Mississippi Laws and Incentives

Listed below are the summaries of all current Mississippi laws, incentives, regulations, funding opportunities, and other initiatives related to alternative fuels and vehicles, advanced technologies, or air quality. You can go directly to summaries of:

State Incentives

Mississippi's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Mississippi Department of Transportation (MDOT) to submit an annual EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office of Energy and Transportation (Joint Office), describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. The submitted plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Mississippi’s NEVI planning process, see the MDOT Electric Vehicle Charging Infrastructure website. To review Mississippi’s NEVI plan, see the Joint Office State Plans for EV Charging website.

Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) Revolving Loan Program

The Mississippi Alternative Fuel School Bus and Municipal Motor Vehicle Revolving Loan Program provides zero-interest loans for public school districts and municipalities to cover the incremental cost to purchase alternative fuel school buses and other motor vehicles, convert school buses and other motor vehicles to use U.S. Environmental Protection Agency compliant alternative fuel systems, purchase alternative fuel equipment, and install fueling stations. Loans are available for up to $300,000 for the purchase and retrofit of AFVs, and up to $500,000 for the purchase and installation of fueling station equipment and infrastructure. Eligible alternative fuels include propane and natural gas. For more information, see the Mississippi Development Authority website.

(Reference Mississippi Code 57-1-421)

Propane Education and Research Program

The State Liquefied Compressed Gas Board (Board), established within the Mississippi Insurance Department (MID), regulates matters regarding liquefied compressed gas within the state. The Board may issue grants for the research and development of more cost-effective uses of propane, for educational and safety programs, and for the market development of propane. The Board must review all proposals. For more information, see the MID Liquefied Compressed Gas website.

(Reference Mississippi Code 75-57-119)

Point of Contact
Scottie Cuevas
Mississippi Insurance Department, Liquefied Compressed Gas Division
Phone: (601) 359-1064

Natural Gas Weight Exemption

A vehicle powered by compressed natural gas or liquified natural gas may exceed the state’s gross vehicle weight limits by up to 2,000 pounds on all public roads and interstate highways.

(Reference Mississippi Code 63-5-33(7))

Utility / Private Incentives

Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebate – Tennessee Valley Authority (TVA)

TVA will establish and fund a network of direct current fast charging (DCFC) stations every 50 miles along interstates and major highways through the Fast Charge Network Program (Program). The Program offers funding for public DCFC stations along EV corridor gaps, up to $150,000 per DCFC station. Eligible applicants include TVA Local Power Companies, and eligible projects must include a minimum of two DCFC ports per location. Program participants must identify suitable host sites and agree to own, operate, and maintain Program-funded DCFC stations for a minimum of five years. For more information, including guidelines and additional eligibility requirements, see the TVA Fast Charge Network website.

Residential Electric Vehicle (EV) and EV Charging Station Rebate – Mississippi Power

Mississippi Power offers residential customers rebates for new, leased, or pre-owned EVs. Rebates are available in the following amounts:

Vehicle Type Condition Amount
All-electric vehicle New $1,250
All-electric vehicle Leased $1,000
All-electric vehicle Pre-Owned $750
Plug-in hybrid electric vehicle (PHEV) New $750
PHEV Leased $500
PHEV Pre-Owned $500

Mississippi Power also offers a rebate of up to $250 for Level 2 EV charging stations. For more information, including terms and conditions, see the Mississippi Power EVs website.

Commercial Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station and Off-Road Equipment Rebate - Mississippi Power

Mississippi Power offers commercial customers a rebate of $2,000 for the purchase of a Level 2 EV charging station, truck electric auxiliary power unit plug, or truck electric transport refrigeration unit. Mississippi Power also offers customers and dealerships rebates of up to $1,000 for the purchase of an electric forklift. For more information, including terms and conditions, see the Mississippi Power EVs website.

Electric Vehicle (EV) and EV Charging Station Incentive - Entergy

Entergy offers commercial customers rebates for the purchase of select EVs and Level 2 EV charging stations. Rebates are available in the following amounts:

Technology Rebate Amounts
Electric Forklifts Up to $500
Electric Drayage Trucks $1,500
Electric Truck Refrigeration $1,000
Electric Cranes Up to $25,000
Electric Scissor and Boom Lift $100
Light-Duty Electric Burden Carrier $100
Electric Walk-Behind Floor Scrubber $100
Electric Riding Floor Scrubber $150
Electric Golf Cart $150
Level 2 EV Charging Station $250
Direct Current Fast Charging (DCFC) Station Up to $1,500

Other technologies may be eligible for this incentive on a case-by-case basis. For more information, including eligible technologies, see the Entergy eTech website.

Electric Vehicle (EV) Infrastructure Support

Mississippi utilities joined the National Electric Highway Coalition (NEHC), committing to create a network of direct current fast charging (DCFC) stations connecting major highway systems from the Atlantic Coast to the Pacific of the United States. NEHC utility members agree to ensure efficient and effective fast charging deployment plans that enable long distance EV travel, avoiding duplication among coalition utilities, and complement existing corridor DCFC sites. For more information, including a list of participating utilities and states, see the NEHC website.

Laws and Regulations

Energy Performance Contract Authorization

Public entities in Mississippi are authorized to enter into energy services and performance contracts to pay for energy efficiency improvements with energy savings, including savings from the use of alternative fuel vehicles and related infrastructure.

(Reference Mississippi Code 31-7-14)

Low-Speed Vehicle Access to Roadways Authorization

Municipalities may authorize the operation of low-speed vehicles on public roads and streets within city limits. A low-speed vehicle is defined as a four-wheeled motor vehicle that is capable of operating at a speed of at least 20 miles per hour (mph) but not greater than 25 mph. The vehicle must comply with safety standards contained in Title 49 of the Code of Federal Regulations, section 571.500.

(Reference Mississippi Code 63-32-1 and 63-32-3)

Installation of Alternative Fuel Components in Vehicles

A propane or compressed natural gas (CNG) carburetion system installer who collects an installation service fee must hold an installer’s license from the State Liquefied Compressed Gas Board (Board) and must notify the Board of any applicable installation. The Board or the Mississippi Insurance Department must inspect propane or CNG carburetion systems not installed by a qualified installer or manufacturer. Regardless of installer, a field inspector must inspect all propane and CNG carburetion systems installed on public transportation vehicles, including school buses. The Board may require the inspection of any propane or CNG carburetion systems installed on other vehicle types as necessary, and all installations must comply with its rules and regulations.

(Reference Mississippi Code 75-57-47)

Electric Vehicle and Hybrid Electric Vehicle (HEV) Fees

In addition to standard registration fees, all-electric vehicle owners must pay an annual fee of $150 and plug-in hybrid electric vehicle and HEV owners must pay an annual fee of $75. Beginning July 1, 2021, the Mississippi Department of Revenue will increase the fee annually to account for inflation, equal to the increase in the Consumer Price Index for urban consumers for the prior year.

(Reference Mississippi Code 27-19-21 and 27-19-23)

Natural Gas Tax

Compressed natural gas (CNG) and liquefied natural gas (LNG) used as motor fuel must be sold in gasoline gallon equivalents (GGE) or diesel gallon equivalents (DGE). A GGE of CNG is equal to 5.66 pounds (lbs.) and a DGE of LNG is equal to 6.06 lbs.

Operators of motor vehicles capable of using natural gas must pay an annual flat rate privilege tax if the vehicle has a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 10,000 lbs. or less. Natural gas vehicles (NGVs) with a GVWR greater than 10,000 lbs. are subject to privilege taxes charged per hundred cubic feet of CNG and per diesel gallon equivalent of LNG; operators must prepay a portion of this tax annually. The Mississippi Department of Revenue may require the operator of five or more NGVs to pay the tax on all fuel purchased for any purpose; in this case, the fuel distributor will collect the excise tax at the time of sale or delivery. Distributors of natural gas for use in motor vehicles must also pay a privilege tax. Taxes on distributors and utilities do not apply to sales or deliveries made to persons who hold permitted compressed gas user’s decals.

(Reference Mississippi Code 27-59-11 and 75-27-114)

Compressed Natural Gas (CNG) Vehicle Decals

Any person operating a vehicle that is fueled by CNG must obtain and display a user’s decal from the Mississippi Department of Revenue. Vehicle owners must apply for a decal within 15 days of purchasing a CNG vehicle or converting a vehicle to operate on CNG, and the decals are issued on an annual basis. Owners may not obtain a privilege license tag from their county tax collectors unless they have filed an application for the natural gas user’s decal or their vehicle bears a current decal.

(Reference Mississippi Code 27-59-3 and 27-59-29)

Natural Gas and Propane Deregulation

The transmission, sale, or distribution of natural gas and distribution or sale of propane is deregulated when used as motor vehicle fuel.

(Reference Mississippi Code 77-3-3 and 77-3-11)

Biodiesel and Renewable Diesel Definitions and Requirements

All producers, importers, wholesalers, and retailers of biodiesel, biodiesel blends, and renewable diesel blends must register their product with the Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce (Department) 30 days before selling the product. All biodiesel and biodiesel blends offered for sale must be appropriately and conspicuously labeled. Blends up to 5% biodiesel (B5) must be labeled “may contain up to 5% biodiesel;” blends of B6 to B20 must be labeled “contains biomass-based diesel or biodiesel in quantities between 5 percent and 20 percent;” and blends over B20 must identify the volume percentage of biodiesel and be labeled “consult vehicle manufacturer fuel recommendations.”

Biodiesel is defined as an oxygenated fuel comprised of mono-alkyl esters of long chain fatty acids from biologically derived oil and fats. A biodiesel blend is defined as a fuel comprised of a specified ratio of biodiesel with petroleum-based fuel. Biodiesel and biodiesel blends must meet specifications set by the Department. Renewable diesel is defined as a conventional diesel fuel substitute produced from nonpetroleum renewable resources.

(Reference Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce Regulations Subpart 4, Chapter 8, Section 113)

Ethanol Labeling Requirement

All gasoline containing between 1% and 10% ethanol by volume offered for sale must be conspicuously identified as “with ethanol” or “containing ethanol.”

(Reference Mississippi Department of Agriculture and Commerce Regulations Subpart 4, Chapter 8, Section 106)

School Bus Idle Reduction Requirement

The Mississippi State Department of Education requires public school district bus operators to minimize school bus idling to reduce exposure to diesel exhaust.

(Reference Mississippi Code 37-11-71)

Fuel-Efficient and Alternative Fuel Vehicle Use

The State Bureau of Fleet Management (Bureau), operated through the Mississippi Department of Finance and Administration, coordinates and promotes fuel efficiency when state agencies purchase, lease, rent, acquire, use, maintain, and dispose of vehicles. The Bureau encourages state agencies to use fuel-efficient or hybrid electric vehicles as appropriate and, when feasible, use alternative fuels, including ethanol, biodiesel, natural gas, or electricity, to operate the vehicles. At least 75% of all vehicles titled under the Bureau must have a U.S. Environmental Protection Agency estimated fuel economy rating of at least 40 miles per gallon for highway driving.

(Reference Mississippi Code 25-1-77)

School Electric Vehicle (EV) Purchase Authorization

Local school boards are authorized to purchase, own, and operate EVs. EVs must be used to transport children to and from public schools. School boards are also authorized to use transportation funds from the school district for the purchase of EVs and vehicle servicing, maintenance, and repair.

(Reference Mississippi Code 37-41-81)

Public Utility Definition

A person who purchases electricity on a metered retail basis from an electric public utility and provides a portion to the public for the purpose of charging electric vehicles and plug-in hybrid electric vehicles is defined as an end-use customer and not a public utility.

(Reference House Bill 1060, 2023 and Mississippi Code 77-3-3)

Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Authority

The Mississippi Transportation Commission (Commission) has the authority to enter into partnerships with private companies to design, finance, construct, operate, or maintain EV charging stations in the state. EV charging stations must adhere to minimum standards set by the Commission. The Commission may authorize periodic inspections of EV charging stations.

(Reference Senate Bill 2562, 2023)