Recent State Updates

Listed below are new and recently updated state laws, incentives, and regulations related to alternative fuels and advanced vehicles.

View All

Alaska

Alaska's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 5/4/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities (DOT&PF) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Alaska’s NEVI planning process, see the DOT&PF Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA) for Alaska website.

Arizona

Arizona's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 6/2/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Arizona’s NEVI planning process, see the ADOT Arizona Electric Vehicle Program website.

Arkansas

Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Corridor Grants – added 5/13/2022

The Arkansas Department of Environmental Quality’s (ADEQ) Direct Current Fast Charge (DCFC) Financial Assistance program provides grants to public and private entities to install 150-kilowatt DCFC stations along major interstates and transportation corridors. Grants are available for 75% of the total project costs, up to $350,000 per site. To be eligible, sites must be within 50 miles of an exit from a designated Alternative Fuels Corridor, publicly accessible 24 hours daily, and well-lit. The program is funded by Arkansas’s portion of the Volkswagen Environmental Mitigation Trust. For more information, see ADEQ’s DCFC Financial Assistance Program website. (Reference Arkansas Code 15-10-101 and 19-5-1273)

California

Medium- and Heavy-Duty (MHD) Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV) Financing Program – added 4/11/2022

The California Pollution Control Financing Authority (CPCFA) must develop and implement a purchasing assistance program for MHD ZEV fleets. CPCFA must consult with stakeholders to design a program that provides financial support and technical assistance to fleet managers deploying MHD ZEVs. CPCFA must designate high-priority fleets, considering implications for climate change, pollution, environmental justice, and post-COVID economy recovery. A minimum of 75% of financing products must be directed towards operators of MHD ZEV fleets whose fleets directly impact, or operate in, underserved communities. CPCFA must establish the program by January 1, 2023, and provide annual reports on program outcomes to the California Air Resources Board. (Reference Senate Bill 372, 2021)

California’s National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – updated 5/5/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the California Department of Transportation (Caltrans) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about California’s NEVI planning process, see the Caltrans Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA) Implementation website.

Colorado

Colorado's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 6/14/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Colorado’s NEVI planning process, see the CDOT NEVI website.

Connecticut

Connecticut’s National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 6/2/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Connecticut Department of Transportation (CTDOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Connecticut’s NEVI planning process, see the CTDOT NEVI website.

Zero Emission School Bus Acquisition Requirement – added 6/13/2022

All school buses in Connecticut must be zero emission by 2040. School districts within environmental justice communities as of July 1, 2022, must transition to zero emission buses by January 1, 2030.

(Reference Senate Bill 4, 2022)

Light-Duty Electric Vehicle (EV) Deployment Goals – added 6/13/2022

Connecticut will work to increase the number of EVs to meet the following state goals:

  • 50% of light-duty vehicles (LDVs) must be EVs by 2026;
  • 75% of LDVs must be EVs by 2028; and,
  • All new LDV sales must be EVs by 2030.

(Reference Senate Bill 4, 2022)

Zero Emission Transit Bus Acquisition Requirement – added 6/13/2022

Beginning January 1, 2024, the state may not procure, purchase, or lease diesel transit buses. At least 30% of transit buses purchased or leased by the state must be zero-emission by January 1, 2030.

(Reference Senate Bill 4, 2022)

Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV) Study and Procurement – added 6/13/2022

The Connecticut Department of Administrative Services (DAS) and the Connecticut Department of Transportation must study the feasibility and cost savings of creating and implementing a bid process for the bulk procurement of light-, medium-, and heavy-duty electric vehicles, hydrogen fuel cell electric vehicles, and zero emission buses. DAS must report the study results to the General Assembly by January 1, 2024.

(Reference Senate Bill 4, 2022)

Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Policies for Condominiums – added 6/13/2022

Beginning October 1, 2022, condominium associations may not prohibit or restrict the installation or use of EV charging stations. These entities may put reasonable restrictions on EV charging stations, but the policies may not discourage or add obstacles to the use of EV charging stations. The EV charging station installer must obtain appropriate approvals from the common interest development association, comply with applicable architectural standards, engage a licensed installation contractor, provide a certificate of insurance, register the EV charging station with the association, meet health and building standards, and pay for the electricity usage, maintenance, and other costs associated with the EV charging station until it is removed by the homeowner.

(Reference Senate Bill 4, 2022)

Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Policies for Rental Properties – updated 6/13/2022

Landlords must approve a tenant’s written request to install an EV charging station in their designated parking space. This requirement takes effect at different times based on the number of units a landlord owns, according to the following schedule:

Number of Units Owned Effective Data
250 or more October 1, 2022
At least 50 but no more than 250 October 1, 2023
Less than 50 October 1, 2024

All modifications and improvements must comply with federal, state, and local laws and all applicable zoning and land use requirements, covenants, conditions, and restrictions. The EV charging station installer is responsible for the cost of the installation, maintenance, repair, removal, or replacement of the equipment; electricity consumption; and any resulting damage to the EV charging station or surrounding area. The EV charging station must be designated as a fixture of the rental property if not removed upon the termination of the lease. Additional terms, conditions, or exclusions may apply.

(Reference Senate Bill 4, 2022)

Mandatory Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Building Standards – updated 6/14/2022

Beginning January 1, 2023, new state buildings with project costs greater than $100,000 must install Level 2 EV charging stations at a minimum of 20% of light-duty vehicle (LDV) parking spaces. New commercial or multi-unit dwelling buildings with at least 30 LDV parking spaces must be capable of supporting Level 2 or direct current fast charging (DCFC) stations at 10% of such spaces.

(Reference Senate Bill 4, 2022)

Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Policies at State Agencies – added 6/13/2022

Beginning October 1, 2022, an individual may not park a motor vehicle in a parking space equipped with state agency EV charging station unless the vehicle is an EV. EVs may not charge longer than the maximum time limit set by each state agency. State agencies must assess and collect fees from public and employee users to recover EV charging station installation costs unless users are charging a state-owned EV.

(Reference House Bill 5506, 2022)

Connecticut Hydrogen and Electric Vehicle (EV) Purchase Rebate Program Administration – added 6/14/2022

The Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP) must further establish and administer the Connecticut Hydrogen and Electric Automobile Purchase Rebate (CHEAPR) program. DEEP must:

  • Establish an Advisory Board of various government and industry members to direct the allocation of funds;
  • Provide at least 3 million dollars of rebates and vouchers to residents for the purchase or lease of new or pre-owned EV or fuel cell electric vehicle annually;
  • Prioritize the allocation of funds to residents of environmental justice communities;
  • Beginning on July 1, 2024, report annually on the effectives of the program; and,
  • Conduct outreach programs and marketing campaigns for the promotion of the program.

(Reference Senate Bill 4, 2022)

District of Columbia

Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Building Standards – added 4/11/2022

Beginning January 1, 2022, new construction and renovation of commercial buildings and multi-unit dwellings with four or more off-street parking spaces, must reserve a minimum of 20% of parking spaces for EV charging station-ready infrastructure. The Executive Office of the Mayor must establish regulations detailing the technical specifications required to support the EV charging station-ready infrastructure. (Reference District of Columbia Code 6-1451.03a)

Resident Electric Vehicle (EV) Curbside Charging Authorization and Guidance – added 6/13/2022

District of Columbia residents that own or lease EVs may utilize curbside charging if they do not have designated off-street parking. Residents are not required to obtain a public space permit for curbside charging but they must follow the District of Columbia Department of Transportation’s (DDOT) EV Charging Cord Guidance for Crossing the Public Right-Of-Way. Equipment may be confiscated if residents do not comply. For more information, see the DDOT EV Charging Station Program website.

Public Electric Vehicle (EV) Curbside Charing Station Permits – added 6/13/2022

The District of Columbia Department of Transportation (DDOT) offers public space permits to EV charging vendors for the installation of EV charging at curbside parking spaces. To be eligible, vendors must identify locations for EV charging stations, schedule a preliminary design review meeting (PDRM) with DDOT, and provide proof of utility engagement. For more information, including how to schedule a PDRM and additional eligibility requirements, see the DDOT EV Charging Station Program website.

District of Columbia's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 6/22/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the District Department of Transportation (DDOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about the District of Columbia’s NEVI planning process, see the DDOT District Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Deployment Plan website.

Florida

Commercial Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Pilot Program – Tampa Electric Company (TECO) – added 4/8/2022

TECO’s Drive Smart Program offers business customers a rebate of up to $5,000 per port for the purchase and installation of public EV charging stations. Eligible project locations include workplace, public or retail, multi-unit dwelling, income-qualified, and government sites. Additional funding is available for EV charging stations installed in income-qualified areas and government sites. For more information, including program terms and conditions, see the TECO Drive Smart website.

Residential Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Charging Rebate - JEA – added 4/8/2022

Jacksonville Electric Authority (JEA) offers residential customers with Level 2 EV charging station an incentive of up to $7 per month to encourage EV charging station use during off-peak hours. For more information, including program terms and conditions, see the JEA Drive Electric Charging Rebate Program website.

Florida’s National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 6/2/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Florida’s NEVI planning process, see the FDOT Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Funding website.

Georgia

Transportation Electrification Study – added 5/13/2022

The Joint Study Committee on the Electrification of Transportation (Committee) must study the growth of the electric vehicle (EV) market in Georgia and address concerns regarding public and business needs for public EV charging infrastructure and economic preparedness. The Committee must make recommendations, including proposed legislation, and submit a report to the Georgia Legislature by December 1, 2022.

(Reference Senate Resolution 463, 2022)

Hawaii

Multi-Unit Dwelling (MUD) Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Deployment Assessment – added 5/13/2022

The Hawaii State Energy Office must convene a working group to evaluate opportunities and barriers for installing EV charging stations in MUDs. The working group must:

  • Assess barriers to EV charging stations at MUDs;
  • Consider changes to state statutes and administrative code to support EV charging station deployment at MUDs;
  • Identify best practices for EV charging station installations at MUDs;
  • Create guidelines for EV charging stations in MUDs;
  • Develop solutions for EV charging cost recovery and electrical capacity management; and,
  • Develop recommendations for installing shared-use EV charging stations at MUDs.

The working group must prepare a report of its findings, recommendations, and proposed legislation and submit it to the Hawaii Legislature 20 days prior to the 2023 legislative session.

(Reference House Resolution 42, 2022 and Senate Resolution 91, 2022)

Illinois

Electric Vehicle (EV) and EV Charging Station Manufacturing Tax Credits – added 4/11/2022

The Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity‘s Reimagining Electric Vehicles in Illinois Program (REV Illinois Program) offers tax credits to eligible EV, EV component parts, and EV charging station manufacturers. Credits are available in two tiers. Tier 1 credits are available to EV, EV component, and EV charging station manufacturers that invest a minimum of $20 million and create a at least 50 new jobs within 4 years in Illinois. Tier 2 credits are available to the following entities:

  • EV manufacturers that invest a minimum of $1.5 billion and create at least 500 jobs within 5 years in Illinois;
  • EV component part manufacturers that invest a minimum of $300 million and create at least 150 jobs within 5 years in Illinois; and,
  • Manufacturers converting existing facilities to allow for EV and EV component production that invest a minimum of $100 million and create at least 75 new jobs within 5 years in Illinois.
Tax credit amounts vary and additional eligibility requirements may apply. Tax credits increase for businesses located in priority areas, which includes underserved communities or communities in energy transition areas. Tier 2 applicants may also be eligible for the following tax exemptions:

Tax Exemption Overview Credit Expiration
Exemption from retailer occupation tax paid on building materials 5 years
Exemption from state utility tax for electricity and natural gas 10 years
Exemption on telecommunication excise tax and ICC administrative charge 10 years

Credits may be claimed beginning January 1, 2025. For more information, see the Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity REV Illinois Program website.

(Reference House Bill 1769, 2021, and Public Act 102-0669)

Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebate – added 5/13/2022

Beginning July 1, 2022, the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (IEPA) will offer rebates to public and private entities for the installation and maintenance of Level 2 and direct current fast charging (DCFC) stations. Rebate awards may cover up to 80% of the eligible project costs. Additional rebates are available for EV charging stations deployed in underserved and environmental justice communities. For more information, see the IEPA Climate and Equitable Jobs Act website.

(Reference Public Act 102-0662)

Electric Vehicle (EV) Rebates – updated 6/14/2022

The Illinois Environmental Protection Agency (IEPA) offers rebates to residents for the purchase or lease of a new or pre-owned EV. Rebates amounts are available according to the following schedule:

Purchase or Lease Timeframe Rebate Amount
July 1, 2022 – June 30, 2026 $4,000
July 1, 2026 – June 30, 2027 $2,000
Beginning July 1, 2028 $1,000

IEPA also offers rebates of $1,500 to Illinois residents for the purchase of a new electric motorcycle after July 1, 2022. EV owners must apply for the rebate within 90 days of purchasing or leasing and registering the EV in Illinois. Applicants may only receive one rebate in a 10-year period. Rebate award amounts may not exceed the purchase price of the vehicle. Additional restrictions apply. For more information, see the IEPA Climate and Equitable Jobs Act website.

(Reference Public Act 102-0662)

Electric Vehicle (EV) Road Use Revenue Study – added 5/13/2022

The Illinois Department of Transportation (IDOT) must conduct a study to examine how EVs will impact transportation infrastructure funds. IDOT must include recommendations for revenue recovery and publish their findings by September 30, 2022.

(Reference Public Act 102-0662)

Indiana

Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebate – Applied Energy Services (AES) Indiana – added 4/8/2022

AES Indiana offers residential customers a $250 rebate for the purchase of a new Level 2 EV charging station. Customers must enroll in a managed charging program. For more information, including a list of eligible EV charging stations, see the AES Indiana EV Managed Charging Program website.

Public Utility Definition – added 4/8/2022

A person or joint agency that owns, operates, or leases electric vehicle supply equipment for use by the public is not defined as a public utility. (Reference House Bill 1221, 2022)

Utility Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Pilot Program Authorization – added 4/8/2022

Electric utilities may request approval from the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission to implement a pilot program to evaluate the feasibility and design of large-scale EV charging station deployment to support public use electric vehicle (EV) adoption. Public use EVs include electric school buses, electric transit buses, and EVs used to deliver goods and services to the public. Eligible pilot program proposals include those that:

  • Install, own, or operate EV charging stations or make-ready EV charging stations for public use EVs; and,
  • Provide incentives or rebates to customers to encourage the purchase of EVs and installation of EV charging stations.

Utilities must also include plans to install EV charging stations in underserved and diverse communities.

(Reference House Bill 1221, 2022)

Indiana's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 5/13/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Indiana Department of Transportation (INDOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Indiana’s NEVI planning process, see the INDOT Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure Network website.

Iowa

Iowa's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 6/15/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Iowa Department of Transportation (Iowa DOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Iowa’s NEVI planning process, see the Iowa DOT Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Deployment website.

Kansas

Kansas' National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 5/23/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Kansas Department of Transportation (KSDOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Kansas’ NEVI planning process, see the KSDOT Charge Up Kansas website.

Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebate and Time-Of-Use (TOU) Rate – Evergy – added 6/14/2022

Evergy offers residential customers a $250 rebate for the purchase of a Level 2 EV Charger. Evergy offers an additional $250 rebate when customers sign up for an EV TOU rate. To receive the additional rebate, Kansas Central region customers must enroll in either the EV Plan or the TOU Plan rate, and Kansas Metro region customers must enroll in the TOU Plan rate. For more information, including TOU rate option details, see the Evergy EV Charging Rebate website.

Kentucky

Kentucky’s National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 5/4/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Kentucky’s NEVI planning process, see Kentucky’s Plan website.

Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Tax – added 6/13/2022

EV charging station owners and lessees must pay a combined excise tax and surtax fee of $0.03 per kilowatt hour of electricity used to charge EVs. The tax will be added to the selling price charged by the station operator. If the station operator provides free electricity, they will be responsible for paying the tax on stations installed after June 30, 2022. The station operator must report total kilowatt hours distributed, tax amount collected, and provide payment to the state monthly. The Kentucky Department of Revenue must compare the tax rate to the most current quarterly National Highway Construction Cost Index 2.0 (NHCCI 2.0) by December 1, 2022. Beginning January 1, 2024, the tax rate must be adjusted annually to match the NHCCI 2.0 change, up to a maximum 5% annual increase or decrease.

(Reference House Bill 8, 2022, and Kentucky Revised Statutes 186.010 and 189.282)

Electric Vehicle (EV) Fee – added 6/13/2022

In addition to standard vehicle registration fees, EV owners must pay an annual fee of $120 while hybrid electric vehicle and electric motorcycle owners must pay an annual fee of $60.

(Reference Kentucky Revised Statutes 138.32)

Louisiana

Louisiana's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 5/24/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Louisiana Department of Transportation (LA DOTD) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Louisiana’s NEVI planning process, see the LA DODT Electric Vehicle Infrastructure website.

Maryland

Electric Vehicle (EV) and Fuel Cell Electric Vehicle (FCEV) Tax Credit – updated 5/13/2022

Beginning July 1, 2023, qualified EV and FCEV purchasers may apply for an excise tax credit of up to $3,000. The tax credit is first-come, first-served, and is limited to one vehicle per individual and 10 vehicles per business entity. Qualified vehicles must meet the following criteria:

  • Have a total purchase price not exceeding $50,000;
  • Be propelled to a significant extent by an electric motor that draws electricity from a battery with a capacity of at least 4 kilowatt-hours;
  • Have not been modified from original manufacturer specifications; and
  • Be purchased and titled for the first time between July 1, 2023, and July 1, 2027.

Additional restrictions apply.

(Reference Maryland Statutes, Transportation Code 13-815 and House Bill 1391, 2022)

Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebate and Time-Of-Use (TOU) Rate - Pepco – updated 6/13/2022

Pepco offers residential customers a rebate of up to 50% of the cost to purchase and install an eligible Level 2 EV charging station through the Plug-In Vehicle (PIV) Managed Charger Program. Pepco also offers a TOU rate to residential customers who own an EV. Customers that participate in the PIV Managed Charger Program are automatically enrolled in the EV TOU rate. A maximum of 100 customers may participate in the PIV Managed Charger Program and applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis. Additional terms and conditions apply. For more information, including qualifying Level 2 EV chargers and how to apply, see the Pepco PIV Managed Charger Program website.

Residential Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebate - BGE – updated 6/13/2022

Baltimore Gas and Electric (BGE) offers residential customers an annual credit of $50 for the purchase and installation of a Level 2 EV charging station. To be eligible, residential customers must charge EVs during off-peak hours. Additional terms and conditions apply. For more information, including how to apply, see the BGE EVsmart website.

Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebates - Pepco – updated 6/13/2022

Pepco provides rebates to residential and multifamily customers toward the purchase of qualified Level 2 EV charging stations. Pepco offers residential customers a $300 rebate for a Level 2 smart EV charging station. Only EV charging stations purchased and installed after July 1, 2019, are eligible.

Pepco offers customers that own or operate multifamily properties a rebate for 100% of the cost to purchase and install eligible Level 2 smart EV charging stations, up to $15,000 per station. Eligible customers may receive rebates for up to two EV charging stations. Additional terms and conditions apply. For more information, including how to apply, see the Pepco EVsmart website.

Maryland’s National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 5/4/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Maryland Department of Transportation (MDOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Maryland’s NEVI planning process, see the MDOT Zero Emission Vehicle Infrastructure Plan website.

Electrical Distribution Emissions Reductions – added 5/13/2022

The Maryland Public Service Commission (PSC) must submit a report on the status of the electric distribution system, including electric vehicles (EVs). The report must evaluate progress towards, among other things, the following goals:

  • Reduce greenhouse gas emissions from electric distribution, including EVs;
  • Prioritize vulnerable and underserved communities in the development of distributed energy resources and EV charging infrastructure; and,
  • Increase the use of distributed energy resources, including EVs.

The PSC must publish the report on an annual basis, beginning December 1, 2024.

(Reference Senate Bill 528, 2022)

Medium- and Heavy-Duty (MHD) Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV) Grant Authorization – added 5/13/2022

Beginning in fiscal year 2024, Maryland Energy Administration is authorized to administer a MHD ZEV grant program. Grants must cover up to 20% of the cost to purchase MHD ZEVs, electric vehicle charging stations, or MHD non-road equipment. Eligible vehicles must have a gross vehicle weight rating above 8,500 pounds and be powered exclusively by electricity or hydrogen.

(Reference House Bill 1391, 2022)

Zero Emission School Bus Acquisition Requirements – added 5/13/2022

Beginning in fiscal year 2025, county Boards of Education may only enter vehicle acquisition contracts for zero emission school buses. County Boards of Education are not required to purchase zero emission school buses if the:

  • Buses have an in-service date prior to July 1, 2024;
  • Buses do not meet performance requirements; or,
  • County Board of Education is unable to obtain funding sufficient to cover the incremental cost of the zero emission school bus.

The Maryland Department of Environment must work with county Boards of Education to develop electric vehicle charging infrastructure to support the acquisition of zero emission school buses.

(Reference Senate Bill 528, 2022)

Electric School Bus Pilot Program – added 5/13/2022

The Maryland Public Service Commission (PSC) must develop and administer an electric school bus pilot program that investor-owned utilities (IOUs) may apply to implement in their service territories. To be eligible, IOU pilot programs must:

  • Begin on or before October 1, 2024;
  • Deploy a minimum of 25 electric school buses;
  • Provide rebates to participating schools for the purchase of electric school buses;
  • Incorporate vehicle-to-grid technology;
  • Provide charging equipment for the electric school buses; and,
  • Train bus drivers on how to use the electric vehicle charging stations.

Participating IOUs must report on the status of their pilot program on an annual basis.

(Reference Senate Bill 528, 2022 and House Bill 696, 2022)

Light-Duty Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV) Acquisition Requirements – added 5/13/2022

100% of passenger vehicles in the state fleet must be ZEVs by 2031 and other light-duty vehicles must be ZEVs by 2036. To support the state fleet transition to ZEVs, state agencies must coordinate vehicle acquisition efforts to increase the share of ZEVs in the state fleet. Passenger vehicle ZEV acquisitions must increase according to the following schedule:

Fiscal Year (FY) Acquisition Requirement
2023 through 2025 25% of vehicles must be ZEVs
2026 through 2027 50% of vehicles must be ZEVs
2028 and Later 100% of vehicles must be ZEVs

Other light-duty ZEV acquisitions must increase according to the following schedule:

FY Acquisition Requirement
2028 through 2030 25% of vehicles must be ZEVs
2031 through 2032 50% of vehicles must be ZEVs
2033 and Later 100% of vehicles must be ZEVs

ZEVs include vehicles powered exclusively by electricity or hydrogen. If state agencies are unable to acquire ZEVs, a plug-in hybrid electric vehicle may be purchased instead. Paratransit vehicles are exempt from these acquisition requirements. The Maryland Department of General Services must deploy adequate charging and refueling infrastructure to support ZEV adoption and report vehicle acquisition progress to the General Assembly on an annual basis.

(Reference Senate Bill 528, 2022)

Public Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Incentive – Potomac Edison – added 6/13/2022

Potomac Edison offers to install and operate a Level 2 or direct current fast charging (DCFC) station on government property at no cost to the government sites. A maximum of 59 EV charging stations will be installed through this program and applications will be reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis. Additional terms and conditions apply. For more information, see the Potomac Edison Public Charging Stations website.

Commercial Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebates – BGE – added 6/13/2022

Baltimore Gas and Electric (BGE) offers commercial customers a rebate for 50% of the purchase and installation cost of eligible Level 2 EV charging stations, up to $5,000 per port, and 50% of the purchase and installation cost of eligible direct current fast charging (DCFC) stations, up to $15,000 per port. Rebate awards may not exceed $30,000 per site. Eligible commercial customers include multifamily properties, homeowner’s associations, small businesses, non-profit organizations, and commercial fleets. Only chargers purchased and installed after July 1, 2019, are eligible. A total of 700 rebates are available on a first-come, first-served basis. Applicants will be placed on a waitlist once the rebate limit is reached. Additional terms and conditions apply. For more information, including how to apply, see the BGE EVsmart website.

Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebate and Time-Of-Use (TOU) Rate – Delmarva Power – added 6/13/2022

Delmarva Power offers residential customers a rebate of up to 50% of the cost to purchase and install an eligible Level 2 EV charging station through the Plug-In Vehicle (PIV) Managed Charger Program. Delmarva Power also offers a TOU rate to residential customers who own an EV. Customers that participate in the PIV Managed Charger Program are automatically enrolled in the EV TOU rate. A maximum of 100 customers may participate in the PIV Managed Charger Program and applications are reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis. Additional terms and conditions apply. For more information, including qualifying Level 2 EV chargers and how to apply, see the Delmarva Power PIV Managed Charger Program website.

Public Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Incentive – Delmarva Power – added 6/13/2022

Delmarva Power offers to install and operate a Level 2 or direct current fast charging (DCFC) station on government property at no cost to the government sites. A maximum of 250 EV charging stations will be installed through this program and applications will be reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis. Additional terms and conditions apply. For more information, see the Delmarva Power Public Charging Program website.

Public Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Incentive – Pepco – added 6/13/2022

Pepco offers to install and operate a Level 2 or direct current fast charging (DCFC) station on government property at no cost to the government sites. A maximum of 250 EV charging stations will be installed through this program and applications will be reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis. Additional terms and conditions apply. For more information, see the Pepco Public Charging Program website.

Public Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Incentive – SMECO – added 6/13/2022

Southern Maryland Electric Cooperative (SMECO) offers to install and operate a Level 2 or direct current fast charging (DCFC) station on government property at no cost to the government sites. A maximum of 60 EV charging stations will be installed through this program and applications will be reviewed on a first-come, first-served basis. Additional terms and conditions apply. For more information, see the SMECO EV Recharge website.

Electric Vehicle (EV) Parking Space Regulation – added 6/13/2022

Beginning October 1, 2022, individuals may not stop, stand, or park a vehicle in a designated EV charging space unless it is an EV that is actively charging. Violators may be subject to a fine of $100.

EV charging spaces must have signage that indicates the charging space is only for EV charging, day or time restrictions, states maximum violation fine, and is consistent with design and placement specifications in the Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices for Streets and Highways. EV charging spaces count toward the total minimum parking space requirements for zoning and parking laws.

(Reference Senate Bill 146, 2022 and House Bill 157, 2022)

Massachusetts

Massachusetts’ National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – updated 5/4/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Massachusetts Department of Transportation (MassDOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how MassDOT intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Massachusetts’ NEVI planning process, see the MassDOT NEVI Plan website.

Michigan

Michigan's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 6/14/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Michigan Department of Transportation to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Michigan’s NEVI planning process, see the Michigan NEVI website.

Minnesota

Minnesota’s National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 5/4/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Minnesota’s NEVI planning process, see the MnDOT Plan website.

Mississippi

School Electric Vehicle (EV) Purchase Authorization – added 5/13/2022

Local school boards are authorized to purchase, own, and operate EVs. EVs must be used to transport children to and from public schools. School boards are also authorized to use transportation funds from the school district for the purchase of EVs and vehicle servicing, maintenance, and repair.

(Reference Senate Bill 2887, 2022 and Mississippi Code 37-41-81)

Mississippi's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 5/23/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Mississippi Department of Transportation (MDOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Indiana’s NEVI planning process, see the MDOT Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure website.

Residential Electric Vehicle (EV) and EV Charging Station Rebate – Mississippi Power – added 6/10/2022

Mississippi Power offers residential customers rebates for new, leased, or pre-owned EVs. Rebates are available in the following amounts:

Vehicle Type Condition Amount
All-electric vehicle New $1,250
All-electric vehicle Leased $1,000
All-electric vehicle Pre-Owned $750
Plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV) New $750
PHEV Leased $750
PHEV Pre-Owned $750

Mississippi Power also offers a rebate of up to $250 Level 2 EV charging stations. For more information, including terms and conditions, see the Mississippi Power EVs website.

Commercial Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station and Off-Road Equipment Rebate - Mississippi Power – added 6/10/2022

Mississippi Power offers commercial customers a rebate of $2,000 for the purchase Level 2 EV charging station, truck electric auxiliary power unit plug, or truck electric transport refrigeration unit. Mississippi Power also offers customers and dealerships rebates of up to $1,000 for the purchase of an electric forklift. For more information, including terms and conditions, see the Mississippi Power EVs website.

Missouri

Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebate – Evergy – added 5/13/2022

Evergy offers a $500 rebate for the purchase and installation of a Level 2 EV charging station to qualified residential customers that purchase or lease an EV and enroll in a time-of-use rate. For more information, see the Evergy EV Charging Rebate website.

Missouri's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – updated 5/20/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Missouri’s NEVI planning process, see the MoDOT NEVI website.

Montana

Montana’s National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 5/4/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Montana Department of Transportation (MDT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about MDT’s collaboration with the Energy Office at the Montana Department of Environmental Quality for the NEVI planning process, see the Montana DEQ Alternative Fuels & Transportation website.

Nebraska

Nebraska's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 5/23/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Nebraska Department of Transportation (NDOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Indiana’s NEVI planning process, see the NDOT NEVI website.

Nevada

Medium- and Heavy-Duty (MDHD) Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV) Deployment Support – added 5/13/2022

California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, and Washington (signatory states) signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) to support the deployment of MDHD ZEVs through involvement in a Multi-State ZEV Task Force (Task Force).

In March 2022, the Task Force released a draft multi-state action plan to support electrification of MDHD vehicles. The Task Force will consider actions to accomplish the goals of the MOU, including limiting all new MDHD vehicles sales in the signatory states to ZEVs by 2050. The signatory states will also seek to accelerate the deployment of MDHD ZEVs to benefit disadvantaged communities and explore opportunities to coordinate and partner with key stakeholders.

For more information, see the MDHD ZEVs: Action Plan Development Process website.

New Hampshire

New Hampshire's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 6/14/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the New Hampshire Department of Transportation (NHDOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Alaska’s NEVI planning process, see the NHDOT Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure website.

New Mexico

Residential Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebates – El Paso Electric (EPE) – added 4/11/2022

EPE offers residential customers a $500 rebate to purchase a qualified Level 2 EV charging stations and a $2,300 rebate for low-income customers to purchase and install a qualified Level 2 EV charging station. Low-income customers are households with income equal to or less than 200% of the federal poverty level. Eligible Level 2 EV charging stations must be ENERGY STAR certified, networked, and have Wi-Fi or cellular capabilities. For more information, see the EPE Residential Programs website.

Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebate – El Paso Electric (EPE) – added 4/11/2022

EPE offers commercial customers rebates for the installation of qualified Level 2 and direct current fast charging (DCFC) stations. Rebates are available in the following amounts:

Applicant Type Technology Incentive Amounts
Workplace and Business Networked Level 2 EV Charging Stations 50% of eligible costs, up to $3,500
Multi-Unit Dwelling (MUD) Networked Level 2 EV Charging Stations 75% of eligible costs, up to $5,250
Commercial Networked DCFC Stations 50% of eligible costs, up to $104,000
Public Transit and Fleet Networked DCFC Stations Up to $26,000 per DCFC Station; up to $37,000 for service upgrades
Public Transit and Fleet Networked Level 2 EV Charging Station Up to $3,000 per EV Charging Station; up to $13,000 for service upgrades

Eligible EV Charging Stations must be UL2594 listed, ENERGY STAR certified, and have Wi-Fi or cellular capabilities. Additional eligibility requirements may apply. For more information, see the EPE Commercial Rebate Programs website.

Electric Vehicle (EV) Time-Of-Use (TOU) Rates – El Paso Electric (EPE) – added 4/11/2022

EPE offers a TOU rate to commercial and residential customers that own or lease EVs. Eligible customers must be able to separately meter electricity used for EV charging. For more information, see the EPE EV Rates website.

New Mexico's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 5/24/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the New Mexico Department of Transportation (NMDOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Indiana’s NEVI planning process, see the NMDOT NEVI website.

Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV) Sales Requirements and Low Emission Vehicle (LEV) Standards – updated 6/14/2022

New Mexico has adopted the California motor vehicles emissions standards and compliance requirements in the Title 13 of the California Code of Regulations. Manufacturers must meet the greenhouse gas emissions standard and the ZEV production and sales requirements, beginning with model year 2026. These regulations apply to new passenger cars, light-duty trucks, and sport utility vehicles. For more information, see the Road to Clean Cars New Mexico webpage.

(Reference New Mexico Environment Department Docketed Matters, EIB 21-66 (R) and New Mexico Administrative Code 20.2.91)

Residential Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Program – Xcel Energy – added 6/14/2022

The Xcel Energy EV Accelerate at Home program provides residential customers with a Level 2 EV charging station for a flat monthly fee. The fee includes EV charging station installation and maintenance by an Xcel Energy approved electrician. For more information, see the Xcel Energy Driving Toward an Electric Future website.

Residential Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebate – Xcel Energy – added 6/14/2022

Xcel Energy offers residential customers a rebate of up to $500 for the installation of a dedicated electrical circuit to support a Level 2 EV charging station. Income-eligible applicants may receive a rebate of up to $2,500. For more information, see the Xcel Energy Driving Toward an Electric Future website.

Electric Vehicle (EV) Time-Of-Use (TOU) Credit – Xcel Energy – added 6/14/2022

Xcel Energy offers an annual credit of $50 for customers who charge EVs during off-peak periods. For more information see the Xcel Energy Driving Toward an Electric Future website.

New York

Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV) Requirements – updated 4/8/2022

All sales or leases of new light-duty passenger vehicles in New York must be ZEVs by 2035, and all sales or leases of new medium- and heavy-duty vehicles must be ZEVs by 2045. All new off-road vehicle and equipment purchases must be zero emission by 2035.

To support the ZEV sales requirement, the New York State Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA) must develop the following:

  • Regulations and strategies to meet the 2035 and 2045 goals;
  • A ZEV market development strategy by January 31, 2023, and update it triennially;
  • Strategies to accelerate deployment of affordable ZEV infrastructure that serves low-income and disadvantaged communities; and,
  • Near-term actions and investment strategies to improve ZEV infrastructure by July 15, 2023.

(Reference Senate Bill 7788, 2022, and New York Environmental Conservation Law 19-0306)

Electric Utility Commercial Tariff Requirements for Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging – added 4/8/2022

The New York Public Service Commission (PSC) must establish a commercial tariff to facilitate faster EV charging. In establishing this tariff, the PSC must use alternatives to traditional demand-based rate structures, other operation cost relief mechanisms, or a combination of approaches. The PSC must include mechanisms that enable customers whose largest electricity demand is from EVs to opt into the commercial tariff without unreasonable delay. (Reference Senate Bill 7836, 2022)

Zero Emission School Bus Acquisition Requirements – added 5/13/2022

Beginning July 1, 2027, school districts may only purchase or lease zero emission school buses when entering new purchase or lease contracts. School districts are exempt from this requirement if:

  • The Commissioner of Social Services waives the requirements;
  • Zero emission bus acquisition, recharging, or refueling equipment would result in unreasonable costs to the school district; or,
  • Vehicles do not meet performance requirements.

Zero emission school buses may be powered by electricity or hydrogen. Before acquiring a zero emission bus, school districts must create a workforce development report that estimates the impact of zero emission buses on employment opportunities, identifies maintenance staff training needs, and estimates costs to train employees in how to operate zero emission buses and infrastructure.

(Reference Senate Bill 8006, 2022)

New York's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 6/6/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the New York State Department of Transportation (NYSDOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about New York’s NEVI planning process, see the New York State Energy Research and Development Authority NEVI website.

North Carolina

Electric Vehicle (EV) Time-Of-Use (TOU) Rate and Credit - Piedmont Electric Membership Corporation – added 6/9/2022

Piedmont Electric Membership Corporation (PEMC) offers a TOU rate to members that own or lease an EV. Eligible customers who sign up for the TOU rate will receive a $50 bill credit. Customers may also receive an additional $50 bill credit for the purchase of an EV. For more information, including eligibility requirements, see the PEMC EV TOU Rate and EV Incentives websites.

Electric Vehicle (EV) Time-Of-Use (TOU) Rate - Edgecombe-Martin County EMC – added 6/9/2022

Edgecombe-Martin County Electric Membership Corporation (EMC) offers a TOU rate to members that own an EV. Eligible customers who sign up for the TOU rate will also receive a $200 bill credit. For more information, including application requirements, see the Edgecombe-Martin County EMC EV Rates website.

Ohio

Ohio’s National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 6/2/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Ohio Department of Transportation (ODOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Ohio’s NEVI planning process, see the DriveOhio Ohio Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Plan website.

Oklahoma

Oklahoma’s National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 6/2/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Oklahoma Department of Transportation (ODOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Oklahoma’s NEVI planning process, see the ODOT NEVI website.

Oregon

Oregon's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 5/4/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Oregon’s NEVI planning process, see the ODOT Oregon’s Five-year EV Charging Infrastructure Roadmap website.

Pennsylvania

Pennsylvania's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 5/6/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Pennsylvania’s NEVI planning process, see the PennDOT Plan website.

Workplace Electric Vehicle (EV) Time-Of-Use (TOU) Rate – Duquesne Light Company (DLC) – updated 6/14/2022

DLC offers a TOU rate to small and medium-sized businesses that have an EV charging station at their location. Eligible businesses may not exceed a monthly metered demand of 200 megawatts. For more information, including eligibility requirements and how to enroll, see the DLC Business EV Rate webpage.

South Dakota

Public Utility Definition – added 4/11/2022

An entity that owns, operates, controls, or manages a facility that supplies electricity to the public exclusively to charge electric vehicles is not defined as a public utility.

(Reference Senate Bill 80, 2022)

South Dakota's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 6/14/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the South Dakota Department of Transportation (SDDOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about South Dakota’s NEVI planning process, see the SDDOT EV Plan website.

Tennessee

Tennessee's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 5/5/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Tennessee Department of Transportation (TDOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Tennessee’s NEVI planning process, see the TDOT Plan website.

Texas

Texas' National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – updated 5/5/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Texas NEVI planning process, see the TxDOT Electric Vehicle Charging Plan website.

Utah

Alternative Fuel Vehicle Conversion Grants – updated 4/8/2022

The Utah Conversion to Alternate Fuel Grant Program provides grants to businesses and government entities that purchase clean vehicles or install conversion equipment on eligible vehicles that allows the vehicles to operate on alternative fuel or reduces a vehicle’s emissions of regulated pollutants. Award recipients are required to pass these savings along to the individual who purchases the converted vehicle. Grants may cover 100% of the cost of purchasing a clean vehicle or 50% of the cost of conversion, up to $2,500. Eligible clean vehicles must operate solely on alternative fuel and include light- and heavy-duty vehicles and off-road equipment. Eligible alternative fuels include propane, natural gas, hydrogen, and electricity. For more information, see the Utah Conversion to Alternative Fuel Grant Program website. (Reference Senate Bill 188, 2022, and Utah Code 19-1-401 through 19-1-403.3 and 19-2-301 through 18-2-305)

Alternative Fuel Vehicle Registration Fees – updated 4/8/2022

All-electric vehicle (EV), plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV), and hybrid electric vehicle (HEV) owners are required to pay an additional registration fee as follows:

2022 Registration Fee 2023 Registration Fee
EV $120 $130.25
PHEV $52 $56.50
HEV $20 $21.75

Owners of a vehicles powered by a fuel other than motor fuel, diesel fuel, electricity, natural gas, or propane are required to pay an additional $120 registration fee. A six-month registration option with fees at prorated amounts is also available.

Beginning in 2023, the additional registration fee paid by EVs and vehicles fueled exclusively by a fuel other than gasoline, diesel, natural gas, or propane must be equal to the maximum annual road usage charge.

(Reference House Bill 186, 2022, and Utah Code 41-1a-1206)

Road Usage Charge Program – updated 4/8/2022

The owner of an all-electric vehicle (EV), plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV), and hybrid electric vehicle (HEV) may enroll in the Utah Department of Transportation’s (UDOT) mileage-based roadway operations and maintenance fee program in lieu of paying additional EV, PHEV, or HEV registration fees. To participate, the owner or lessee must enroll, report mileage driven, and pay the road usage fee for each payment period. Beginning in 2023, road use fees are as follows:

YearFee per MileMaximum Total Annual Fee
2023 to 2025$0.01$130.25
2026 to 2032$0.0125$180
2032 and Later$0.015$240

In 2023, a six-month option with a prorated maximum road use fee will also be available. Beginning in 2024, UDOT may adjust the mileage fee and the Utah Tax Commission may adjust the maximum annual fee amount. Additional conditions apply. For more information, see the UDOT Road Usage Charge website.

(Reference House Bill 186, 2022, and Utah Code 72-1-213.1)

Non-Residential Electric Vehicle (EV) Make-Ready Grant – Rocky Mountain Power – added 4/8/2022

Rocky Mountain Power offers custom grants to non-residential customers to cover the upfront costs of make-ready EV charging station projects. Additional terms and conditions apply. For more information, see the Rocky Mountain Power Utah Electric Vehicle Incentives website.

Residential Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebate – Rocky Mountain Power – added 4/8/2022

Rocky Mountain Power offers residential customers a rebate of up to $200 for the purchase and installation of a Level 2 EV charging station. Customers may receive one Level 2 rebate per electric vehicle owned. For more information, see the Rocky Mountain Power Utah Electric Vehicle Incentives website.

Vermont

Vermont's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 6/14/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Vermont Agency of Transportation (AOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Vermont’s NEVI planning process, see the AOT NEVI website.

Virginia

Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Bill Credit – Rappahannock Electric Cooperative (REC) – added 5/4/2022

REC offers a monthly $7 bill credit to residential customers that enroll in a time-of-use charging pilot program. To be eligible, participants must schedule their EV to charge during off-peak hours. Enrollment is limited to 200 participants and is on a first-come, first-served basis. For more information, see the REC EV Pilot Program website.

Electric Vehicle (EV) Rebate Authorization – added 5/13/2022

The Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals, and Energy is authorized to administer a rebate program for the purchase of a new or used EV. Rebates may not exceed $2,500. An additional rebate of $2,000 must be available for residents whose annual household income does not exceed 300% of current poverty guidelines. Eligible used vehicles may not have a purchase price of more than $25,000.

(Reference Virginia Code 45.2-1725 and 67-1900 through 67-1907)

Electric Vehicle (EV) Parking Space Regulation – added 5/13/2022

Any vehicle that is not actively charging may not parking in a designated EV charging parking space. The penalty for violation is $25.

(Reference House Bill 450, 2022)

Washington

Electric Vehicle (EV) Road User Assessment System Pilot – updated 4/11/2022

The Washington Transportation Commission (Commission) studied the feasibility of transitioning from a fuel tax to a road user assessment system in the state. In 2012, the Commission conducted a limited scope pilot project to test the feasibility of this new system as it applies to EVs and published outcomes in a report. The Commission began a year-long pilot project in fall 2017. On January 13, 2020, the Commission submitted a report of findings and recommendations to the governor, state legislature, and the U.S. Department of Transportation. The state legislature directed the Commission to further study aspects of the road usage charge program, including:

  • The impact of a road usage charge, incentives, and other factors on consumer purchase of EVs and conduct a test with drivers to assess impacts;
  • Delivery vehicle fleets and how a road usage charge may be applied, identify potential impacts to fleet operations and costs, state department of transportation revenues, and conduct a pilot test;
  • The process for changing vehicle ownership and determine the possible implications and identify the process needed for reconciling a road usage charge owed between sellers and purchases of used vehicles; and,
  • Opportunities for achieving large-scale data integration to support road usage charge service provisions that could be offered by private-sector service providers and conduct pilot tests to determine the ability of services to support automatic mileage reporting and periodic payments services.

For more information, see the Commission Road Usage Charge Assessment website.

(Reference Senate Bill 5689, 2022)

Commercial Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) and Fueling Infrastructure Tax Credit – updated 4/11/2022

Businesses are eligible to receive tax credits for purchasing new or used medium- and heavy-duty AFVs and medium- and heavy-duty vehicles converted to alternative fuels, and installing alternative fueling infrastructure. Eligible alternative fuels are natural gas, propane, hydrogen, dimethyl ether, and electricity. Tax credits for qualified alternative fueling infrastructure are for up to 50% of the cost to purchase and install the infrastructure. New commercial vehicle tax credit amounts vary based on gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) and are up to 75% of the incremental cost, with maximum credit values as follows:

GVWR Maximum Credit Amount Per Vehicle
Up to 14,000 pounds (lbs.) $25,000
14,001 to 26,500 lbs. $50,000
Over 26,500 lbs. $100,000

Leased AFVs may receive a tax credit for 75% cost, up to $25,000 per vehicle. This exemption also applies to qualified used vehicles modified with a U.S. Environmental Protection Agency-certified aftermarket conversion, if the vehicle is being sold for the first time after modification. Modified vehicles are eligible for credits equal to 50% of the commercial vehicle conversion cost, up to $25,000.

Each entity may claim up to $250,000 or credits for 25 vehicles per year. All credits earned must be used in that calendar year or the subsequent year. Tax credits are available on a first-come, first-served basis and are subject to annual limits of $2 million for vehicle credits, and $6 million for infrastructure.

(Reference Revised Code of Washington 82.16.0496 and 82.04.4496)

Fuel Cell Electric Vehicle (FCEV) Tax Exemption – updated 4/11/2022

Beginning July 1, 2022, 50% of the retail sales and state use tax does not apply to the sale or lease of the first 650 purchases of new passenger vehicles, light-duty trucks, and medium-duty passenger vehicles powered by fuel cells. The maximum value amount eligible for the tax exemption is the less of $16,000 or the fair market value of the vehicle. Additionally, all used FCEV sales and leases are exempt from the retail and state use tax. The FCEV exemption may not be combined with the Retail Sales and Use tax Exemption. (Reference Revised Code of Washington 82.08.020 and 82.12.9999 and Senate Bill 5000, 2021)

Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebate – Tacoma Public Utility (TPU) – updated 4/11/2022

TPU offers residential customers a $400 rebate, in the form of bill credit, for the installation of a Level 2 EV charging station, a smart splitter, or a 240-volt outlet. Applicants may receive one rebate per installation, up to $600 total. For more information, see the TPU EV Charging website.

Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV) Carshare Grant – updated 4/11/2022

The Zero-emissions Access Program (ZAP), administered by the Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT), offers grants to nonprofit organizations and local governments to design and create a ZEV carshare program in underserved and low-to moderate-income communities. Grant awards may range from $50,000 to $200,000. Eligible projects include:

  • Contract, lease, or purchase of ZEV;
  • Construction or installation of correlated charging station or refueling infrastructure; and,
  • Operational costs to develop, implement, and manage a car share program.

Applicants must provide matching funds as direct contributions or gifts-in-kind for at least 10% of the total cost of the project. Additional eligibility requirements may apply. For more information, including eligible communities and program dates, see the WSDOT ZEV Grants website.

(Reference Revised Code of Washington 47.04.355)

Electric Vehicle (EV) Time-Of-Use (TOU) Rate – Pacific Power – added 4/11/2022

Pacific Power offers residential, commercial, and irrigation customers a TOU rate for charging EVs. For more information, including pricing and eligibility, visit the Pacific Power TOU website.

Electric Vehicle (EV) Rebate – Snohomish County Public Utility District – updated 4/11/2022

Snohomish County Public Utility District (PUD) offers residential customers a $400 rebate, in the form of a bill credit, for the purchase or lease of a new or used EV. For more information, see the PUD Electric Vehicle website.

Electric Transportation Transition Study – added 4/11/2022

The Joint Transportation Committee (Committee) must study opportunities for high-consumption fuel users (users) to adopt electric vehicles (EVs) and make recommendations to the Committees and governor by July 1, 2023. The Committee must investigate and determine the following:

  • Number of users that could utilize EVs for a high percentage of their driving needs;
  • Fuel savings and gallons of fuel displaced if users switch to EVs;
  • User attitudes and perceptions of EVs; and,
  • Policies and messages that encourage EV adoption.
(Reference Senate Bill 5689, 2022)

Zero Emission Truck Support and Demonstration – added 4/11/2022

The Northwest Seaport Alliance (NWSA) must establish and coordinate a zero emission truck stakeholder group to lead the development and implementation of at least one zero-emission drayage truck demonstration project and develop a roadmap to transition the NWSA cargo gateway fleet to zero-emission trucks, by 2050. (Reference Senate Bill 5689, 2022)

Electric Vehicle (EV) and Direct Current Fast Charging (DCFC) Stations and Hydrogen Fueling Station – added 4/11/2022

Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT) must install co-located DCFC and hydrogen fueling stations in the Wenatchee or East Wenatchee area near a state route or publicly owned facility. WSDOT must contract with a public utility that produces hydrogen or provides technical assistance for hydrogen fueling stations. (Reference Senate Bill 5689, 2022)

Support for Electric Vehicle (EV) and Infrastructure Deployment – added 4/11/2022

The Washington State Department of Commerce and the Washington State Department of Transportation must establish an interagency EV coordinating council (Council) to advance transportation electrification. The Council must:

  • Develop a state-wide transportation electrification strategy;
  • Identify electric vehicle infrastructure grant-related funding;
  • Coordinate grant funding criteria across agency grant programs;
  • Develop a robust public and private outreach plan that includes engaging with community organizers and local governments;
  • Create an industry EV advisory committee;
  • Ensure the new strategies and programs benefit underserved communities; and,
  • Provide an annual report to legislature committees summarizing EV implementation progress, gaps, and resource needs.
(Reference Senate Bill 5974, 2022)

Support for Interagency Collaboration on Hydrogen Development – added 4/11/2022

The Washington Department of Commerce must establish the Office of Renewable Energy (Office) to leverage, support, and collaborate with other state agencies to:

  • Accelerate market development by providing assistance along the entire life cycle of renewable fuel projects;
  • Support research on the development and deployment of renewable fuel and use of renewable and green electrolytic hydrogen;
  • Drive job creation, improve economic vitality, and support the transition to clean energy;
  • Enhance resiliency by using renewable fuels and green electrolytic hydrogen to support climate change mitigation and adaptations; and,
  • Partner with underserved communities to ensure communities equitably benefit from clean fuel efforts.
The Office must compile data regarding the use of renewable fuels and green electrolytic hydrogen in state operations, including motor vehicle fleets, the state ferry system, and non-road equipment.

(Reference Senate Bill 5910, 2022)

Electric Vehicle (EV) Deployment Goal – added 4/11/2022

All light-duty vehicles sold, purchased, or registered in Washington state must be EVs by model year 2030. The Interagency EV Coordinating Council must develop a plan for achieving this goal by December 31, 2022. (Reference Senate Bill 5689, 2022)

Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Policies for Multi-Unit Dwellings – added 4/11/2022

A common interest development, including a community apartment, condominium, and cooperative development, may not prohibit or restrict the installation or use of EV charging stations. These entities may put reasonable restrictions on EV charging stations, but the policies may not discourage or add obstacles to the use of EV charging stations. The EV charging station installer must obtain appropriate approvals from the common interest development association, comply with applicable architectural standards, engage a licensed installation contractor, provide a certificate of insurance, register the EV charging station with the association, meet health and building standards, and pay for the electricity usage, maintenance, and other costs associated with the EV charging station until it is removed by the homeowner. (Reference House Bill 1793, 2022, and Revised Code of Washington 46.32-46.39, 64.90)

Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Community Grant Program Authorization – added 4/11/2022

The Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT) is authorized to establish a grant program for by local governments, federally recognized tribal governments, or utilities to deploy EV charging stations in rural areas, office buildings, multi-unit dwellings, ports, schools and school districts, and state and local government offices. Preference will be given to direct current fast charging (DCFC) projects. (Reference Senate Bill 5693, 2022, and Revised Code of Washington 42.330.101 and 42.330.102)

Washington's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – updated 5/25/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Washington Department of Transportation (WSDOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Washington’s NEVI planning process, see the WSDOT Plan website.

West Virginia

Electric Vehicle (EV) Infrastructure Deployment Plan – updated 5/13/2022

The West Virginia Department of Transportation (WVDOT) must create an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) that describes how the state intends to use U.S. Department of Energy’s National Vehicle Infrastructure Program funds. The plan must consider future charging infrastructure needs of school systems, public transportation, local government entities, and other public and private users. The WVDOT must publish the Plan by July 1, 2022.

(Reference House Bill 4797, 2022 and West Virginia Code 17-30-1)

Wisconsin

Wisconsin's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 6/2/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Wisconsin’s NEVI planning process, see the WisDOT Electrification of Wisconsin website.

Wyoming

Wyoming's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning – added 5/5/2022

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Wyoming’s NEVI planning process, see the WYDOT NEVI Program website.

Public Utility Definition – updated 5/13/2022

An entity that owns, operates, leases, or controls electric vehicle charging stations is not defined as a public utility. (Reference Senate Bill 0035, 2022)

Compressed Natural Gas (CNG) Loans – added 5/13/2022

The Wyoming Business Council (Council) administers the Wyoming Partnership Challenge Loan Program to provide low interest matching loans to economic development organizations. The loan may not exceed 75% of the total project cost, up to $1,000,000. The Council may match up to 50% of the total project cost. For more information, including a loan application, see the Council’s Partnership Challenge Loan Program website. (Reference Wyoming Statutes 9-12-301 through 9-12-304)