Low-Speed Vehicle Access to Roadways

Low-speed vehicles may only travel on roadways with a posted speed limit of up to 35 miles per hour (mph) but may cross highways with a posted speed limit of over 35 mph. A low-speed vehicle is any four-wheeled motor vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of up to 3,000 pounds and a top speed of at least 20 mph but not more than 25 mph. A low-speed vehicle must be manufactured in compliance with federal standards for low-speed vehicles as referenced in Title 49 of the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations, section 571.500.

(Reference Nebraska Revised Statutes 60-119.01 and 60-6,380)

Jurisdiction: Nebraska

Type: Laws and Regulations

Enacted: May 24, 2011

Technologies: NEVs

See all Nebraska Laws and Incentives.