Electric Vehicle (EV) Road Usage Charge Program

Beginning July 1, 2025, the owner of an EV may elect to pay an annual mileage-based road usage fee in lieu of paying an additional registration fee. The fee is $0.08 per mile, up to $50 per year.

Beginning June 30, 2028, the additional registration fee expires, and all EV owners must pay the state mileage-based road usage charge. Additional conditions apply. For more information, see the Hawaii Department of Transportation Road Usage Charge Demonstration website.

(Reference Senate Bill 1534, 2023)

Jurisdiction: Hawaii

Type: Laws and Regulations

Enacted: Jul 5, 2023

Technologies: EVs

See all Hawaii Laws and Incentives.