Alaska Laws and Incentives
Listed below are the summaries of all current Alaska laws, incentives, regulations, funding opportunities, and other initiatives related to alternative fuels and vehicles, advanced technologies, or air quality. You can go directly to summaries of:
Alaska's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning
The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities (DOT&PF) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.
For more information about Alaska’s NEVI planning process, see the Alaska Energy Authority Electric Vehicle Implementation Plan website. For more information about Alaska’s NEVI plan, see the Joint Office’s State Plans for EV Charging website.
Idle Reduction Weight Exemption
A commercial vehicle equipped with qualified idle reduction technology may exceed the state’s gross, total axle, or bridge formula vehicle weight limits by up to 550 pounds to compensate for the additional weight of the idle reduction technology. Upon request, vehicle operators must be able to provide written proof of idle reduction technology weight and demonstrate or certify that that the idle reduction technology is fully functional at all times.
Residential Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Credit – Chugach Electric Association (CEA)
CEA provides eligible residential customers a $200 bill credit per residential EV charging station, up to two per household, for sharing information on EVs, EV charging stations, and average miles driven per year. For more information, including eligibility requirements, see the CEA Electric Vehicles page.
Commercial Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebates - Chugach Electric Association (CEA)
CEA offers rebates to commercial customers for the purchase and installation of Level 2 and direct current fast charging (DCFC) stations. Rebates are available in the following amounts:
|Applicant Type||Rebate Amounts|
|Commercial DCFC||Up to $5,000 per EV charging station; up to $10,000 per location|
|Commercial Level 2||Up to $1,000 per EV charging station; up to $2,000 per location|
Fleet recipients must agree to share observations with CEA regarding the use and economy of an EV in their fleet. Workplace recipients must agree to provide information about the usage of EV charging stations with CEA for 36 months after installation. Commercial recipients must agree to install and own the charging stations. For more information, including eligibility requirements, see the CEA EV page.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Rebate – Alaska Power and Telephone (AP&T)
AP&T offers a rebate of $1,000 to residential customers who own a new or pre-owned EV, including electric motorcycles, with a minimum battery size of at least 16 kilowatts. For more information, see the AP&T Amp-Up website.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Time-of-Use (TOU) Rate – Alaska Electric Light & Power (AELP)
AELP offers a TOU rate to residential customers that own or lease EVs with batteries greater than 16 kilowatts. For more information, see the AELP Electric Vehicle website.
Laws and Regulations
Ethanol Fuel Blend Tax Rate
The tax rate on fuel containing ethanol is $0.06 per gallon less than the tax rate on other motor fuels in certain geographic areas. This reduced rate is in effect during months ethanol fuel blends must be sold, transferred, or used to operate motor vehicles to reduce carbon monoxide emissions and attain federal or state air quality standards.
(Reference Alaska Statutes 43.40.010)
Low-Speed Vehicle Access to Roadways
Low-speed vehicles are only permitted on highways with speed limits up to 35 miles per hour (mph) or up to 45 mph in some municipalities or boroughs. Low-speed vehicles may cross highways that have maximum speed limits greater than 35 mph at an intersection with a highway that allows low-speed vehicle use. Operators of low-speed vehicles are subject to all traffic laws and other laws applicable to operators of passenger vehicles, including a biennial registration fee. For purposes of this regulation, a low-speed vehicle is a motor vehicle that has four wheels, can achieve speeds greater than 20 mph but not more than 25 mph, and meets state and federal weight, equipment, and safety requirements.
Alternative Fuel Vehicle Acquisition Requirement
The Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities (Department) must evaluate the cost, efficiency, and commercial availability of alternative fuels for automotive purposes every five years, and purchase or convert to vehicles that operate using alternative fuels whenever practical. The Department may participate in joint ventures with public or private partners to foster the availability of alternative fuels for consumers.
(Reference Alaska Statutes 44.42.020)
State Energy Policy
As part of its state energy policy, Alaska must promote energy efficiency in the transportation sector.
(Reference Alaska Statutes 44.99.115)
Public Utility Definition
Entities providing electric vehicle charging stations are not defined as public utilities and are not subject to restrictions on the resale of electric service.
(Reference Regulatory Commission of Alaska U-21-022(2))
Energy and Resilience Project Support
Municipalities may establish energy and resilience improvement assessment programs to finance energy and resilience improvement projects. Eligible projects include construction, installation, or modification of electric vehicle charging stations in building renovations, new construction, or existing commercial and industrial properties.