New Hampshire Laws and Incentives
Listed below are the summaries of all current New Hampshire laws, incentives, regulations, funding opportunities, and other initiatives related to alternative fuels and vehicles, advanced technologies, or air quality. You can go directly to summaries of:
New Hampshire's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning
The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the New Hampshire Department of Transportation (NHDOT) to submit an annual EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office of Energy and Transportation (Joint Office), describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. The submitted plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.
For more information about New Hampshire’s NEVI planning process, see the NHDOT Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure website. To review New Hampshire’s NEVI plan, see the Joint Office State Plans for EV Charging website.
Diesel Emissions Reduction Grants
The New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services (NHDES) provides U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Diesel Emissions Reduction Act (DERA) funding for projects that reduce diesel emissions in New Hampshire. Funding for up to 100% of eligible project costs is available for businesses, individuals, and local or state agencies that reduce diesel emissions by converting engines to alternative fuels, retrofitting exhaust controls, purchasing new vehicles, or adding idle reduction equipment. Eligible alternative fuels include propane, compressed natural gas, and electricity. Grants will be awarded on a competitive basis, with equity and environmental justice considerations as part of the evaluation criteria. For more information, including funding amounts and how to apply, see the NHDES New Hampshire DERA Project website.
Idle Reduction Weight Exemption
Any heavy-duty vehicle equipped with an auxiliary power unit or other qualified idle reduction technology may exceed the state gross, axle, tandem, or bridge formula weight limits by up to 550 pounds. To qualify for this exemption, drivers must be able to provide proof of the idle reduction technology’s weight through written certification. Drivers must also be able to prove through demonstration or certification that the idle reduction technology is fully functional at all times.
(Reference New Hampshire Revised Statutes 266:18-c)
Utility / Private Incentives
Commercial Electric Vehicle Charging Station Incentives - New Hampshire Electric Co-op (NHEC)
NHEC offers commercial and municipal customers a rebate for 75% of the cost, up to $2,500, to purchase and install Level 2 or direct current fast charging stations. For more information, see the NHEC Drive Electric website.
Residential Electric Vehicle (EV) Rebates - New Hampshire Electric Co-op (NHEC)
NHEC offers residential customers a rebate of $1,000 for the purchase or lease of a new or used electric vehicle, $600 for the purchase or lease of a new or pre-owned plug-in hybrid electric vehicle, and $300 for the purchase or lease of a new or pre-owned electric motorcycle. EVs must be purchased or leased between January 1, 2023, and December 31, 2023. For more information, including how to apply, see the NHEC Drive Electric website.
Residential Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebates - New Hampshire Electric Co-op (NHEC)
NHEC offers residential customers a rebate of $300 to install a Level 2 EV charging station. Customers may receive a maximum of two rebates. For more information, including eligibility requirements and how to apply, see the NHEC Drive Electric website.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Time-Of-Use (TOU) Rate - New Hampshire Electric Co-op (NHEC)
NHEC offers a TOU rate to residential customers that own or lease an EV. Customers must be able to separately meter EV charging. For more information, see the NHEC Drive Electric website.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Infrastructure Support
New Hampshire utilities joined the National Electric Highway Coalition (NEHC), committing to create a network of direct current fast charging (DCFC) stations connecting major highway systems from the Atlantic Coast to the Pacific of the United States. NEHC utility members agree to ensure efficient and effective fast charging deployment plans that enable long distance EV travel, avoiding duplication among coalition utilities, and complement existing corridor DCFC sites. For more information, including a list of participating utilities and states, see the NEHC website.
Laws and Regulations
Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station and Hydrogen Fueling Station Signage
The New Hampshire Department of Transportation (DOT) must coordinate with the U.S. Department of Transportation Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) to ensure that EV charging station signage on federal highways in the state is uniform. In addition, DOT must develop signage for EV charging stations and hydrogen fueling stations that is consistent with FHWA’s Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices for use on state roads.
(Reference New Hampshire Revise Statutes 236:133)
Public Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Requirements and Restriction Authorization
EV charging stations that are available for public use must meet the following requirements:
- If publicly funded by a settlement, federal or other competitive grant program, or the Volkswagen (VW) Trust, the charging station must be equipped to enable universal access, as defined by the New Hampshire Department of Transportation;
- If the owner or operator requires payment for use of the EV charging station, the station must accept multiple payment options; and;
- The charging station may not require users to pay a subscription fee or obtain a membership at any organization to use the equipment.
An owner or operator of public EV charging stations may impose restrictions on the amount of time that an EV may charge at the station. In addition, the owner or operator must disclose the location and characteristics of each EV charging station to the U.S. Department of Energy’s Alternative Fuels Data Center. Information that must be disclosed includes, but is not limited to, address, voltage, and timing restrictions.
Public Utility Definition
An owner of electric vehicle supply equipment is not defined as a utility, public utility, or public service company.
(Reference New Hampshire Revise Statutes 236:133)
Electric Vehicle (EV) Parking Requirement
An individual may not park a motor vehicle in a parking space equipped with a public electric vehicle charging station unless the vehicle is an EV.
(Reference New Hampshire Revise Statutes 236:134)
Autonomous Vehicle (AV) Testing and Deployment Pilot Program
The Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) must establish a pilot program to test AV technologies on public roads in New Hampshire. A testing entity may test automated driving system equipped vehicles, with or without a test driver, on public roads if they have been approved by the DMV. The DMV provides regular updates on the AV testing pilot program to the transportation council.
(Reference New Hampshire Revised Statutes 242:1)
Fossil Fuel Use Reduction
The state must reduce aggregate fossil fuel use across all state-owned facilities by 30% by 2020, 40% by 2025, and 50% by 2030, as compared to a 2005 baseline. A State Government Energy Committee (SGEC) will advise the state energy manager and state fleet manager about energy management within state buildings, operations, and fleets. The state passenger vehicle fleet must reduce fossil fuel use by 30% by 2030 compared to the 2010 baseline. The state energy manager, state fleet manager, and SGEC have developed performance metrics, and agencies and departments report on progress annually in the Annual Energy Report.
(Reference Executive Order 2016-03)
State Agency Electric Vehicle (EV) and EV Charging Station Procurement
The state must pursue EV procurement opportunities for in the state fleet and install EV charging stations for use by state agencies. Where feasible and recommended by the State Government Energy Committee, state offices with more than 50 employees may also make EV charging stations available for employees, as long as energy cost is reimbursed by users.
(Reference Executive Order 2016-03)
School District Emissions Reduction Policies
School districts must develop and implement a policy to minimize or eliminate emissions from school buses, cars, delivery vehicles, maintenance vehicles, and other motor vehicles used on school property. Policies must consider existing anti-idling and clean air zone regulations established by the New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services.
(Reference New Hampshire Revised Statutes 200:48)
Biodiesel Blend Purchase Requirement
Diesel fuel that the New Hampshire Department of Transportation (DOT) purchases through the Motor Fuel Inventory Fund must contain at least 5% biodiesel (B5). Compliance with this requirement is at DOT’s discretion only if the fuel is unavailable or more expensive than 100% petroleum diesel. DOT is encouraged to purchase diesel fuel containing up to 20% biodiesel (B20) when the fuel is acceptable for use. DOT may sell the fuel to all state departments and institutions, political subdivisions of the state, eligible non-profit corporations under contract with DOT to transport the general public, and federal government agencies.
(Reference New Hampshire Revised Statutes 228:24-a)
Biodiesel is a renewable special fuel that is composed of mono-alkyl esters of long chain fatty acids, derived from vegetable oils or animal fats, and meets the requirements of the ASTM Standard D6751.
(Reference New Hampshire Revised Statutes 259:6-a)
Biodiesel Distributor License and Recordkeeping Requirements
Any person who refines, distills, prepares, blends, manufactures, or purchases biodiesel on which the road tax has not been paid and who is not a licensed and bonded distributor must become licensed with the New Hampshire Department of Safety (NHDOS). An annual license fee of $25 applies. Any licensed biodiesel refiner, distiller, blender, manufacturer, or purchaser of more than 10,000 gallons of biodiesel per month must file a bond with NHDOS. All biodiesel distributors must maintain and keep records for a period of four years to verify all biodiesel sold within the state meets ASTM Standard D6751 specifications. Failure to demonstrate compliance may result in loss of the license.
Alternative Fuel Dealer License
Any person who sells natural gas and propane on which the road tax has not been paid and who is not licensed and bonded must become licensed through the New Hampshire Department of Safety. The alternative fuel dealer must collect and remit road taxes and will be subject to a penalty for noncompliance. Failure to obtain a license and demonstrate compliance may result in fines and loss of the license, respectively.
Low Emission Vehicle Road Toll Study
The state legislature must establish a commission to study revenue alternatives to the road toll for electric, hybrid, and fuel-efficient vehicles. The commission must, among other things, study the impact that fuel-efficient vehicle technologies have on the environment, track current road toll revenues, and analyze relevant programs in other states. The commission must report its findings and recommendations on or before November 1, 2023.
(Reference House Bill 412, 2023)
Alternative Fuels Road Tax
Alternative fuels including, but not limited to, natural gas or propane sold by a licensed alternative fuel dealer and used in on-road vehicles are subject to a $0.222 per gallon equivalent road tax. The New Hampshire Department of Safety will define rules for the applicable conversion rates for natural gas and propane based on nationally recognized standards for weights and measures. Certain exemptions apply, including sales to government entities, between duly licensed distributors, and sales of exported motor fuel. For taxation purposes, electricity is not considered an alternative fuel. For more information, see the Road Toll Bureau website.
Idle Reduction Requirement
The owner or operator of a diesel-powered vehicle must limit the length of time their vehicle remains idle. The limit is based on the outside temperature, as follows: above 32 degrees Fahrenheit, 5-minute limit in any 60-minute period; between 32 and -10 degrees Fahrenheit, 15 minute limit in any 60-minute period; below -10 degrees Fahrenheit, no limit. Certain vehicles are exempt from the regulation, including vehicles in traffic, emergency vehicles, vehicles providing power take-off for refrigeration or lift gate pumps, vehicles idling for required maintenance or diagnostic purposes, and vehicles supplying heat or air conditioning for passenger comfort during transportation.
Neighborhood Electric Vehicle (NEV) Access to Roadways
A NEV is any four-wheel electric vehicle capable of achieving a top speed between 20 and 25 miles per hour (mph) and complies with the federal equipment and safety standards in Title 49 of the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations, section 571.500. NEVs may only operate on roads that have a posted speed limit of 35 mph or less, but are not restricted from crossing roadways with speeds limits greater than 35 mph.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Funding Study
The New Hampshire Legislature must establish a committee to study funding mechanisms for EV charging stations. The committee, among other things, must:
- Review currently available funding for EV charging stations;
- Identify additional, and determine the feasibility of, non-ratepayer sources of funding for EV charging stations; and,
Review non-ratepayer funding mechanisms for EV charging stations utilized in other states.
The committee must report its findings and any policy recommendations by November 1, 2024.
(Reference Senate Bill 52, 2023)
Hydrogen Development Support
The New Hampshire Department of Energy must establish a Hydrogen Advisory Committee (Committee). The Committee, among other things, must:
- Identify opportunities to integrate hydrogen in the transportation, energy, industrial, and other sectors;
- Consider the construction of a dedicated hydrogen pipeline or network of pipelines to support power generation, transportation, manufacturing, and energy storage facilities; and,
Consider facilities that result in the blending of hydrogen into existing natural gas transmission and distribution systems that serve transportation and other uses.
The Committee must publish a report of its activities, findings, and recommendations by October 1 of each year.
(Reference House Bill 139, 2023)
State Energy Strategy Development
The New Hampshire Office of Energy Planning (Office), in consultation with the New Hampshire Energy Advisory Council, prepared a 10-year energy strategy for the state that addresses the impact of transportation policies and programs on electricity energy needs in the state in 2018. Strategy recommendations include enabling and encouraging adoption of electric vehicles and reducing unnecessary idling. The Office will review and update the strategy triennially. For more information, including the strategy, visit the Strategy Revision website.
(Reference New Hampshire Revised Statutes 12-P:7-A)
Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Program Development Authorization
The New Hampshire Public Utilities Commission and the New Hampshire Department of Energy may establish requirements, standards, and rate mechanisms for net metering, advanced metering, time-based electricity rates, demand response practices, and EV charging programs. Additional requirements apply.
(Reference Senate Bill 166, 2023)
Low Carbon Fuel Standards (LCFS) Program Regulation
New Hampshire must receive legislative and executive council approval to participate in any state, regional, or national LCFS program or similar program that requires quotas, caps, or mandates on any transportation, industrial, or home heating fuels. The New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services may participate in regional or national LCFS discussions and report all expenses incurred as a result of those discussions.
(Reference New Hampshire Revised Statutes 21-O:23)
Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging for Renters Study
The New Hampshire Legislature must establish a committee to study opportunities to provide accessible EV charging for residential renters. The committee must report its findings and recommendations by November 1, 2023.
(Reference House Bill 111, 2023)
Electric Vehicle (EV) Fee
In addition to standard vehicle registration fees, EV owners must pay an annual fee of $100 and plug-in hybrid electric vehicle owners must pay an annual fee of $50.
(Reference House Bill 2, 2023)