Alternative Fuels Tax and Vehicle Decal
Fuel tax exemptions are granted for natural gas and liquefied petroleum gas (propane) vehicle owners. Owners of natural gas and propane vehicles must purchase an annual tax decal from the Colorado Department of Revenue or a decal vendor as follows:
|Gross Vehicle Weight Rating||Annual License Tax Fee|
|1-10,000 pounds (lbs.)||$70|
|Over 16,000 lbs.||$125|
All natural gas and propane vehicles must display a current fuel tax decal. Non-profit transit agencies are exempt from the fuel tax.
(Reference Colorado Revised Statutes 39-27-102.5)