Nevada Laws and Incentives
Listed below are the summaries of all current Nevada laws, incentives, regulations, funding opportunities, and other initiatives related to alternative fuels and vehicles, advanced technologies, or air quality. You can go directly to summaries of:
Heavy-Duty Vehicle Emissions Reduction Grants
The Nevada Division of Environmental Protection (NDEP) administers Nevada's portion of the Volkswagen (VW) Environmental Mitigation Trust through the Nevada Diesel Emission Mitigation Fund. The fund assists publicly- and privately-owned fleets with the replacement or repower of model year 2009 or older medium- and heavy-duty diesel-powered vehicles. Funding amounts vary based on vehicle, applicant, and fuel type. For more information, including application periods and guidelines, see the NDEP VW Settlement Funds website.
Idle Reduction Technology, Natural Gas Vehicle, and Plug-in Electric Vehicle Weight Exemption
Any motor vehicle equipped with an auxiliary power unit or other qualified idle reduction technology may exceed the maximum gross vehicle weight limit by up to 550 pounds (lbs.) to compensate for the additional weight of the idle reduction technology. Natural gas vehicles and plug-in electric vehicles may exceed the maximum gross vehicle weight limit for comparable conventional fuel vehicles by up to 2,000 lbs. (Reference Nevada Revised Statutes 484D.635)
Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) and Hybrid Electric Vehicle (HEV) Emissions Inspection Exemption
AFVs are exempt from Nevada's emissions testing requirements. A new HEV is exempt from emissions inspection testing for the first five model years, after which the vehicle must comply with emissions inspection testing requirements on an annual basis. For more information, see the Nevada Emissions Control Program website. (Reference Nevada Revised Statutes 445B.770 and 445B.825)
Electric School Bus Incentive - NV Energy
NV Energy offers public school customers rebates of up to 75% of expected costs for the purchase of electric school buses and electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE). Eligible EVSE include Level 2 and DC fast charging stations. Rebates are awarded on a first-come, first-served basis. For more information, including application requirements and materials, see the NV Energy Electric School Bus Incentives website.
Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Rebates - NV Energy
Nevada Energy (NV Energy) offers rebates to eligible business customers for the purchase and installation of Level 2 EVSE and direct current (DC) fast EVSE. Level 2 EVSE rebates are available in the following amounts:
|EVSE Site||Eligible Level 2 Port Amount||Rebate Amount per Port|
|Workplace||2 to 10 ports||$3,000 per port; up to 75% of project cost|
|Multi-Unit Dwelling (MUD)||2 to 10 ports||$5,000 per port; up to 75% of project cost|
|Low-Income MUD||2 to 4 ports||$10,000 per port; up to 100% of project cost|
|Fleets||2 to 10 ports||$5,000 per port; up to 75% of project cost|
|Public Charging||2 to 10 ports||$3,000 per port; up to 75% of project cost|
|Government Agency||2 to 4 ports||$10,000 per port; up to 100% of project cost|
Low-income MUD is defined as property that qualifies for the Federal Low Income Housing Tax credit.DC fast EVSE rebates cover 50% of project costs, up to $400 per kilowatt or $40,000 per station, whichever is less. DC fast EVSE projects may include a maximum of five stations. NV Energy also funds projects that do not fall within the scope of fleet, workplace, or MUD charging through the . Grant amounts are determined on a case-by-case basis and may cover up to 100% of project costs. For more information, see the NV Energy Electric Vehicles website.
Plug-In Electric Vehicle (PEV) Time-Of-Use (TOU) - NV Energy
Nevada Energy (NV Energy) offers a TOU rate to residential and commercial customers in the northern and southern service territories who charge PEVs during off-peak hours. For more information, see the NV Energy Electric Vehicles website.
Plug-In Electric Vehicle (PEV) Infrastructure Support
Nevada utilities joined the National Electric Highway Coalition (NEHC), committing to create a network of direct current fast (DC Fast) charging stations connecting major highway systems from the Atlantic Coast to the Pacific of the United States. NEHC utility members agree to ensure efficient and effective fast charging deployment plans that enable long distance EV travel, avoiding duplication among coalition utilities, and complement existing corridor DC fast charging sites. For more information, including a list of participating utilities and states, see the NEHC website.
Laws and Regulations
Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Grant Authorization
Utilities are authorized to offer public school districts grants of up to 75% of the cost of EVSE installation on school property or the purchase of all-electric school buses. (Reference Nevada Revised Statutes 701B.670)
Transportation Electrification Investment Authorization
Utilities must file a plan to accelerate transportation electrification in Nevada with the Public Utilities Commission by September 1, 2021. Two or more utilities that share common ownership or transmission systems must include a plan to allocate up to $100,000,000 on transportation electrification. Plans must be designed to accelerate transportation electrification between January 1, 2022, and December 31, 2024. All plans must include:
- An Interstate Corridor Charging Depot Program to increase the availability of public charging infrastructure along state highways and support tourism;
- An Urban Charging Depot Program to help customers that are unable to charge vehicles at home or work;
- A Public Agency Electric Vehicle Charging Program to serve the public, workplace, and government fleet charging needs;
- A Transit, School Bus, and Transportation Electrification Custom Program to serve the needs of transit agencies, public schools, planning organizations, and commercial entities; and,
- An Outdoor Recreation and Tourism Program to support tourism and outdoor recreation entities.
(Reference Senate Bill 448, 2021)
Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV) Sales Requirements and Low Emission Vehicle (LEV) Standards
Nevada adopted the California motor vehicle emissions and compliance requirements specified in Title 13 of the California Code of Regulations. Manufacturers must meet the greenhouse gas emissions standard and the ZEV production and sales requirements, beginning with model year 2025. These regulations apply to all passenger cars, light-duty trucks, and medium-duty vehicles. For more information, see the Clean Cars Nevada website. (Reference Nevada Administrative Code 445B.2 through 4445B.36)
Low-Level Ethanol Blend Support
Regulations adopted by the State Board of Agriculture (Board) must allow the sale of motor vehicle fuel containing no more than 15% ethanol (E15) by volume. The Board must adopt rules governing the sale of E15 by July 2022. (Reference Nevada Assembly Bill 411, 2021)
Renewable Natural Gas (RNG) Use and Cost Recovery Authorization
Effective October 1, 2019, the Public Utilities Commission of Nevada must adopt regulations authorizing a public utility that purchases natural gas for resale to engage in RNG activities and to recover reasonable costs associated with RNG activities that provide certain environmental benefits. RNG activities include but are not limited to, investing in or building and operating an RNG facility, extending the transmission or distribution system of a public utility, or purchasing RNG. Additionally, a public utility which purchases natural gas for resale must attempt to incorporate RNG into its gas supply portfolio. Additional terms and conditions apply. RNG is defined as processed biogas that meets quality standards to be injected into the natural gas pipeline. (Reference Nevada Revised Statutes 704.9995 through 704.9997)
Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) and Infrastructure Grants Authorization
The Nevada Office of Energy will establish the Nevada Clean Energy Fund to fund qualified clean energy projects, including any program, technology, product, or service that supports the deployment of AFVs and related infrastructure. Technologies that involve the combustion of fossil fuels are not eligible for funding. (Reference Nevada Revised Statutes 701B.930-995)
Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Demonstration Program Requirements
The Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Demonstration Program (Program) requires Nevada utilities to promote and incentivize the deployment of EVSE. Utility customers may include public schools that install EVSE on-site or purchase electric school buses. Incentives may cover up to 75% of the installation or purchase cost.
Utilities may request to recover the costs associated with carrying out the Program, including customer incentives, by filing an application with the PUCN.
(Reference Nevada Revised Statutes 701B.670 and 704.110)
Regional Electric Vehicle (REV) West Plan
Nevada joined Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming (Signatory States) in signing the REV West memorandum of understanding (MOU) to create an Intermountain West Electric Vehicle (EV) Corridor that will make it possible to seamlessly drive an EV across the Signatory States' major transportation corridors.In 2019, the Signatory States signed a revised REV West MOU to update their EV corridor goals based on progress to date. Signatory States are committed to:
- Educate consumers and fleet owners to raise EV awareness, reduce range anxiety, and increase EV adoption;
- Coordinate on EV charging station locations to achieve a consistent user experience across Signatory States;
- Use and promote the REV West Voluntary Minimum Standards for EV charging stations and explore opportunities for implementing the standards in Signatory States;
- Identify and develop opportunities to incorporate EV charging stations into planning and development processes such as building codes, metering policies, and renewable energy generation projects;
- Encourage EV manufacturers to stock and market a wide variety of EVs within the Signatory States;
- Identify, respond to, and collaborate on funding opportunities to support the development of the plan; and
- Support the build-out of direct current (DC) fast charging stations along EV corridors through investments, partnerships, and other mechanisms.
Electric Vehicle Manufacturer Franchise Exemption
A vehicle manufacturer is not required to sell its vehicles through franchised dealers if the manufacturer:
- Only produces passenger cars powered solely by one or more electric motors;
- Only sells new or used passenger cars that it manufactures; and
- Was selling such passenger cars in Nevada on or before January 1, 2016.
Biodiesel and Renewable Diesel Sales Requirements
It is unlawful for any person to sell, offer for sale, assist in the sale of, deliver, or permit to be sold or offered for sale any biodiesel, biomass-based diesel, or biomass-based diesel blend unless it meets applicable registration requirements for fuels and additives. Biodiesel must meet Title 40 of the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations, section 79, and ASTM Standard D6751. Biomass-based diesel and biomass-based diesel blends must meet the requirements in Title 42 U.S. Code of Federal Regulations, section 7545. (Reference Nevada Revised Statutes 590.070)
Biodiesel Producer Requirements
Biodiesel is defined as a fuel that is composed of mono-alkyl esters of long-chain fatty acids derived from plant or animal matter, meets the registration requirements for fuels and fuel additives of Title 40 of the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations, section 79, and conforms to ASTM Standard D6751. A biodiesel blend is a blend of biodiesel and petroleum-based product suitable for use in a motor vehicle. A special fuel manufacturer is a person who manufactures, blends, produces, refines, prepares, distills, or compounds only special fuel containing biodiesel or biodiesel blends in Nevada for personal use in the state or for sale or delivery in or outside of the state. Special fuel manufacturers must obtain a license from the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and report quantities of biodiesel fuel produced or blended in the state as well as contact information for biodiesel purchasers or recipients. Manufacturers must ensure that biodiesel blends produced do not exceed total volumes the DMV has established. (Reference Nevada Revised Statutes 366.022 through 366.024, 366.068, and 366.386)
Public Utility Definition
A person who owns, controls, operates, or manages a facility that supplies electricity to charge electric vehicles is not defined as a public utility. (Reference Nevada Code 704.021)
Funds for School District Alternative Fuel Use
A portion of any penalty assessed for violations of air pollution control laws must be deposited in the county school district fund where the violation occurred. The local air pollution control board must approve expenditures from the fund, which are limited to education programs on topics relating to air quality and projects to improve air quality, including purchasing and installing equipment to retrofit district school buses to operate on biodiesel, compressed natural gas, or a similar fuel that reduces emissions. (Reference Nevada Revised Statutes 445B.500)
Authorization for High Occupancy Vehicle (HOV) Lane Exemption
The Nevada Department of Transportation, in consultation with the U.S. Department of Transportation Federal Highway Administration and U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, may establish a program allowing federally certified alternative fuel vehicles to operate in HOV lanes regardless of the number of passengers. (Reference Nevada Revised Statutes 484A.463)
Alternative Fuel Tax
Special fuels, including biodiesel, biodiesel blends, biomass-based diesel, biomass-based diesel blends, and liquefied natural gas (LNG), have a reduced tax rate of $0.27 per gallon. Liquefied petroleum gas (LPG or propane) and compressed natural gas (CNG) are taxed at a rate of $0.064 and $0.21 per gallon, respectively. For taxation purposes, a gallon is measured as 5.66 pounds (lbs.) or 126.67 cubic feet of CNG, 4.2 lbs. or 36.3 cubic feet of propane, or 6.06 lbs. of LNG. (Reference Nevada Revised Statutes 366.190, 366.197, and 373.066)
Idle Reduction Requirement
Diesel truck or bus engines may not idle for more than 15 consecutive minutes. Exemptions apply to diesel trucks or buses for which the Nevada State Environmental Commission has issued a variance from this requirement, or diesel trucks and buses that are emergency vehicles; are used for removal of snow or to repair or maintain other vehicles; are stopped due to traffic congestion; are undergoing repair or maintenance; produce emissions contained and treated according to State Environmental Commission methods; or must idle to perform a specific task. (Reference Nevada Administrative Code 445B.576)
Autonomous Technology Funding Authorization
A regional transportation commission that operates in a Nevada county with a population of 700,000 or more may provide grants to fund projects that promote innovative transportation and transit technology, including autonomous technology. Autonomous technology is defined as technology that is installed on a motor vehicle and has the capability to drive the vehicle without the active control or monitoring of a human operator. (Reference Nevada Revised Statutes 277A and 482A.025)
Autonomous Vehicle Testing and Operation Requirements
An autonomous vehicle may not be tested or operated on a highway in Nevada unless it is capable of operating in compliance with all applicable motor vehicle and traffic laws, it has been granted an exemption by the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), and it meets the following requirements:
- It is equipped with an easily accessible way for the driver to engage or disengage the autonomous driving system;
- It contains an indicator inside of the vehicle that notifies the driver when the autonomous driving system is engaged;
- It has a means to alert the driver to take manual control of the vehicle should the autonomous driving system fail; and
- If operated without the direct control of the driver, it is capable of reaching a reasonably safe state as determined by the DMV, such as bringing the vehicle to a complete stop, in the event that the automated driving system fails.
(Reference Nevada Revised Statutes 482A.025 through 482A.080 and 482A.100)
Plug-in Electric Vehicle (PEV) Parking Space Regulation
Beginning October 1, 2019, an individual may not park a motor vehicle within any parking space specifically designated for charging PEVs. Eligible PEVs must be in the process of charging to park in the space. Violators may receive a fine of up to $750. (Reference Nevada Revised Statutes 484B.468)
Low-Speed Vehicle Access to Roadways
A low-speed vehicle is defined as a four-wheeled motor vehicle with an unladen weight of 3,000 pounds or less, that is capable of operating at a speed of at least 20 miles per hour (mph) but not greater than 25 mph, and that complies with Title 49 of the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations, section 571.500. Low-speed vehicles may not operate on any roadway with a speed limit greater than 35 mph, except to cross a highway at an intersection. (Reference Nevada Revised Statutes 482.480 and 484B.637)