Missouri Laws and Incentives
Listed below are the summaries of all current Missouri laws, incentives, regulations, funding opportunities, and other initiatives related to alternative fuels and vehicles, advanced technologies, or air quality. You can go directly to summaries of:
Missouri's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning
The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT) to submit an annual EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office of Energy and Transportation (Joint Office) , describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. The submitted plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.
Biodiesel Retailer Tax Credit
Retail dealers that sell biodiesel fuel blends at a retail service station or distributors that sell a biodiesel blend directly to users are eligible for a state tax credit. Biodiesel blends containing a minimum of 5% biodiesel (B5) are eligible for a tax credit of $0.02 per gallon. Biodiesel blends containing a minimum of 11% biodiesel (B11) are eligible for a tax credit of $0.05 per gallon. The tax credit is refundable. Additional requirements apply.
(Reference Missouri Revised Statutes 135.775)
Natural Gas Vehicle (NGV) and Idle Reduction Weight Exemption
Any vehicle equipped with qualified idle reduction technology may exceed the state’s gross and axle weight limits by up to 550 pounds to compensate for the additional weight of the idle reduction technology. The vehicle operator must be able to provide proof of the weight of the idle reduction technology and that it is fully functional at all times.
A vehicle primarily powered by natural gas may exceed the state’s gross vehicle weight limits by a weight equal to the difference between the weight of the vehicle with the natural gas tank and fueling system and the weight of a comparable vehicle with a diesel tank and fueling system. The NGV maximum gross weight may not exceed 82,000 pounds.
(Reference Missouri Revised Statutes 304.180)
Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) Emissions Inspection Exemption
Vehicles powered exclusively by electricity, including hydrogen or fuels other than gasoline that are exempt from motor vehicle emissions inspection under federal regulation, are exempt from state emissions inspection requirements. (Reference Missouri Revised Statutes 643.315)
Propane Equipment Exemption
An individual that operates a propane fueling station equipped with a quick-connect nozzle may sell propane without verifying that vehicles re-fueling at the station have a valid Missouri alternative fuel decal, as long as the appropriate motor fuel tax is collected at the time of fueling. (Reference Missouri Revised Statutes142.869)
Biodiesel and Ethanol Infrastructure Grants
The Missouri Department of Agriculture (MDA) offers business grants for the development, construction, installation, upgrade, or retrofit of biofuel infrastructure. Ethanol blends must be 15% ethanol (E15) or higher and biodiesel blends must be 6% biodiesel (B6) or higher. Funding is available in the following amounts:
|Tier Level||Applicant Type||Allocation of Funds||Application Fee||Maximum Grant (whichever is less)|
|Tier 1||Terminal company, fuel distributor, or fuel retailer||75%||$500||50% or $500.000|
|Tier 2||Any fuel retailer with five or less stations, fleet operations, or individual businesses||$25||$300||75% or $250,000|
For more information, including eligibility and how to apply, see MDA’s Biofuel Infrastructure Incentive Program website.
Ethanol Retailer Tax Credit
Retailers that sell ethanol fuel blends containing between 15% ethanol (E15) and 85% ethanol (E85) directly to users are eligible for a state tax credit of $0.05 per gallon. The tax credit may not exceed the taxpayer’s liability for the taxable year and each year’s unused credit amount may be carried forward for up to five taxable years. Additional requirements apply.
Utility / Private Incentives
Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Incentives - Ameren Missouri
Ameren Missouri’s Charge Ahead program offers competitive incentives to non-residential customers for the installation of Level 2 EV charging stations or direct current fast charging (DCFC) stations at qualifying workplaces, multi-unit dwellings (MUDs), and public areas. Sites must be located in Ameren Missouri’s service territory and require no electrical upgrades. Incentives are available in the following amounts, or up to 50% of total project costs, whichever is less:
|EV Charging Station Site||Maximum Number of Level 2 Ports||Maximum Number of DCFC Chargers||Maximum Incentive Amount|
Applicants may receive up to $500,000. Incentives are available on a first-come, first-served basis. Applications for incentives will be accepted until September 30, 2022, or until funding is exhausted, whichever is earlier.
Additional terms and conditions apply for each incentive program. For more information, including funding availability, see the Ameren Missouri Electric Vehicles Website.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebate – Evergy
Evergy offers a $500 rebate for the purchase and installation of a Level 2 EV charging station to qualified residential customers that purchase or lease an EV and enroll in a time-of-use rate. For more information, see the Evergy EV Charging Rebate website.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebate – Kirkwood Electric
Kirkwood Electric offers residential and business customers a $300 rebate for the installation of a Level 2 EV charging station. Applicants are limited to one rebate per location annually. For more information, see the Kirkwood Electric Energy Efficiency website.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Infrastructure Support
Missouri utilities joined the National Electric Highway Coalition (NEHC), committing to create a network of direct current fast charging (DCFC) stations connecting major highway systems from the Atlantic Coast to the Pacific of the United States. NEHC utility members agree to ensure efficient and effective fast charging deployment plans that enable long distance EV travel, avoiding duplication among coalition utilities, and complement existing corridor DCFC sites. For more information, including a list of participating utilities and states, see the NEHC website.
Laws and Regulations
Public Utility Definition
An entity that sells, leases, owns, controls, operates, or manages an electric vehicle charging station, other than those that engage in the production or sale of wholesale electricity, is not considered an electric corporation.
(Reference Missouri Revised Statutes 386.020)
Renewable Fuel Distributor and Vehicle Manufacturer Liability Protection
Renewable fuel refiners, suppliers, terminals, wholesalers, distributors, retailers, and motor vehicle manufacturers and dealers are not liable for property damages related to a customer’s purchase of renewable fuel, including blends, if the consumer selected the fuel for use. Motor fuel blended with any amount of renewable fuel will not be considered a defective product provided the fuel compiles with motor fuel quality regulations.
(Reference Missouri Revised Statutes 414.255)
Ethanol Blend Mandate
All gasoline offered for sale at retail stations within the state must contain 10% ethanol (E10). This requirement is waived only if a distributor is unable to purchase ethanol or ethanol-blended gasoline at the same or lower price as unblended gasoline. Premium gasoline is exempt from this requirement. Ethanol is defined as fuel that is derived from an agricultural source and that meets ASTM Standard D4806.
(Reference Missouri Revised Statutes 414.255)
Alternative Fuel Tax
Compressed natural gas (CNG) used as a vehicle fuel is taxed on a gasoline gallon equivalent (GGE) basis as follows:
- $0.11 per GGE from January 1, 2020, until December 31, 2024; and,
- $0.17 per GGE from January 1, 2025, and beyond.
Liquefied natural gas (LNG) used as a vehicle fuel is taxed on a diesel gallon equivalent (DGE) basis as follows:
- $0.11 per DGE from January 1, 2020, until December 31, 2024; and,
- $0.17 per DGE from January 1, 2025, and beyond.
Liquefied petroleum gas (propane) used as a vehicle fuel is taxed on a gasoline gallon basis as follows:
- $0.11 per gallon from January 1, 2020, until December 31, 2024; and,
- $0.17 per gallon from January 1, 2025, and beyond.
In the absence of a National Institute of Standards and Technology definition of GGE, a GGE will be equal to 5.66 pounds (lbs) of natural gas for CNG and a DGE will be equal to 6.06 lbs. for LNG. If natural gas is used for fueling vehicles as well as for another use, such as home heating, the tax applies to the entire amount of natural gas consumed, unless the Missouri Department of Revenue approves a separate meter and accounting system.
(Reference Missouri Revised Statutes 142.803 and 142.869)
Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) Decal
The state motor fuel tax does not apply to passenger vehicles, certain buses, or commercial vehicles that are powered by an alternative fuel, if the vehicles obtain an AFV decal. Owners or operators of AFVs that also own or operate a personal fueling station must pay an annual alternative fuel decal fee, as listed below. Alternative fuel motor vehicles licensed as historic vehicles are exempt from the alternative fuel decal requirement.
|Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW)||Type of Vehicle||Decal Fee|
|18,000 pounds (lbs.) or less||Passenger, School Bus, or Commercial||$75|
|18,001 lbs.-36,000 lbs.||Farm or Farming Transportation with an ‘F’ License Plate||$100|
|18,001 lbs.-36,000 lbs.||Passenger-Carrying and Other Motor Vehicles||$150|
|36,000 lbs. or more||Farm or Farming Transportation with an ‘F’ License Plate||$250|
|36,000 lbs. or more||All Other Motor Vehicles||$1,000|
The decal fee for plug-in hybrid electric vehicles model year 2018 and later is one-half of the annual decal fees listed above for their corresponding vehicle type and GVW.
Owners and operators of passenger motor vehicles, buses, or commercial motor vehicles that are powered by compressed natural gas (CNG), liquefied natural gas (LNG), or liquefied petroleum gas (propane), may continue to apply for and use the alternative fuel decal in lieu of paying the CNG, LNG, and/or propane tax, as long as the they have installed a fueling station used solely to fuel his or her vehicle(s). If an owner or operator of a motor vehicle powered by propane that bears an alternative fuel decal refuels at an unattended propane fueling station, such owner or operator shall not be eligible for a refund of the motor fuel tax paid at the time of refueling. For more information, see the Missouri Department of Revenue Special Fuel Decals website.
(Reference Missouri Revised Statutes 142.803 and 142.869)
Propane License Requirement
Any individual that transports, handles, or sells propane at retail, or is in the business of installing or modifying related equipment, must first register with the Missouri Department of Agriculture. (Reference Missouri Code of State Regulations 2CSR 90-10.012).
Low-Speed Vehicle Access to Roadways
A low-speed vehicle is defined as a four-wheeled vehicle with a maximum speed of 25 miles per hour (mph) that is manufactured in compliance with safety standards specified in Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations, section 571.500. A low-speed vehicle may not operate on a street or highway with a posted speed limit greater than 35 mph. (Reference Missouri Revised Statutes 304.029)
(Reference Missouri Revised Statutes 304.029)
Biodiesel Use Requirement
At least 75% of the Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT) vehicles and heavy equipment that use diesel fuel must be fueled with biodiesel blends of at least 20% (B20), if such fuel is commercially available. The blended biodiesel fuel will be considered commercially available if the incremental purchase cost compared to conventional diesel fuel is not more than $0.25. To the maximum extent practicable, MoDOT may obtain funding for the incremental cost of the blended biodiesel fuel from the state’s Biodiesel Fuel Revolving Fund.
(Reference Missouri Revised Statutes 414.365 and 414.407)
Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) Acquisition and Alternative Fuel Use Requirements
A state agency that operates a vehicle fleet consisting of 15 vehicles or more must ensure that at least 50% of new vehicles purchased over a defined biennial period are capable of operating using an alternative fuel. Excess acquisitions of AFVs may be credited towards future biennial goals. If a state agency fails to meet a biennial acquisition goal, purchases of any non-AFVs are not permitted until the goals are met or an exemption or goal reduction has been granted. In addition, 30% of the fuel purchased annually for use in operating state fleet vehicles must be alternative fuels.
(Reference Missouri Revised Statutes 414.4365and 414.407)
Alternative Fuel Promotion
The Missouri Alternative Fuels Commission (Commission) promotes the continued production and use of alternative transportation fuels in Missouri. The Commission submits a report annually to the governor and general assembly that includes: - Recommendations on changes to state law to facilitate the sale and distribution of alternative fuels and alternative fuel vehicles (AFV); - Promotes the development, sale, distribution, and consumption of alternative fuels; - Promotes the development and use of AFVs and technology that will enhance the use of alternative and renewable fuels; - Educates consumers about alternative fuels; and, - Develops a long-range plan for the state to reduce consumption of petroleum fuels.
For more information, see the Missouri Alternative Fuels Commission website.
(Reference Missouri Revised Statutes 414.420)