Recent State Updates
Listed below are new and recently updated state laws, incentives, and regulations related to alternative fuels and advanced vehicles.
The Arizona Corporation Commission (Commission) defines EVs as transportation vehicles that use electricity for propulsion. The Commission issued an EV policy statement that provides guidelines on EVs, charging infrastructure, and transportation electrification to utilities the Commission regulates. The policy addresses the state of EVs in Arizona, EV benefits, and barriers to adoption. For more information, see the Commission’s EV policy statement and the Corporation Commission website. (Reference Docket RU-00000A-18-0284 decision number 77044)
TEP provides a rebate to residential customers that covers up to 75% of the cost of EVSE installation. The maximum rebate awards are $500 for a two-way charger and $250 for a one-way charger. For more information, including how to apply, see the TEP Electric Vehicles website.
TEP offers a time-of-use (TOU) rate for residential customers with PEVs. The TOU rate guarantees participating customers a 5% rate reduction during off-peak periods. For more information, see the TEP Electric Vehicles website.
The Clean Vehicle Rebate Project (CVRP) offers rebates for the purchase or lease of qualified vehicles. Qualified vehicles are light-duty zero emission vehicles and plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEVs) the California Air Resources Board (ARB) has approved or certified. The rebates are for up to $4,500 for fuel cell electric vehicles (FCEVs), $2,000 for battery electric vehicles, $1,000 for PHEVs, and $750 for zero emission motorcycles. Rebates are available on a first-come, first-served basis to individuals, business owners, and government entities in California that purchase or lease new eligible vehicles. Residents of San Diego County may be eligible for a preapproved rebate through the CVRP Rebate Now pilot. Manufacturers must apply to ARB to have their vehicles included in the CVRP.Individuals are eligible for the rebate based on gross annual income, as stated on the individual's federal tax return. Individuals with a gross annual income above the following thresholds are only eligible for rebates for FCEVs:
- $150,000 for single filers
- $204,000 for head-of-household filers
- $300,000 for joint filers
All California state agencies must support and facilitate the rapid commercialization of ZEVs in California. In particular, the Air Resources Board, Energy Commission (CEC), Public Utilities Commission, and other relevant state agencies must work with the private sector to establish benchmarks to achieve targets for ZEV commercialization and deployment. These targets include:
- By 2020, the state will have established adequate infrastructure to support one million ZEVs;
- By 2025, there will be 1.5 million ZEVs on the road in California and clean, efficient vehicles will displace 1.5 billion gallons of petroleum fuels annually;
- By 2025, there will be 200 hydrogen fueling stations and 250,000 plug-in electric vehicle (PEV) chargers, including 10,000 direct current fast chargers, in California;
- By 2030, there will be 5 million ZEVs on the road in California; and
- By 2050, greenhouse gas emissions from the transportation sector will be 80% less than 1990 levels.
- Develop new criteria for clean vehicle incentive programs to encourage manufacturers to produce clean, affordable cars;
- Update the 2016 ZEV Action plan, with a focus on low income and disadvantaged communities;
- Recommend actions to increase the deployment of ZEV infrastructure through the Low Carbon Fuel Standard;
- Support and recommend policies that will facilitate the installation of PEV infrastructure in homes and businesses; and
- Ensure PEV charging and hydrogen fueling are affordable and accessible to all drivers.
(Reference Executive Orders N-19-19, 2019, B-48, 2018, and B-16, 2012)
The lessor of a dwelling or commercial property must approve written requests from a lessee to install EVSE at a parking space allotted for the lessee on qualified properties. Certain exclusions apply to residential dwellings and commercial properties. All modifications and improvements must comply with federal, state, and local laws and all applicable zoning and land use requirements, covenants, conditions, and restrictions. The lessee of the parking space equipped with EVSE is responsible for the cost of the installation, maintenance, repair, removal, or replacement of the equipment, electricity consumption, as well as any resulting damage to the EVSE or surrounding area. Unless the EVSE is certified by a Nationally Recognized Testing Laboratory and electrical upgrades are performed by a licensed electrician, the lessee must also maintain a personal liability coverage policy in an amount of up to 10 times the annual rent of the dwelling. (Reference Senate Bill 638, 2019 and California Civil Code 1947.6, 1952.7, and 6713)
An individual may not park a motor vehicle within any on- or off-street parking space specifically designated by a local authority for parking and charging PEVs unless the vehicle is a PEV fueled by electricity. Eligible PEVs must be in the process of charging to park in the space. A person found responsible for a violation is subject to traffic violation penalties.
PEV parking spaces count as at least one space toward minimum parking requirements.
APU provides rebates of up to $500 for residential, commercial, and industrial customers for the purchase and installation of EVSE at their home or business. Customers are eligible for up to five rebates.
APU offers rebates to commercial, industrial, and municipal customers of up to $5,000 per charger to purchase or install publicly-available Level 2 EVSE, or up to $10,000 to purchase or install Level 2 EVSE at schools or affordable housing, or publicly-available direct current (DC) fast chargers. Rebates are limited to a maximum of four EVSE per customer per year. Additional terms and conditions apply.
The MCEv Program offers a $3,500 rebate for the purchase or lease of a new EV for income-qualifying customers. To be eligible for the rebate, an applicant must live in MCE’s service area, be a MCE customer, and meet at least one of the qualifying income requirements. For more information, including how to apply, see the MCE EV Rebates website.
MCE provides installation support and funding for installation of approved EVSE at MUD and workplaces in MCE territory. To qualify, facilities must install at least two charging ports. Eligible expenses include the cost of installation and a portion of the EVSE unit cost, up to $3,000 per port. For more information, including how to apply and eligible EVSE, see the MCE Electric Vehicle Charging & Rates website.
The San Luis Obispo County Air Pollution Control District (SLOAPCD) administers the Clean Air Fund, to provide grants for qualified air quality improvement projects located in San Luis Obispo County. SLOAPCD funds projects to significantly reduce emissions impacts or support innovative air pollution reduction technologies, including the purchase of alternative fuel school buses or alternative fuel infrastructure development. For more information, see the SLOAPCD Clean Air Incentives website.
Azusa Light & Water offers a $150 rebate to customers for the purchase of an ENERGY STAR certified Level 2 EVSE. For more information, see Azusa’s Plug-in Electric Vehicles website.
The Los Angeles Department of Water and Power (LADWP) offers rebates up to $1,500 to residential electric customers for the purchase of eligible used PEVs. Additional terms and conditions apply. For program guidelines and application materials, see the Charge Up L.A.! website.
BVES offers three PEV time-of-use (TOU) rates to customers enrolled in the Transportation Electrification Pilot Program. The discounted TOU rate is for the super off-peak hours. For more information, including how to apply and eligibility, see the BVES Rate Structures website.
The California Air Resources Board (ARB) must update and submit to the legislature the 2016 Mobile Source Strategy (Strategy) by January 1, 2021, and every five years thereafter. The Strategy must include a comprehensive strategy to bring the state into compliance with federal ambient air quality standards and reduce motor vehicle greenhouse gas emissions from medium- and heavy-duty vehicles. ARB must consult and coordinate with related state agencies and stakeholders. The Strategy must also recommend goals for reducing emissions from medium duty and heavy-duty vehicles by 2030 and 2050. (Reference Senate Bill 44, 2019)
By December 31, 2020, in an existing proceeding, the California Public Utilities Commission (PUC) must establish strategies and metrics to maximize the use of PEV grid integration for a ten-year plan. The PUC must also consider how to limit cost increases for all ratepayers. PEV grid integration refers to any action that optimizes when or how a PEV is charged. Electrical corporations and community choice aggregators serving more than 700 gigawatt-hours of annual electrical demand, must provide the PUC with information relating to PEV integration strategies. Additional terms and conditions apply. (Reference Senate Bill 676, 2019)
The California Air Resources Board (ARB), California Bureau of Automotive Repair, and relevant state agencies must develop and implement a pilot Heavy-Duty Inspection and Maintenance Program for heavy-duty diesel trucks. ARB must establish test procedures for vehicle emissions control technologies. Additional terms and conditions apply. Zero-emission vehicles are exempt from program requirements. (Reference Senate Bill 210, 2019)
The Bay Area Air Quality Management District’s (BAAQMD) Clean Cars for All program offers grants up to $9,500 to income-eligible residents to replace a vehicle eligible for retirement with a PEV or HEV. Eligible vehicles for replacement should have a model year 15 years or older than the current year. Recipients may buy or lease a new or used PEV or HEV. Grants vary depending on the household income and vehicle technology. Vehicles that are replaced must be turned in at an authorized dismantler.Individuals that purchase an all-electric vehicle are eligible to receive up to $2,000 for the purchase and installation of a Level 2 electric vehicle supply equipment.For more information, including additional eligibility requirements and how to apply, see the BAAQMD Clean Cars for All website.
Pacific Gas & Electric’s (PG&E) EV Fast Charge Program offers competitive incentives to facilitate the installation of direct current (DC) fast charger EVSE. PG&E will cover the cost to make-ready a site for DC fast charging. Projects must involve the purchase of a DC fast charger from the approved EVSE list. To qualify, sites must receive electric service from PG&E and the DC fast charger must be available to the public 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Sites located in disadvantaged communities may receive a rebate for the purchase of the EVSE. Additional terms and conditions apply. For more information, including the application, see the PG&E EV Fast Charge Program website.
Pacific Gas & Electric’s (PG&E) EV Fleet Program offers competitive incentives to facilitate the installation of EVSE for medium- and heavy-duty vehicle fleets. PG&E offers dedicated electrical infrastructure design and construction services and reduced costs for electrical infrastructure work. Sites located in disadvantaged communities may be eligible to receive a rebate for the purchase of the EVSE. Eligible electric fleet vehicles include transit or school buses, medium-duty vehicles, forklifts, truck stop electrification, transportation refrigeration units, port cargo trucks, airport ground support equipment, or other Class 8 vehicles. Additional terms and conditions apply. For more information, see the PG&E EV Fleet Program website.
The Colorado Energy Office's ReCharge Colorado program (ReCharge) works to advance the adoption of EVs and installation of charging infrastructure in Colorado. ReCharge provides coaching services to consumers, local governments, workplaces, and multi-unit housing developments to help them identify monetary savings, grant opportunities, and other EV benefits. ReCharge also helps build local stakeholder support for EVs. For more information, see the ReCharge Colorado website.
As part of the Delaware Clean Transportation Incentive Program, the Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC) offers rebates for new or leased AFVs. The following rebate amounts are applicable for vehicles purchased or leased between January 1, 2020, and December 31, 2020:
|Qualifying Vehicles||Rebate Amount|
|All-electric vehicle (including vehicles with gasoline range extenders)||$2,500|
|Plug-in hybrid electric vehicle||$1,000|
|Dedicated propane or natural gas vehicle (NGV)||$1,500|
|Bi-fuel propane or NGV||$1,350|
|Dedicated heavy-duty NGV||$20,000|
Eligible applicants include Delaware residents, businesses, organizations, and government entities. Rebate applications must be signed by both the purchaser and a dealer representative. Rebates are limited to six vehicles per fleet and one rebate per vehicle. All vehicles purchased through this rebate program must be titled and registered in the state. Additional terms and conditions apply. For more information, including application guidelines and participating dealers, see the DNREC Clean Fuel and Transportation Initiatives website.
As part of the Delaware Clean Transportation Incentive Program, the Delaware Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control (DNREC) offers rebates for new Level 2 EVSE purchased for use at public, workplace, commercial, and residential locations. Installation, labor, and other costs are not eligible.
Rebates are offered in the following amounts:
|Rebate Amount (Maximum: $3,500 single port/$7,000 dual port)||Limit per Location|
|Commercial||Government and Nonprofit||Commercial||Government and Nonprofit|
|Public Access||75%||90%||6 charging ports||6 charging ports|
|Workplace||75%||90%||6 charging ports||6 charging ports|
|Fleet||75%||90%||6 charging ports||10 charging ports|
|Multi-Family||90%||90%||10 charging ports||10 charging ports|
Rebates are available on a first-come, first-served basis for multi-unit dwellings, businesses, organizations, non-profits, government entities, schools, colleges, and universities. Rebates are limited to six EVSE per fleet and one EVSE per individual. Additional terms and conditions apply. For more information, including application guidelines, see the DNREC Electric Vehicle Charging Equipment Rebates website.
Unclaimed electric cooperative capital credits may be used on transportation electrification investments. Credit allocation reports are required annually by January 20. (Reference Delaware Code Title 26, Chapter 9, Subchapter I, Section 909)
All grid-integrated, plug-in electric vehicles in use by eligible customers must meet applicable safety and performance standards put forth by the National Electric Code, Institute of Electric and Electronic Engineers, UL, and the Society of Automotive Engineers to ensure that net metering customers comply with the electric supplier’s interconnection tariffs and operating guidelines. (Reference Delaware Code Title 26, Chapter 10, Section 1014e)
All electric vehicles are subject to an annual licensing fee of $319.27 for commercial vehicles and $212.78 for non-commercial vehicles. These fees apply to plug-in hybrid electric vehicles and flex fuel vehicles only if they have an alternative fuel vehicle (AFV) license plate.AFV license plates are subject to a one-time manufacturing fee of $25, an annual $20 registration fee, and a $35 special tag fee. Electric, natural gas, propane, bi-fuel, and dual-fuel vehicles are eligible for an AFV license plate. For more information, see the Georgia Department of Revenue Motor Vehicle Policy Bulletin website. (Reference Georgia Code 40-2-7 and 40-2-151)
The Hawaii Public Utilities Commission (PUC) offers a rebate for the new installation or upgrade of a Level 2 EVSE or direct-current fast charging (DCFC) EVSE. Rebates are awarded in the following amounts:
|Project Type||Charger Type||Maximum Reimbursement|
|New Installation||Level 2||$4,500|
Eligible applicants include individuals, non-profits, private businesses, and government entities. Priority will be given to applicants with EVSEs that are publicly available, serve multiple individuals, or service electric vehicle fleets. Only EVSE installed or upgraded after December 31, 2019 are eligible. The PUC may award up to $500,000 in rebates annually.(Reference House Bill 1585, 2019, and Hawaii Revised Statutes 269)
The Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (IEPA) administers the Driving a Cleaner Illinois program for diesel emission reduction projects. Projects are funded by Illinois’ portion of the Volkswagen Environmental Mitigation Trust, the U.S. EPA’s Diesel Emission Reduction Act (DERA) Program, and the Federal Highway Administration’s Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality Improvement (CMAQ) Program . Funding is currently available through January 27, 2020 for diesel school bus heaters in the Chicago area. For more information, including how to apply, see the IEPA Grant Accountability and Transparency Act page.
The Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (IEPA) will provide transportation electrification grants in the amount of $70,000,000 for including but not limited to electric vehicle charging infrastructure. The IEPA will prioritize investments in medium- and heavy-duty vehicle charging, and electrification of public transit, fleets, and school buses. (Reference Public Act 100-0029)
An entity providing electricity for the purpose of electric vehicle charging is not considered a public utility. Regulated public utilities cannot prohibit or restrict the sale of electricity at an electric vehicle charging station. (Reference 199 Iowa Administrative Code Rule 20.20)
Commercial CIPCO customers are eligible for rebates for the purchase of electric vehicles and the purchase and installation of Level 2 EVSE. Rebates are awarded as follows:
|Level 2 chargers||$1,000|
|Plug-in electric vehicle||$250|
|Plug-in hybrid electric vehicle||$250|
MPUC is conducting a pilot program to support beneficial electrification of the transportation sector, defined as electrification of a technology that improves the efficiency of the energy grid or reduces consumer costs. Beneficial electrification must also lead to reduced fossil fuel usage, and provide no harm to the environment, utilities, or ratepayers. For more information, please see the MPUC Electricity website.
The Maryland Energy Administration (MEA) offers a rebate to an individual, business, or state or local government entity for the costs of acquiring and installing qualified EVSE. Between July 1, 2017, and June 30, 2020, rebates for 40% of the costs of acquiring and installing qualified EVSE, or up to the following amounts:
|Business or State or Local Government||$4,000|
|Retail Service Station Dealer||$5,000|
Applicants must demonstrate compliance with state, local, and/or federal law that applies to the installation or operation of qualified EVSE. Other requirements may apply. Total funding for each fiscal year will not exceed $1,200,000. This program will continue to receive rebate applications, however funding for this program is not currently available (verified January 2020). For more information, see MEA's EVSE Rebate Program page.(Reference Maryland Statutes, Business Regulation Code 10-101, and State Government Code 9-2009)
National Grid’s Electric Vehicle Charging Station program provides non-residential customers with installation and funding support to install approved Level 2 or direct current (DC) fast EVSE at businesses, multi-unit dwellings, and workplaces. Additional terms and conditions apply. For more information, including application guidelines, see the EV Charging Station program website.
The Minnesota Department of Transportation is piloting a three-year program to give a one-time MnPass account credit to eligible EV drivers for use in MnPass toll lanes. Drivers who purchase or lease a new or used plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV) receive a $125 credit or a $250 credit for a plug-in electric vehicle (PEV). Vehicles must be purchased or leased between November 1, 2019 and October 31, 2022 to be eligible for the credit.
For more information, visit the MnPass website.
Ameren Missouri’s Charge Ahead program will offer competitive incentives to eligible non-residential customers to install Level 2 EVSE or direct current (DC) fast charging stations at qualifying workplaces, multi-unit dwellings (MUDs), and public areas. Sites must be located in Ameren Missouri’s service territory and require no electrical upgrades. Incentives are available in the following amounts, or up to 50% of total project costs, whichever is less:
|EVSE Site||Maximum Number of Level 2 Ports||Maximum Number of DC Fast Chargers||Maximum Incentive Amount|
Each entity may receive up to $500,000. Incentives are available on a first-come, first-served basis. Applications for incentives will be accepted until September 30, 2022, or until funding is exhausted, whichever is earlier.
Beginning January 1, 2020, non-residential customers are eligible to apply for incentives to install EVSE along highway corridors. Each station site must have two DC fast chargers and two Level 2 chargers. Each site is eligible for incentives up to $240,000, sites with planned DC fast chargers with a capacity of 100 kilowatts or greater are eligible for incentives up to $360,000. Applications for incentives will be accepted until December 31, 2023, or until funding is exhausted, whichever is earlier.
The Nebraska Department of Environment and Energy (NDEE) provides funding for the purchase, installation, operation, and maintenance of Level 2 and direct current (DC) fast charger EVSE. NDEE will reimburse up to 50% of the costs of Level 2 EVSE and up to 80% of DC fast EVSE. Additional requirements may apply. The program is funded by Nebraska’s portion of the Volkswagen Environmental Mitigation Trust. For more information, including application details, visit the NDEE Volkswagen Settlement website.
The Nebraska Department of Environment and Energy (NDEE) will provide funding for the replacement of medium- to heavy-duty diesel refuse, local freight, delivery, and maintenance trucks. Old trucks must be replaced with 2016 or newer model year compressed natural gas (CNG) or diesel engines pursuant to California Air Resources Board Optional Low-NOx Standards. NDEE will reimburse up to $120,000 per new CNG truck, and up to $70,000 new diesel truck, with a limit of 2 trucks per applicant. Applications are due no later than January 17, 2020. The program is funded by Nebraska’s portion of the Volkswagen Environmental Mitigation Trust. For more information, including application details, visit the NDEE Volkswagen Settlement website.
Municipal master plans shall promote the installation of EVSE in locations including commercial districts, public transportation facilities, transportation corridors, and rest stops. (Reference Senate Bill 606, 2019)
The New Jersey Board of Public Utilities (NJBPU) provides county and municipal government entities with grants up to $1,500 for Level 2 EVSE. Eligible EVSE must be purchased between December 1, 2019 and June 1, 2020. NJBPU is accepting applications until April 15, 2020 (verified December 2019). Funds are awarded on a rolling basis and subject to availability. For more information, including eligibility requirements and how to apply, see the Clean Fleet Electric Vehicle Incentive Program website.
The New Jersey Board of Public Utilities (NJBPU) provides county and municipal government entities with grants up to $4,000 for a new PEV. Two PEVs are allowed per applicant and must be purchased between December 1, 2019 and June 1, 2020. NJBPU is accepting applications until April 15, 2020 (verified December 2019). Funds are awarded on a rolling basis and subject to availability. For more information, including eligibility requirements and how to apply, see the Clean Fleet Electric Vehicle Incentive Program website.
The State of New Jersey will work to increase the number of PEVs and related infrastructure to meet the following state goals:
- 10% of new buses purchased by the New Jersey Transit Corporation must be zero emission vehicles (ZEV) by December 31, 2024. Then 50% of new buses must be ZEV by December 31, 2026, and 100% must be ZEV by December 31, 2032.
- By December 31, 2025, there must be 400 direct-current fast chargers (DCFC) and 1,000 Level 2 EVSE installed and available for public use at minimally 200 locations. 75 locations must include at least two DCFC installed along travel corridors, while 100 locations must include at least two DCFC in community locations. Additionally, 15% of all multi-family residential properties must include EVSE infrastructure and 20% of all franchised overnight lodging must have EVSE available for guests.
- By December 31, 2035, there will be 2 million registered light-duty PEVs in the state, and 100% of state-owned, non-emergency light-duty vehicles must be PEVs.
- By December 31, 2040, 85% of all new light-duty vehicles sold in the state will be PEVs.
The New Jersey Board of Public Utilities offers state residents a rebate in the amount of $25 per mile of electric-only range, up to $5,000, to purchase or lease a new PEV with an MSRP of $55,000 or less. Rebates may be limited to one award per person. PEVs must be purchased or leased after January 17, 2020. The plug-in hybrid electric vehicle rebate expires December 31, 2022, and all-electric vehicle rebates expire June 30, 2030. (Reference Senate Bill 2252, 2018)
The New Jersey Board of Public Utilities is authorized to establish a residential EVSE incentive program. The maximum incentive an individual may receive for an EVSE installation is $500. (Reference Senate Bill 2252, 2018)
An entity that owns, controls, operates, or manages electric vehicle supply equipment is not defined as a public utility. (Reference Senate Bill 2252, 2018)
The New Mexico Environment Department (NMED) provides funding for eligible mitigation projects for nitrogen oxides (NOx) emissions. NMED will fund up to $20,000 per eligible dual-port Level 2 EVSE installation, and up to 75% of the cost of a direct current (DC) fast charger installation. Additional requirements may apply.
The program is funded by New Mexico’s portion of the Volkswagen Environmental Mitigation Trust. For more information, including application details, visit the New Mexico Volkswagen Settlement website.
The New Mexico Environment Department (NMED) is accepting applications for funding for heavy-duty on-road new diesel or alternative fuel repowers and replacements, as well as off-road all-electric repowers and replacements. Vehicles that qualify for replacement or repower include:
- Model Year (MY) 1992-2009 Class 8 local freight trucks and port drayage trucks;
- MY 1992-2009 Class 4-7 local freight trucks;
- MY 2009 or older Class 4-8 school buses, shuttle buses, and transit buses;
- Forklifts with greater than 8,000 pounds of lift capacity;
- Port cargo handling equipment; and
- High emissions diesel-powered or spark ignition airport ground support equipment.
The New York State Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA) provides incentives for alternative fuel trucks and buses. Incentives are released on a staggered schedule and are distributed based on the following criteria:
|Technology Type||Incentive Amount|
|Class 3-8 Battery Electric School, Shuttle, and Transit Buses||80% of the incremental cost, up to $150,000 per vehicle|
|Class 4-8 Battery Electric Trucks||95% of the incremental cost, up to $185,000 per vehicle|
|Class 4-8 Plug-in Hybrid Electric Trucks||90% of the incremental cost, up to $120,000 per vehicle|
|Class 4-8 Compressed Natural Gas Trucks||90% of the incremental cost, up to $60,000 per vehicle|
|Class 4-8 Hybrid Electric Trucks||90% of the incremental cost, up to $55,000 per vehicle|
|Class 4-8 Propane Trucks||90% of the incremental cost, up to $60,000 per vehicle|
Eligible vehicles must be in operation 70% of the time and be garaged in the program area. Funding for this program is not currently available (verified November 2018). For information about voucher availability and vehicle eligibility, see the NYSERDA New York Truck Voucher Incentive Program website.
Public Service Enterprise Group (PSEG) Long island offers customers an incentive to own and operate direct-current fast charging (DCFC) equipment. Award amounts are dependent on eligibility year, DCFC power rating, and the configuration of the charging equipment. The program is accepting applications until December 31, 2025. Funds are awarded on a first-come, first-served basis. For more information, see the PSEG Long Island Direct Current Fast Charging Incentive website.
Public Service Enterprise Group (PSEG) Long Island offers a $500 rebate to residential customers who install a smart, Level 2 charger between January 1, 2019 and December 31, 2019. Funds are awarded on a first-come, first-served basis. Rebate applications must be postmarked by December 31, 2019 to be eligible. For more information, including how to apply, see the PSEG Long Island Smart Charger Rebate website.
The North Carolina Department of Transportation (DOT), in coordination with the Department of Environmental Quality, developed a ZEV Plan to guide ZEV adoption in North Carolina and increase the number of ZEVs in the state to at least 80,000 by 2025. The ZEV Plan provides guidelines for establishing state-wide vehicle corridors, installing charging stations and other infrastructure, and incorporating best practices for increasing ZEV adoption. For more information, see the DOT's Climate Change & Clean Energy: Plans & Progress website. (Reference Executive Order 80, 2018)
Compressed natural gas (CNG) and liquefied natural gas (LNG) used for transportation must be measured in gasoline gallon equivalents (GGE) or diesel gallon equivalents (DGE). One DGE of LNG is the equivalent of one gallon of motor fuel. One GGE of CNG is equal to 139.31 cubic feet or 6.38 pounds. (Reference House Bill 62, 2019, and Ohio Revised Code 5735.012 and 5735.011)
The Ohio Office of the Governor created DriveOhio to allow for the safe testing of AVs on state highways and other public roads. The purpose of the program is to connect municipalities with industry, education, and community partners to advance smart mobility solutions. The Ohio Department of Transportation will appoint an executive director of DriveOhio to oversee activities and administration. The executive director may establish a DriveOhio Advisory Board to receive advice and recommendations. By July 30, 2020, and each year thereafter, the executive director will submit an annual report to the governor.
All AVs tested in Ohio must have a designated operator responsible for the safe operation of the vehicle while in use and compliance with all traffic laws and regulations, among other requirements. The governor may pause the testing of AVs in Ohio if there is evidence that the technology is not safe.
An AV is defined as a vehicle equipped with technology that is capable of performing all of the real-time operational and tactical functions required to operate a vehicle. To test AVs, each company must register with DriveOhio and provide required information, including a summary report outlining its approach for the safe testing of its autonomous system.
(Reference Executive Orders 2019-26D, 2019, and 2018-04K, 2018)
Beginning January 1, 2020, all-electric vehicle (EV) owners must pay an annual fee of $110 or a per-mile road use fee, administered by the OReGo program. Beginning January 1, 2022, EV owners must pay a fee of $115. Medium-speed EV owners must pay an annual fee of $58. All other hybrid vehicles must pay an annual fee in the following amounts:
|Vehicle Efficiency||January 1, 2020 through December 31, 2021||After December 31, 2021|
|Vehicles with a rating of 0-19 miles per gallon (mpg)||$18||$20|
|Vehicles with a rating of 20-39 mpg||$23||$25|
|Vehicles with a rating of 40 mpg or greater||$33||$35|
The per-mile road use fee, as an alternative to the annual fees, is determined by the schedule below:
|Calendar Year||Fee per Mile|
|2018||$0.017 per mile|
|2020||$0.018 per mile|
|2022||$0.019 per mile|
Drivers with electric vehicles or vehicles with ratings over 40mpg are exempt from additional registration fees if they enroll in the OReGo program. For more information, including how to apply, visit the OReGo program website.These fees are in addition to standard registration fees.
(Reference Oregon Revised Statutes 803.420-803.422)
The Oregon Department of Environmental Quality must use funds awarded to Oregon through the Volkswagen Environmental Mitigation Trust and deposited in the Clean Diesel Engine Fund, to award grants to owners and operators of at least 450 school buses powered by diesel engines. Eligible vehicles include buses that have at least three years of remaining useful life. Grants will be available for 30%, up to $50,000, for the purchase of a new bus or up to 100% of the cost to retrofit a school bus with emissions-reducing parts or technology that reduce diesel particulate matter emissions by at least 85%. Any money not expended under this Clean Diesel Engine Fund will fund grants for the reduction of diesel engine emissions as matching funds under the Diesel Emissions Reduction Act program. For more information, see the Oregon Clean Diesel Initiative website. Funding for the Clean Diesel Engine Fund program is not currently available (verified December 2019). (Reference House Bill2007, 2019, and Oregon Revised Statutes 468A.795-468A.803)
A task force is established to consider funding strategies to support businesses in reducing diesel emissions, identify barriers to small contractor participation in public works contracts due to clean diesel engine requirements, and develop incentives to phase-out medium-duty and heavy-duty diesel-powered trucks statewide. The task force is to be comprised of both members of the public and members of the Oregon Legislature. (Reference House Bill 2007, 2019)
The Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles (ODMV) will phase out registrations for certain medium-duty (MD) and heavy-duty (HD) trucks powered by diesel engines in Multnomah, Clackamas, or Washington Counties unless vehicles have been retrofitted or repowered with approved technologies. ODMV will no longer issue certificates of titles on or after the following dates:
|Date||Vehicle and model year|
|January 1, 2023|
|January 2, 2026|
|January 1, 2029|
The Alternative and Clean Energy (ACE) Program provides grants and loans to eligible applicants for the utilization, development, and construction of compressed natural gas (CNG) and liquefied natural gas (LNG) fueling stations. Funds are also available for facilities that manufacture or produce alternative fuels, including, but not limited to, ethanol, biodiesel, CNG, and LNG. For more information, see the ACE Program website.
The Rhode Island Office of Energy Resources (OER) offers financial incentives through the Electrify RI Program for the installation of new EVSE at Rhode Island workplaces, multi-unit dwellings, government properties, and publicly accessible locations. Funds are awarded on a first-come, first-served basis. This incentive program is funded by Rhode Island’s portion of the Volkswagen Environmental Mitigation Trust and is currently accepting applications. For more information, including program guidelines and grant amounts, see the Electrify Rhode Island website.
KUB residential customers are eligible to receive a rebate for the purchase and installation of a Level 2 EVSE. The rebate will cover 100% of the costs, up to $400. For more information, including the application, please visit the KUB Electric Vehicle website.
The Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) administers the Light-Duty Motor Vehicle Purchase or Lease Incentive Program for the purchase or lease of a new light-duty vehicle powered by compressed natural gas (CNG), propane, hydrogen, or electricity. CNG and propane vehicles, including bi-fuel vehicles, are eligible for a rebate of $5,000 for the first 1,000 applicants. Electric drive vehicles powered by a battery or hydrogen fuel cell, including plug-in hybrid electric vehicles with a battery capacity of at least 4 kilowatt hours, are eligible for a rebate of $2,500, for the first 2,000 applicants. One rebate is available per eligible vehicle. The program is currently accepting applications (verified November 2019). For more information, including eligibility requirements and the application form, see the TCEQ Texas Emissions Reduction Plan website. (Reference Texas Statutes Health and Safety Code 386 and Texas Administrative Code 114.610-114.613)
UCS offers residential customers a rebate of up to $500 to install a Level 2 EVSE. For more information, including eligibility and how to apply, see the UCS Energy Rebate Programs website.
The Utah Department of Environmental Quality offers rebates for up to 50% the installation cost of Level 2 and DCFC EVSE. Utah-based businesses and non-profit organizations are eligible for a maximum rebate of $75,000 each, and governmental entities are also eligible to apply. For more information, see the Workplace Electric Vehicle Charging Funding Assistance Program website.
VEC offers a $250 bill credit to members who purchase a new or used plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV) and a $500 bill credit to members who purchase a new or used all-electric vehicle (EV). Members who lease a PHEV are eligible for an annual bill credit of $50 for each year of the lease. For members who lease an EV, an annual bill credit of $100 is available for each year of the lease. Members must commit to avoid charging from 5-9PM Monday through Friday to be eligible.For more information, including how to apply, see the VEC Energy Transformation Program website.
VEC offers a bill credit of $500 per connector, up to $2,000, to VEC member businesses and public entities that install Level 2 or DC fast EVSE between July 2, 2017 and December 31, 2019. To qualify, the EVSE must be available for public use and must commit to avoiding charging between peak hours of 5-9pm Monday through Thursday. Bill credits are available for up to 30 connectors total. For more information, including how to apply, see the VEC Energy Transformation Program website.
VPPSA member customers are eligible for a rebate of up to $1,000 on the purchase of a plug-in electric vehicle, and up to $600 on the purchase of a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle. For more information visit the VPPSA Electric Vehicle Rebate website.
Stowe Electric offers customers rebates for the purchase of PEVs. New plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEVs) are eligible for a $450 rebate and new all-electric vehicles are eligible for a $850 rebate. Income-qualifying customers are eligible for an additional $250 rebate for either vehicle. For more information, including how to apply, see the Stowe Electric Rebate Programs website.
The Wisconsin Department of Administration provides idle reduction grants to eligible common, contract, and private motor carriers headquartered in Wisconsin that transport freight. Applicants may receive grants of up to 50% of the cost of equipment and installation on heavy-duty truck tractors produced in Model Year 1999 or later. Other conditions may apply. The grant program provides $1 million for each budget cycle. The application for the 2019-2020 funding cycle is no longer available (verified October 2019). For more information, see the Diesel Truck Idling Reduction Grant Program page. (Reference Wisconsin Statutes 16.956)
Alliant Energy offers a rebate up to $500 to residential customers who purchase and install Level 2 EVSE. The EVSE must be purchased and installed between January 1, 2019, and December 31, 2019. For more information, including how to apply, see the Alliant Energy Electric Vehicle Chargers website.
Alliant Energy offers a rebate to commercial and industrial customers who purchase and install Level 2 EVSE for use by their employees or the public. The rebate is $500 for the purchase of a single connector EVSE, $1,000 for a dual connector EVSE, and $1,500 for a networked dual connector EVSE. The EVSE must be purchased and installed between January 1, 2019 and December 31, 2019. Rebates are available on a first-come, first-served basis. For more information, including eligibility requirements and how to apply, see the Alliant Energy rebates website.
The Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources (DNR) provides U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Diesel Emission Reduction Act (DERA) funding for projects that reduce diesel emissions in Wisconsin. Funding for between 25% and 100% of eligible projects costs is available to businesses, nonprofits, and public entities that reduce diesel emissions by replacing engines, retrofitting exhaust controls, purchasing new vehicles, or installing idle reduction equipment. DNR is accepting applications until January 3, 2020. For more information, including funding amounts and how to apply, see the DNR Clean Diesel Grant Program website.
MGE residential customers can pay $20 per month for the installation and maintenance of a Level 2 EVSE. Participants must sign a five-year service agreement. For more information, see MGE’s Charge@Home website.
BEC offers residential customers rebates for the full cost of a Level 2 EVSE. For more information, see the BEC Residential Programs website.
CVEC offers customers a $200 rebate to purchase and install a new EVSE. All rebate documentation must be submitted within three months of the EVSE purchase. The rebate is available until December 31, 2019 and is available on a first-come, first-served basis. For more information, including eligibility requirements and how to apply, see the CVEC Rebates website.
CEC offers customers a $400 rebate to purchase and install a new EVSE. Required documentation must be submitted to CEC within three months of the EVSE purchase date. The EVSE rebate is available until December 31, 2019 and is available on a first-come, first-served basis. For more information, see the CEC Rebates and Incentives website.
ECE offers residential customers a $500 rebate to purchase and install a Level 2 EVSE or a limited time $800 rebate for qualifying EVSEs purchased through their online store (verified November 2019). For more information, see the ECE Residential Rebates website.
Price Electric Cooperative offers residential customers a $200 rebate to customers who purchase and install an EVSE. The EVSE rebate is available until December 31, 2019 and is available on a first-come, first-served basis. For more information, see the Price Electric Cooperative Rebates website.
REC offers residential customers a $200 rebate to purchase and install an EVSE. The EVSE rebate is available until December 31, 2019 and is available on a first-come, first-served basis. For more information, see the REC Rebates website.
PPCS offers residential customers a $200 rebate to purchase and install an EVSE. The EVSE rebate is available until December 31, 2019 and is available on a first-come, first-served basis. For more information, see the PPCS Programs & Rebates website.
An individual may only sell liquid alternative fuels if the seller provides the purchaser a delivery ticket with the name and address of the seller, the name and address of the purchaser, a description of the fuel delivered, and a meter reading showing the volume of liquid fuel delivered. The definition of alternative fuels includes those suitable for motor vehicles. (Reference Wisconsin Statutes 98.225(1) and (2))