Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) Registration

In addition to standard registration fees, AFV owners must pay a registration fee of $150 and plug-in hybrid electric vehicle owners must pay an annual fee of $75. An AFV is defined as a vehicle that operates on electricity, solar power, or any other source of energy not otherwise taxed under the state motor fuel tax laws. Compressed natural gas, liquefied natural gas, and propane are not subject to this requirement.

(Reference Legislative Bill 1317, 2024 and Nebraska Revised Statutes 60-306 and 60-3,191)

Jurisdiction: Nebraska

Type: Laws and Regulations

Enacted: May 24, 2011

Amended: Apr 25, 2024

Technologies: EVs, PHEVs

See all Nebraska Laws and Incentives.