Low-Speed Electric Vehicle (EV) Access to Roadways

A low-speed EV may operate only on highways with posted speed limits up to 25 miles per hour (mph) and may not cross a highway with a posted speed limit greater than 45 mph. A low-speed EV must have four wheels, reach speeds of at least 20 mph but not more than 40 mph, and may only be operated by a person with a low-speed restricted driver’s license. A low-speed EV must comply with Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations, section 565.

(Reference Montana Code Annotated 61-1-101, 61-5-122, 61-8-378)

Jurisdiction: Montana

Type: Laws and Regulations

Enacted: Apr 18, 2011

Technologies: NEVs

See all Montana Laws and Incentives.