Massachusetts Laws and Incentives

Listed below are incentives, laws, and regulations related to alternative fuels and advanced vehicles for Massachusetts. Your local Clean Cities and Communities coalition, Massachusetts Clean Cities, can provide you with information about grants and other opportunities. You can also access coalition and other agency contact information in the points of contact section.

Filter by Technology/Fuel

Filter by Utility

Laws and Incentives

Information in this list is updated throughout the year and comprehensively reviewed annually after Massachusetts's legislative session ends.
Last Comprehensive Review: October 2023

State Incentives

Utility/Private Incentives

Laws and Regulations

Expired, Repealed, and Archived Laws and Incentives

View a list of expired, repealed, and archived laws and incentives in Massachusetts.

Points of Contact

Get contact information for Clean Cities and Communities coalitions or agencies that can help you with clean transportation laws, incentives, and funding opportunities in Massachusetts.

Clean Cities and Communities Coalitions

Massachusetts is home to the following coalitions:

Legislative Session Information

The Massachusetts Legislature meets continuously with new sessions starting in early January. The governor must sign or veto legislation within 10 days after transmittal or the bill becomes law without signature. If legislation is transmitted within the last 10 days of the session and the governor does not act, the bill is pocket vetoed.