Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV) Rebate Program Authorization
The Massachusetts Department of Energy Resources (DOER) must establish a rebate program for the purchase or lease of ZEVs. Rebates between $3,500 and $5,000 must be available for the purchase or lease of new or pre-owned light-duty ZEVs. Eligible light-duty ZEVs may not have a purchase price above $55,000. DOER must also offer a rebate of at least $4,500 for the purchase or lease of medium- or heavy-duty ZEVs or for the trade-in of a light-duty internal combustion engine vehicle for the purchase of a light-duty ZEV. DOER must offer low-income residents an additional rebate of $1,500. Eligible applicants include residents, corporate fleets, and tribal entities.
DOER must publish rebate program data annually and assess program effectiveness in reducing greenhouse gas emissions on a triennial basis. DOER may promulgate regulations to ensure effective program implementation. Additional requirements apply.
Type: Laws and Regulations
Enacted: Aug 11, 2022
Technologies: EVs, Hydrogen Fuel Cells
See all Massachusetts Laws and Incentives.