Low-Speed Vehicle Access to Roadways

A low-speed vehicle is defined as a four-wheeled vehicle that can reach speeds of at least 20 miles per hour (mph) but not more than 25 mph. Low-speed vehicles may not operate on roads with posted speed limits greater than 35 mph, except to cross such roads. Low-speed vehicles must be registered with the state; vehicles owned and used by the federal government, the state, or another state are exempt from registration fees.

(Reference North Dakota Century Code 39-29.1)

Jurisdiction: North Dakota

Type: Laws and Regulations

Amended: Apr 21, 2009

Technologies: NEVs

See all North Dakota Laws and Incentives.