Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebate Program

The Maryland Energy Administration (MEA) offers a rebate to individuals, businesses, multi-unit dwellings (MUDs), and state or local government entities for the costs of acquiring and installing qualified EV charging stations. Between July 1, 2022, and June 30, 2023, the rebate may cover 40% of the costs of acquiring and installing qualified EV charging stations, or up to the following amounts:

Qualified Entity Amount per EV Charging Station
Residential $700
Businesses, Nonprofits, Workplaces, MUDs, and State or Local Government Entities $5,000

Applicants must demonstrate compliance with state, local, and/or federal law that applies to the installation or operation of qualified EV charging stations. Other requirements may apply. MEA may award up to $1,800,000 total. Each entity that applies for a commercial rebate may receive up to 18% of the total program budget per fiscal year. Rebates will be awarded on a first-come, first-served basis. For more information, see the MEA Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment Rebate Program website.

(Reference Maryland Statutes, Business Regulation Code 10-101, Maryland Statutes, State Government Code 9-2009, and House Bill 550, 2023)

Jurisdiction: Maryland

Type: State Incentives

Enacted: May 5, 2014

Amended: May 4, 2017

Technologies: EVs, PHEVs

See all Maryland Laws and Incentives.