Electric Vehicle (EV) Registration Fee

Beginning September 1, 2023, in addition to standard vehicle registration fees, new EV owners must pay a first-time registration fee of $400. After the first-time registration fee, the fee for EV registration renewal is $200. Fees contribute to the State Highway Fund.

(Reference Texas Senate Bill 505, 2023 and Texas Statutes, Transportation Code 502.198(a))

Jurisdiction: Texas

Type: Laws and Regulations

Enacted: May 13, 2022

Technologies: EVs

See all Texas Laws and Incentives.