Maryland Laws and Incentives

Listed below are incentives, laws, and regulations related to alternative fuels and advanced vehicles for Maryland. Your local Clean Cities and Communities coalition, Maryland Clean Cities Coalition, can provide you with information about grants and other opportunities. You can also access coalition and other agency contact information in the points of contact section.

Filter by Technology/Fuel

Filter by Utility

Laws and Incentives

Information in this list is updated throughout the year and comprehensively reviewed annually after Maryland's legislative session ends.
Last Comprehensive Review: April 2024

State Incentives

Utility/Private Incentives

Laws and Regulations

Expired, Repealed, and Archived Laws and Incentives

View a list of expired, repealed, and archived laws and incentives in Maryland.

Points of Contact

Get contact information for Clean Cities and Communities coalitions or agencies that can help you with clean transportation laws, incentives, and funding opportunities in Maryland.

Clean Cities and Communities Coalitions

Maryland is home to the following coalitions:

Legislative Session Information

The Maryland Legislature meets annually from early January to early April. The governor must sign or veto legislation within six days of transmittal or the legislation becomes law without signature. During the last seven days of the session or after adjournment, the governor must sign or veto legislation within 30 days of transmittal, or the legislation becomes law without signature. Legislation must be transmitted to the governor within 20 days of the session adjournment.