehicle that draws propulsion energy from on-board sources of stored energy comprised of both an internal combustion engine using combustible fuel and a rechargeable energy storage system and meets or exceeds the qualifying California standards for a Low Emission Vehicle. Three-wheeled vehicles are considered ILEVs for the purposes of HOV lane exemption. This exemption expires September 30, 2019. For more information, see the HOV Decal website. (Reference Florida Statutes 316.0741)
The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services offers a rebate for up to 50% of the incremental cost to purchase or lease a new original equipment manufacturer NGV or propane vehicle, or convert a vehicle to run on natural gas or propane, up to $25,000 per vehicle and $250,000 per applicant per fiscal year. To qualify, the dedicated or bi-fuel vehicle must be part of a public or private fleet and must be placed into service on or after July 1, 2013. Of the funds available for these rebates, 40% is reserved for government applicants; the remaining funds are allocated to commercial applicants. For more information, see the Natural Gas Fuel Fleet Vehicle Rebate website. (Reference Florida Statutes 377.810 and Florida Administrative Code 5O-4.001)
The Renewable Energy and Energy-Efficient Technologies (REET) Grant Matching Program provides matching grants of $50,000 to $400,000 for demonstration, commercialization, research, and development projects relating to renewable energy technologies, bioenergy, and innovative technologies that significantly increase energy efficiency for vehicles. Higher education institutions and non-profits may request grant funds for indirect costs, up to 10% of grant funds requested, and may use indirect costs as matching contribution, capped at 10% of grant funds less the percentage of indirect costs claimed for grant funds. Awards are subject to state funding availability. For more information, see the REET Grant Matching Program website. (Reference Florida Statutes 377.804 and Florida Administrative Code 5O-1.003)
Orlando Utilities Commission (OUC) offers rebates of $200 per EVSE to commercial and multi-family building customers for the purchase of EVSE. For more information, see the OUC Charging Stations page.
The Florida Office of Program Policy Analysis and Government Accountability (Office) was required to complete a report that analyzes the taxation and use of natural gas and propane as alternative fuels in the state. The report evaluates growth trends in the use of these fuels in Florida and surveyed how other states tax and incentivize consumers to use natural gas and propane. Additionally, the report surveyed Florida fuel consumers and suppliers. The Office published its review of the taxation of natural gas and propane in October 2017.
The Office was also required to analyze the economic benefits resulting from the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services' propane and natural gas vehicle rebates. The Office submitted a final report to the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services in November 2015.
(Reference Florida Statutes 206.997)
Gulf Power offers rebates of $750 to residential customers for the purchase of EVSE. Applicants must supply proof of purchase or lease of new or preowned plug-in electric vehicle (PEV). Customers must apply for the rebate within six months of the purchase or lease of an eligible PEV. Rebates are available to the first 1,000 participants or through December 31, 2018, whichever comes first. For more information, see the Gulf Power Electric Vehicles page.
OOUC offers a rebate of up to $500 for the purchase and installation of commercial EVSE. Applicants must submit a copy of their EVSE purchase and installation invoice to OUC along with the application. Permitted and installed systems must be inspected by OUC. Funding is available on a first-come, first-served basis and applications are due on or before September 30, 2016. For more information, please see the OUC rebate flyer.
Incentives for the purchase or conversion of propane commercial mowers are available to public and private entities that have not previously used propane as a fuel. New and converted propane commercial mowers are eligible for $1,000. Multi-state marketers are limited to ten incentives per company annually, and independent dealers are limited to five incentives annually. Applicants must submit a pre- and post-purchase survey and additional product performance information. Applications must be submitted through a local propane marketer or dealer.All conversion systems must be certified by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or the California Air Resources Board. All mowers must operate in Florida for at least one year and displace a minimum of 200 gallons of gasoline per year. Funds are available on a first-come, first-served basis through July 31, 2016. Additional terms and conditions apply. For more information, see the Propane Education Foundation of Florida website.
An income tax credit is available for 75% of all capital, operation, maintenance, and research and development costs incurred in connection with an investment in the production, storage, and distribution of biodiesel (B10-B100), ethanol (E10-E100), or other renewable fuel in the state, up to $1 million annually per taxpayer and $10 million annually for all taxpayers combined. Costs associated with retrofitting gasoline fueling station dispenser retrofits for B10-B100, E10-E100, or other renewable fuel distribution also qualify. Taxpayers must incur costs between July 1, 2012, and June 30, 2016. If the credit is not fully used in any one tax year, the unused amount may be carried forward through December 31, 2018. Any entity that is allowed the investment tax credit may transfer the credit, in whole or in part, to any taxpayer by written agreement without transferring ownership interest in the qualified property. Renewable fuel is defined as a fuel produced from biomass that is used to replace or reduce conventional fuel use. (Reference Florida Statutes 212.08 and 220.192)
The Florida Public Service Commission conducted a study of the potential effects of public and private EVSE on energy consumption and the electric grid in the state. The study also looked into the feasibility of using off-grid solar photovoltaic power as a source of electricity for EVSE. For more information, refer to the Report on Electric Vehicle Charging. (Reference Florida Statutes 366.94)
By July 1, 2013, the Florida Department of Transportation must develop a Freight Mobility and Trade Plan (Plan) that identifies freight mobility assessments that contribute to economic development and enhance the integration and connectivity of the transportation system across modes. The Plan should include policies and investments that promote compressed natural gas, liquefied natural gas, and propane energy policies that reduce transportation costs for businesses and residents. (Reference House Bill 599, 2012, and Florida Statutes 334.044)
The following was repealed by House Bill 4001, 2013: All gasoline sold or offered for sale by a terminal supplier, importer, blender, or wholesaler in Florida must contain 9-10% ethanol or other alternative fuel by volume. For the purpose of this requirement, alternative fuel is defined as a fuel produced from biomass. The fuel mandate does not apply to fuel used in aircrafts or watercrafts, fuel sold to a blender, or fuel sold for use in collector vehicles, off-road vehicles, motorcycles, or small engines. If a terminal supplier, importer, blender, or wholesaler is unable to obtain alternative fuel at the same or lower price as unblended gasoline, then the covered entity may apply for a waiver. (Reference House Bill 503, 2012, and Florida Statutes 526.201-526.207)
The following was repealed by House Bill 579, 2013: An individual who wishes to be a wholesale distributor of an alternative fuel must obtain a license from the Florida Department of Revenue. (Reference Florida Statutes 206.89)
The following was repealed by House Bill 579, 2013: A person operating an alternative fuel vehicle (AFV) must purchase an annual decal from the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles to be exempt from the excise tax on gasoline. Fueling stations may not fuel a vehicle with propane or compressed natural gas that does not display the proper decal. State and local government AFV fleets are exempt from paying the decal fee. In addition to the state alternative fuel fee, a person fueling a vehicle from their own facility must pay a local alternative fuel fee instead of the excise tax a county levies. (Reference Florida Statutes 206.877)
Coulomb Technologies' ChargePoint America program offers EVSE at no cost to individuals or entities in the Orlando metropolitan area. To be eligible for free home charging stations, individuals living within the specified area must purchase a qualified plug-in electric vehicle. Application information is available on the ChargePoint America website. In most cases, installation will be paid for by the EVSE owner; some cities, states, and utilities, however, will provide funding towards installation costs. All participants in the ChargePoint America program must agree to anonymous data collection after installation. Additional restrictions may apply.
This requirement was repealed as a result of Executive Order 11-72: Operators may not idle heavy-duty diesel vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating equal to, or greater than, of 8,500 pounds for more than five consecutive minutes. Exemptions apply in the following circumstances: uncontrollable traffic conditions; emergency or law enforcement purposes; verification that a vehicle is safe to operate; power work-related operations; bus passenger comfort; and prevention of safety or health emergencies. Until September 30, 2013, exemptions also apply for sleeping or resting in a sleeper berth. (Reference Florida Administrative Code 62-285.420)
The following was repealed by administrative action: The Florida LEV Program will require that all new passenger vehicles sold and registered meet California emissions and compliance requirements, as set forth in Title 13 of the California Code of Regulations, two years after the Florida Legislature ratifies the Florida Clean Car Emission Rule. (Reference Florida Administrative Code 62-285.400)
The Florida Energy and Climate Commission (FECC) must conduct a study to evaluate lifecycle greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions associated with all renewable fuels including biodiesel, renewable diesel, biobutanol, and ethanol derived from any source. The FECC must also evaluate and recommend a requirement that all renewable fuels sold in Florida reduce lifecycle GHG emissions by an average percentage. The FECC may also evaluate the benefits associated with creating, banking, transferring, and selling GHG emissions credits among fuel refiners, blenders, and importers. The FECC must submit specific recommendations to the state legislature by December 31, 2010. (Reference Florida Statutes 526.207)
In 2008, the Florida Legislature created the Florida Energy and Climate Commission (FECC) to help reduce greenhouse gas emissions and encourage investment in alternative and renewable energy technologies. The FECC's responsibilities include administering financial incentive programs, completing annual assessments of Florida's Energy and Climate Change Action Plan, and providing recommendations to the governor and the legislature on energy and climate change policies. The FECC also works cooperatively with other state entities to develop state energy and climate change policies and programs. (Reference Florida Statutes 377.6015)
Through July 1, 2010, the sale or use of the following is exempt from Florida state sales, rental, use, consumption, distribution, and storage tax: 1) hydrogen powered vehicles and related materials, and hydrogen fueling stations, up to a maximum of $2 million in taxes each fiscal year for all taxpayers; 2) materials used in the distribution of biodiesel (B10-B100) and ethanol (E10-E100), including fueling infrastructure, transportation, and storage, up to a maximum of $1 million in taxes each fiscal year for all taxpayers. Gasoline fueling station dispenser retrofits for ethanol (E10-E100) distribution also qualify for this exemption. (Reference Florida Statutes 212.08)
The Florida Renewable Energy Technologies and Energy Efficiency Act is established to increase the state's energy stability and protect public health by advancing the development of efficient and renewable energy technologies, including those related to hydrogen, ethanol, and biodiesel. The Act creates the Florida Energy Commission, which is responsible for developing recommendations for legislation to establish a state energy policy, focusing on energy-efficiency issues including the encouragement of in-state research, development, and deployment of alternative fuels for motor vehicles. As required by the Act, the Florida Department of Environmental Protection provided a report entitled Leadership by Example: Energy Efficiency and Conservation, which includes a description of state programs designed to achieve energy conservation and energy efficiency through the inclusion of alternative fuel vehicles in state fleets. (Reference Florida Statutes 377.801-377.806 and 377.901)
The Florida Clean Fuel Act established the Clean Fuel Florida Advisory Board under the Department of Community Affairs to study the implementation of AFVs and to formulate and provide the Governor, Legislature, and Secretary of Community Affairs with recommendations on how to expand and fund the use of AFVs in the state. The Board dissolved in 2006. (Reference Florida Statutes 403.42)