Expired, Repealed, and Archived Missouri Incentives and Laws

The following is a list of expired, repealed, and archived incentives, laws, regulations, funding opportunities, or other initiatives related to alternative fuels and vehicles, advanced technologies, or air quality.

Alternative Fueling Infrastructure Tax Credit

Expired: 01/01/2018

For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2015, an income tax credit is available for the cost of constructing a qualified alternative fueling station. The credit is 20% of the costs directly associated with the purchase and installation of any alternative fuel storage and dispensing equipment or electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE), up to $1,500 for individuals or $20,000 for businesses. Tax credits may be carried forward for two years and may be transferred or sold, but will be forfeited if a tax credit recipient stops dispensing alternative fuel or electricity for vehicle charging. Eligible fuels include any mixture of biodiesel and diesel fuel, as well as fuel containing at least 70% of the following alternative fuels: ethanol, compressed natural gas, liquefied natural gas, liquefied petroleum gas (propane), hydrogen, and electricity. This tax credit expires on January 1, 2018. For more information, see the Missouri Alternative Fuel Infrastructure Tax Credit website. (Reference Missouri Revised Statutes 135.710)

Propane Mower Incentive - Missouri Propane Education & Research Council

Archived: 07/01/2016

Propane commercial mower incentives are available to public and private commercial mowing fleets registered to conduct business in Missouri. New propane commercial mowers are eligible for 15% of the cost of the equipment. Dedicated propane mower conversions are eligible for $750. New center articulated or oscillating frame tractors with at least a 32 horsepower engine are eligible for $1,000. Incentive recipients must participate in case studies and provide product performance information.

All conversion systems must be certified by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or the California Air Resources Board. Converted equipment must displace at least 200 gallons of gasoline per year and operate exclusively on propane. All equipment must operate in Missouri for at least three years. Funds are available on a first-come, first-served basis. Additional terms and conditions apply. For more information, see the Missouri Propane Education & Research Council website.

Biodiesel Production Incentive

Expired: 12/31/2015

The Missouri Department of Agriculture (Department) manages the Missouri Qualified Biodiesel Producer Incentive Fund, which provides monthly grants to qualified Missouri biodiesel producers who are actively engaged in agricultural production for commercial purposes and own at least 51% of the production facility. The grants are available for a maximum of 60 months at a rate of $0.30 per gallon for the first 15 million gallons and $0.10 per gallon for the next 15 million gallons of biodiesel produced each fiscal year from feedstock originating in Missouri, up to $6 million per producer per fiscal year. Biodiesel must meet ASTM D6751 or subsequent specifications. However, qualified biodiesel producers receiving grants prior to December 31, 2009, continue to be eligible for the remainder of the original 60 month period. For more information, please see the Missouri Biodiesel Producer Incentive Fund page. (Reference Missouri Revised Statutes 142.031)

Ethanol Production Incentive

Expired: 12/31/2015

The Missouri Department of Agriculture manages the Missouri Ethanol Producer Incentive Fund (Fund), which provides monthly grants to qualified Missouri ethanol producers who are actively engaged in agricultural production for commercial purposes and own at least 51% of the production facility. The grants are available for a maximum of 60 months at a rate of $0.20 per gallon for the first 12.5 million gallons and $0.05 for the next 12.5 million gallons of ethanol produced from Missouri agricultural products or qualified biomass each fiscal year, up to $3.125 million per producer per fiscal year. Ethanol must meet ASTM specification D4806 or subsequent specifications. This incentive expires on December 31, 2015. For more information, please see the Missouri Ethanol Producer Incentive Fund page. (Reference Missouri Revised Statutes 142.028 and 142.029)

Biodiesel Fuel Use Incentive

Expired: 07/01/2012

Through the 2011-2012 school year, school districts are allowed to establish contracts with nonprofit, farmer-owned, new generation cooperatives to purchase biodiesel blends of 20% (B20) or higher for use in operating buses. Every school district that contracts with an eligible new generation cooperative for biodiesel will receive an additional payment through its state transportation aid payment if there is an incremental cost to purchase the biodiesel. (Reference Missouri Revised Statutes 414.433)

State Energy Task Force

Archived: 08/31/2006

The Missouri Energy Task Force is a nine member group charged with producing a report for the Governor by August 31, 2006, providing recommendations for promoting the development of alternative fuel sources in ways that strengthen the farm economy of rural Missouri and lessening Missouri's dependence on oil and other fossil fuels. (Reference Executive Order 05-46, 2005)

Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) and Refueling Infrastructure Loans

Expired: 07/01/2005

The Missouri Energy Center has developed an administrative plan for implementing a loan program that provides financial assistance to political subdivisions for establishing the use of alternative fuels in their vehicle fleets. The loans can be used toward the purchase of new AFVs, conversion of gasoline motor vehicles to operate on alternative fuels, or construction of alternative fuel refueling stations. The loans will be available for a maximum of $2,000 for the incremental cost of purchasing a new AFV or the conversion of a new or existing vehicle to operate on an alternative fuel, and a maximum of $100,000 for the construction of an alternative fuel refueling station. There is currently no appropriation for the implementation of this legislation. (Reference Missouri Revised Statutes 414.353, 414.356, and 414.359)