Electricity Laws and Incentives in Washington
The list below contains summaries of all Washington laws and incentives related to electricity.
Laws and Regulations
Alternative Fuel Use Requirement
All state agencies must, to the extent practicable, use 100% biofuels or electricity to operate all publicly owned vehicles. Agencies must prioritize all-electric vehicles (EVs) when leasing or purchasing new vehicles, and all trips that may feasibly use EVs must employ them. For vehicle classes without EV model options, agencies must prioritize the most cost-efficient, low-emission vehicle option available. Agencies may substitute natural gas or propane for electricity or biofuel if the Washington State Department of Commerce (Department) determines that electricity and biofuel are not reasonably available. Practicability and measures of compliance are defined in rules adopted by the Department. The governor has established a cross-agency Governing Council, which must adopt and implement standards, measures, targets, and tools to support agencies in reducing greenhouse gas emissions and prioritizing EV adoption.
In addition, all local government agencies must, to the extent practicable, use 100% biofuels or electricity to operate all publicly owned vehicles. Transit agencies using compressed natural gas and engine retrofits that would void vehicle warranties are exempt from this requirement. To allow the motor vehicle fuel needs of state and local government to be satisfied by Washington-produced biofuels, the Washington Department of Enterprise Services and local governments may contract in advance and execute contracts with public or private producers and suppliers for the purchase of appropriate biofuels. Agencies may substitute natural gas or propane in vehicles if the Department determines that biofuels and electricity are not reasonably available. Practicability and measures of compliance are defined in rules adopted by the Department.
Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) Technical Assistance and Education Program
The Washington State University (WSU) Energy Program must establish and administer a technical assistance and education program on the use of AFVs for public agencies, including state and local governments. For more information, visit the WSU Energy Program Green Transportation Program website. (Reference Revised Code of Washington 28B.30.903)
Electric Drive Vehicle Fee
All-electric vehicle owners must pay an annual fee of $150 in addition to standard registration fees. Plug-in hybrid electric vehicles with an all-electric range of at least 30 miles are subject to a fee of $75. Hybrid electric vehicles are subject to a fee of $75. (Reference Revised Code of Washington 46.17.323-324)
Electric Transportation Transition Study
The Joint Transportation Committee (Committee) must study opportunities for high-consumption fuel users (users) to adopt electric vehicles (EVs) and make recommendations to the Committees and governor by July 1, 2023. The Committee must investigate and determine the following:
- Number of users that could utilize EVs for a high percentage of their driving needs;
- Fuel savings and gallons of fuel displaced if users switch to EVs;
- User attitudes and perceptions of EVs; and,
- Policies and messages that encourage EV adoption.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Signage and Parking Regulations
A public EV charging station is defined as a public parking space that is served by charging equipment. Public EV charging stations must have vertical signage that identifies the station and indicates that it is only for EV charging. The signage must be consistent with the U.S. Department of Transportation Federal Highway Administration’s Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices.
By 2023, all public EV charging stations must also display all charges and fees associated with operation. Any person who parks a vehicle in a public EV charging station parking space and does not connect to the equipment is subject to a fine of $124.
By 2023, the Department of Agriculture must adopt rules requiring electric vehicle service providers (EVSP) to meet interoperability standards and offer multiple payment methods at public EV charging stations. EVSPs must report inventory and payment information to the National Renewable Energy Laboratory annually. Charging stations installed before January 1, 2024, are exempt from the rules until January 1, 2034.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Community Grant Program Authorization
The Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT) is authorized to establish a grant program for by local governments, federally recognized tribal governments, or utilities to deploy EV charging stations in rural areas, office buildings, multi-unit dwellings, ports, schools and school districts, and state and local government offices. Preference will be given to direct current fast charging (DCFC) projects. (Reference Senate Bill 5693, 2022, and Revised Code of Washington 42.330.101 and 42.330.102)
Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Fees
EV charging station ports are subject to the following annual registration fees:
- $20 per Level 2 port
- $40 per direct current fast charging (DCFC) port
EV charging stations found to be an economic detriment to the customer may be subject to a $200 penalty for the first violation, and $400 penalty for the second violation.
(Reference Revised Code of Washingtonl 19.94.175)
Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Policies for Multi-Unit Dwellings
A common interest development, including a community apartment, condominium, and cooperative development, may not prohibit or restrict the installation or use of EV charging stations. These entities may put reasonable restrictions on EV charging stations, but the policies may not discourage or add obstacles to the use of EV charging stations. The EV charging station installer must obtain appropriate approvals from the common interest development association, comply with applicable architectural standards, engage a licensed installation contractor, provide a certificate of insurance, register the EV charging station with the association, meet health and building standards, and pay for the electricity usage, maintenance, and other costs associated with the EV charging station until it is removed by the homeowner. (Reference House Bill 1793, 2022, and Revised Code of Washington 46.32-46.39, 64.90)
Electric Vehicle (EV) Deployment Goal
All light-duty vehicles sold, purchased, or registered in Washington state must be EVs by model year 2030. The Interagency EV Coordinating Council must develop a plan for achieving this goal by December 31, 2022.
(Reference Senate Bill 5974, 2022)
Electric Vehicle (EV) Infrastructure Definitions
EV infrastructure is defined as structures, machinery, and equipment necessary and integral to support a EV, including battery charging stations, rapid charging stations, and battery exchange stations. A battery charging station is defined as an electrical component assembly or cluster of component assemblies designed specifically to charge batteries within a EV. A rapid charging station is defined as an industrial grade electrical outlet that allows for faster recharging of EV batteries through higher power levels. A battery exchange station is defined as a fully automated facility that will enable a EV with a swappable battery to enter a drive lane and exchange the depleted battery with a fully charged battery through a fully automated process. Infrastructure must meet or exceed any applicable state building standards, codes, and regulations. (Reference Revised Code of Washington 19.28.281 and 47.80.090)
Electric Vehicle (EV) Promotion and Infrastructure Development
Any regional transportation planning organization containing a county with a population greater than one million must collaborate with state and local governments to promote EV use, invest in EV charging infrastructure, and seek federal or private funding for these efforts. Collaborative planning efforts may include:
- Developing short- and long-term plans outlining how state, regional, and local governments may construct electric vehicle supply equipment locations and ensure that the infrastructure can be electrically supported;
- Supporting public education and training programs on EVs;
- Developing an implementation plan for counties with a population greater than 500,000 to have 10% of public and private parking spaces ready for EV charging by December 31, 2018; and
- Developing model ordinances and guidance for local governments for site assessment and installing EV infrastructure.
(Reference Revised Code of Washington 47.80.090)
Electric Vehicle (EV) Road User Assessment System Pilot
The Washington Transportation Commission (Commission) studied the feasibility of transitioning from a fuel tax to a road user assessment system in the state. In 2012, the Commission conducted a limited scope pilot project to test the feasibility of this new system as it applies to EVs and published outcomes in a report. The Commission began a year-long pilot project in fall 2017. On January 13, 2020, the Commission submitted a report of findings and recommendations to the governor, state legislature, and the U.S. Department of Transportation. The state legislature directed the Commission to further study aspects of the road usage charge program, including:
- The impact of a road usage charge, incentives, and other factors on consumer purchase of EVs and conduct a test with drivers to assess impacts;
- Delivery vehicle fleets and how a road usage charge may be applied, identify potential impacts to fleet operations and costs, state department of transportation revenues, and conduct a pilot test;
- The process for changing vehicle ownership and determine the possible implications and identify the process needed for reconciling a road usage charge owed between sellers and purchases of used vehicles; and,
- Opportunities for achieving large-scale data integration to support road usage charge service provisions that could be offered by private-sector service providers and conduct pilot tests to determine the ability of services to support automatic mileage reporting and periodic payments services.
For more information, see the Commission Road Usage Charge Assessment website.
(Reference Senate Bill 5689, 2022)
Electric Vehicle (EV) and Battery Exchange Station Regulations
State and local governments may lease land for installing, maintaining, and operating EV charging stations or electric vehicle battery exchange stations for up to 50 years for at least $1 per year. Additionally, the installation of battery charging and exchange stations is categorically exempt from the Washington Environmental Policy Act. (Reference Revised Code of Washington 79.13.100 and 43.21C.410)
Electric Vehicle (EV) and Direct Current Fast Charging (DCFC) Stations and Hydrogen Fueling Station
Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT) must install co-located DCFC and hydrogen fueling stations in the Wenatchee or East Wenatchee area near a state route or publicly owned facility. WSDOT must contract with a public utility that produces hydrogen or provides technical assistance for hydrogen fueling stations. (Reference Senate Bill 5689, 2022)
Fleet Electric Vehicle (EV) Procurement Requirements
State executive and small-cabinet agency fleets must procure EVs to replace light-, medium-, and heavy- duty internal combustion engine (ICE) vehicles once they reach the end of their useful life. Fleets must achieve the following procurement requirements:
|Percentage of Procured Vehicles that Must be EVs|
|Year||Light Duty||Medium Duty||Heavy Duty|
|2025||40%||No Requirement||No Requirement|
(Reference Executive Order 21-04, 2021)
Local Government Electric Vehicle (EV) Infrastructure Requirements
Jurisdictions must develop regulations to allow the use of EV infrastructure and battery charging stations in all areas except critical areas or areas zoned for residential or resource use. The Washington Department of Commerce included a model ordinance, development regulations, and guidance for local governments for site assessment and installing EV infrastructure in Electric Vehicle Infrastructure: A Guide for Local Governments in Washington State. This requirement applies to jurisdictions that meet specific location criteria and is contingent upon federal funding. Additionally, cities or municipalities may adopt incentive programs to encourage retrofitting of existing structures capable of charging EVs. (Reference Revised Code of Washington 35.63.126, 35.63.127, 35A.63.107, 36.70.695, 36.70A.695, and 43.31.970)
Low Carbon Fuel and Fuel-Efficient Vehicle Acquisition Requirement
Washington state agencies must consider purchasing low carbon fuel vehicles or converting conventional vehicles to use low carbon fuels when financially comparable over the vehicle's useful life. Low carbon fuels include hydrogen, biomethane, electricity, or natural gas blends of at least 90%. State agencies must achieve an average fuel economy of 36 miles per gallon (mpg) for passenger vehicle fleets in motor pools and leased conventional vehicles. State agencies must also purchase low carbon fuel vehicles or, when purchasing new conventional vehicles, achieve an average fuel economy of 40 mpg for light-duty passenger vehicles and 27 mpg for light-duty vans and sport utility vehicles. When calculating average fuel economy, emergency response vehicles, passenger vans with a gross vehicle weight rating of 8,500 pounds or greater, off-road vehicles, low carbon fuel vehicles, and vehicles driven less than 2,000 miles per year are excluded. (Reference Revised Code of Washington 43.19.622)
Mandatory Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Building Standards
At least one parking space, or 10% of parking spaces rounded to the next whole number, must be made-ready for Level 2 EV charging stations at all new buildings. Electrical capacity must accommodate the potential to serve a minimum of 20% of the total parking spaces with Level 2 EV charging stations. For assembly, education, or mercantile buildings, the requirements apply only to employee parking spaces. Buildings classified as utility or miscellaneous and some residential buildings are exempt from these requirements. Additional terms and conditions apply. (Reference Revised Code of Washington 51-50-0429)
Medium- and Heavy-Duty Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV) Deployment Support
California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, and Washington (signatory states) signed a memorandum of understanding (MOU) to support the deployment of medium- and heavy-duty (MHD) ZEVs through involvement in a Multi-State ZEV Task Force (Task Force).
In July 2022, the Task Force published a multi-state action plan to support electrification of MHD vehicles. The action plan includes strategies and recommendations to accomplish the goals of the MOU, including limiting all new MHD vehicle sales in the signatory states to ZEVs by 2050, accelerating the deployment of MHD ZEVs, and ensuring MHD ZEV deployment also benefits disadvantaged communities.
For more information, see the Medium- and Heavy-Duty ZEVs: Action Plan Development Process website.
Medium- and Heavy-Duty Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV) Requirement
Washington has adopted the California Advanced Clean Trucks requirements specified in Title 13 of the California Code of Regulations, requiring manufacturers to meet California’s ZEV production and sales requirements. Beginning with model year 2025, manufacturers will be required to sell zero-emission trucks as an increasing percentage of their annual sales for Class 2b through Class 8 vehicles in Washington. ZEVs include all-electric and fuel cell electric vehicles. For more information, see the Washington Clean Car Standards website. (Reference Washington Administrative Code 173-423 and 173-400-025)
State Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Infrastructure Availability
Publicly and privately owned EVs may charge at state office locations if the vehicles are used for state business, conducting business with the state, or as commuter vehicles. Additionally, contingent upon funding, the state must install electrical outlets suitable for charging EVs in each of the state’s fleet parking and maintenance facilities as well as every state-operated highway rest stop. The Washington Department of Enterprise Services may report to the governor and the legislature on the amount of electricity consumed and the number of EVs using state-owned charging equipment if it represents a significant cost to the state. (Reference Revised Code of Washington 43.01.250, 43.19.648, and 47.38.075)
Support for Electric Vehicle (EV) and Infrastructure Deployment
The Washington State Department of Commerce and the Washington State Department of Transportation must establish an interagency EV coordinating council (Council) to advance transportation electrification. The Council must:
- Develop a state-wide transportation electrification strategy;
- Identify electric vehicle infrastructure grant-related funding;
- Coordinate grant funding criteria across agency grant programs;
- Develop a robust public and private outreach plan that includes engaging with community organizers and local governments;
- Create an industry EV advisory committee;
- Ensure the new strategies and programs benefit underserved communities; and,
- Provide an annual report to legislature committees summarizing EV implementation progress, gaps, and resource needs.
Utility Electric Transportation Plan Authorization
The governing authority or commission of an electric utility may adopt an electric transportation plan that proves that utility outreach and investment in the electrification of transportation infrastructure does not increase net costs to ratepayers in excess of 0.025%. The governing authority or commission may consider items such as the impact of electrification on the utilities load, demand response and load management opportunities, system reliability and distribution system efficiencies, and interoperability concerns. Upon making this determination, electric utilities may offer incentive programs for customers. (Reference Revised Code of Washington 35.92.450)
Volkswagen (VW) Settlement Allocation
The Washington State Department of Ecology (Ecology) will work with the Office of the Governor and state agencies to select projects and distribute funding to leverage 15% of Washington's portion of the VW Environmental Mitigation Trust for the acquisition, installation, operation, and maintenance of light-duty zero-emission vehicle charging infrastructure.
Ecology will establish a competitive process to identify and select projects to fund with the remaining 85% of the appropriation to maximize total air pollution reduction and health benefits, improve air quality in areas disproportionately affected by air pollution, leverage additional matching funds, achieve substantial emission reduction beyond what would occur absent the funding, accelerate fleet turnover to the cleanest engines, and accelerate adoption of electric vehicles, equipment, and vessels. As appropriate, Ecology will work with state agencies to select projects and distribute funding. For more information, see the Ecology VW Enforcement Action website.
Zero Emission Truck Support and Demonstration
The Northwest Seaport Alliance (NWSA) must establish and coordinate a zero emission truck stakeholder group to lead the development and implementation of at least one zero-emission drayage truck demonstration project and develop a roadmap to transition the NWSA cargo gateway fleet to zero-emission trucks, by 2050. (Reference Senate Bill 5689, 2022)
Zero Emission Vehicles (ZEVs) Support
The Department of Commerce must develop and maintain a publicly available mapping and forecasting tool that locates and provides information on electric vehicle charging and refueling infrastructure. Electric utilities with more than 25,000 customers must analyze how their resource plans support and account for anticipated levels of ZEV use, relevant infrastructure forecasts and associated energy impacts, and information from the utilities' transportation electrification plans. (Reference Revised Code of Washington 19.280.030)
Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) Emissions Inspection Exemption
AFVs powered exclusively by electric, natural gas, and propane vehicles are exempt from state emissions control inspections. Plug-in hybrid electric vehicles that obtain a U.S. Environmental Protection Agency fuel economy rating of at least 50 miles per gallon during city driving are also exempt from these inspections. (Reference Revised Code of Washington 46.16A.060)
Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) Retail Sales and Use Tax Exemption
The sale or lease of new or used passenger vehicles, light-duty trucks, and medium-duty passenger AFVs is exempt from the state retail sales and use tax. Eligible AFVs include those powered by natural gas, propane, hydrogen, or electricity. To be eligible, new vehicles may not be valued above $45,000 and used vehicles may not be valued above $30,000. The tax exemption may apply to all or a portion of the vehicle’s value. The maximum eligible amount for used purchased or leased vehicles is $16,000. The Maximum exemption amounts for vehicles are as follows:
|Purchase or Lease Year||Maximum New Vehicle Price Eligible for Exemption||Maximum Leased Vehicle Price Eligible for Exemption|
|August 1, 2021 - July 31, 2023||$20,000||$16,000|
|August 1, 2023 - July 31, 2025||$15,000||$16,000|
For more information, see the Renewable Energy/Green Incentives section of Washington Department of Revenue's Incentives Programs website.
(Reference Revised Code of Washington 82.12.9999)
Alternative Fueling Infrastructure Grant Program
The Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT) offers competitive grants to strengthen and expand the West Coast Electric Highway network by deploying Level 2 and direct current fast charging (DCFC) electric vehicle (EV) chargers and hydrogen fueling infrastructure along highway corridors in Washington. Eligible project costs include siting, equipment purchases, electrical upgrades, installation, operations, and maintenance. For more information, including funding availability and application periods, see the WSDOT Zero Emission Vehicle Grants website. (Reference Revised Code of Washington 47.04.350)
Commercial Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) and Fueling Infrastructure Tax Credit
Businesses are eligible to receive tax credits for purchasing new or used medium- and heavy-duty AFVs and medium- and heavy-duty vehicles converted to alternative fuels, and installing alternative fueling infrastructure. Eligible alternative fuels are natural gas, propane, hydrogen, dimethyl ether, and electricity. Tax credits for qualified alternative fueling infrastructure are for up to 50% of the cost to purchase and install the infrastructure. New commercial vehicle tax credit amounts vary based on gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) and are up to 75% of the incremental cost, with maximum credit values as follows:
|GVWR||Maximum Credit Amount Per Vehicle|
|Up to 14,000 pounds (lbs.)||$25,000|
|14,001 to 26,500 lbs.||$50,000|
|Over 26,500 lbs.||$100,000|
Leased AFVs may receive a tax credit for 75% cost, up to $25,000 per vehicle. This exemption also applies to qualified used vehicles modified with a U.S. Environmental Protection Agency-certified aftermarket conversion, if the vehicle is being sold for the first time after modification. Modified vehicles are eligible for credits equal to 50% of the commercial vehicle conversion cost, up to $25,000.
Each entity may claim up to $250,000 or credits for 25 vehicles per year. All credits earned must be used in that calendar year or the subsequent year. Tax credits are available on a first-come, first-served basis and are subject to annual limits of $2 million for vehicle credits, and $6 million for infrastructure.
(Reference Revised Code of Washington 82.16.0496 and 82.04.4496)
Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Regulation Exemption
An entity that offers electric vehicle supply equipment to the public for hire may not have their rates, services, facilities or practices regulated by the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (Commission). The exemption does not apply if the entity is otherwise subject to Commission jurisdiction as an electrical company, or if an entity's battery charging facilities and services are subsidized by any regulated service. A utility may offer battery charging facilities as a regulated service, subject to Commission approval. (Reference Revised Code of Washington 80.28.320)
Electric Vehicle (EV) and Fuel Cell Electric Vehicle (FCEV) Infrastructure and Battery Tax Credit
Public lands used for installing, maintaining, and operating EV chargers are exempt from leasehold excise taxes. Additionally, the state sales and use taxes do not apply to EV and FCEV batteries or fuel cells; labor and services for installing, repairing, altering, or improving EV and FCEV batteries fuel cells, or EV and FCEV infrastructure; the sale of property used for EV and hydrogen fueling infrastructure; and the sale of zero emission buses. (Reference Revised Code of Washington 82.29A.125, 82.08.816, and 82.12.816)
Green Transportation Grant Program
The Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT) offers grants for projects that reduce the carbon intensity of the Washington transportation system, including fleet electrification, modification or replacement of facilities to facilitate fleet electrification and hydrogen fueling, upgrades to electrical transmission and distribution systems, and constructing of charging and fueling infrastructure. To be eligible, a transit authority must provide matching funding of at least 20% of the total cost of the project. For more information, including funding availability and program dates, see the WSDOT Green Transportation Capital Grants (Reference Revised Code of Washington 47.66.120)
Utility Electrification Plans and Return on Investment Authorization
Utilities are authorized to submit transportation electrification plans that deploy electric vehicle (EV) charging stations or programs and incentives that support transportation electrification. Additionally, utilities may petition the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission (UTC) for a rate of return on EV charging station installed for the benefit of ratepayers through December 31, 2030. The UTC may approve an additional 2% to the standard rate of return if the utility installs EV charging stations on a fully regulated basis similar to other capital investments behind a customer’s meter, and the expenditures do not increase ratepayer costs more than 0.25%. EV charging stations are subject to a depreciation schedule and may be gifted to the customer when fully depreciated. The UTC issued a report on the use and impacts of the incentive in 2017. (Reference Revised Code of Washington 80.28.360 and 80.28.365)
Washington's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning
The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Washington Department of Transportation (WSDOT) to submit an EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office by August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. Plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.
For more information about Washington’s NEVI planning process, see the WSDOT Plan website. For more information about Washington’s NEVI plan, see the Joint Office’s State Plans for EV Charging website.
Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV) Carshare Grant
The Zero-emissions Access Program (ZAP), administered by the Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT), offers grants to nonprofit organizations and local governments to design and create a ZEV carshare program in underserved and low-to moderate-income communities. Grant awards may range from $50,000 to $200,000. Eligible projects include:
- Contract, lease, or purchase of ZEV;
- Construction or installation of correlated charging station or refueling infrastructure; and,
- Operational costs to develop, implement, and manage a car share program.
Applicants must provide matching funds as direct contributions or gifts-in-kind for at least 10% of the total cost of the project. Additional eligibility requirements may apply. For more information, including eligible communities and program dates, see the WSDOT ZEV Grants website.
(Reference Revised Code of Washington 47.04.355)
Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebate – Clark Public Utilities (CPU)
CPU offers customers rebates for the purchase and installation of Level 2 EV charging station. Rebates are available in the following amounts:
|Eligible Customers||EV Charging Station Type||Rebate Amount|
|Residential||Non-ENERGY STAR certified; not Wi-Fi enabled||$100|
|Residential||Mobile connector for 240V outlet||$100|
|Residential, Commercial, and Industrial||ENERGY STAR certified; Wi-Fi enabled||$500|
Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebate – Tacoma Public Utility (TPU)
TPU offers residential customers a $400 rebate, in the form of bill credit, for the installation of a Level 2 EV charging station, a smart splitter, or a 240-volt outlet. Applicants may receive one rebate per installation, up to $600 total. For more information, see the TPU EV Charging website.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebates – Tacoma Public Utility (TPU)
TPU offers rebates for the installation of Level 2 EV charging stations at multifamily dwellings and businesses located in the City of Tacoma. Rebate amounts for the first two EV charging station ports are available in the following amounts:
|Applicant Type||Standard Rebate Amount||Rebate for Historically Underinvested Communities|
|Business||60% of project costs, up to $12,000||80% of project costs, up to $16,000|
|Multifamily Dwelling||80% of project costs, up to $16,000||100% of project costs, up to $20,000|
A rebate of up to $2,000 is available for every additional EV charging station port installed. Applicants may also receive a rebate for 100% of utility infrastructure upgrade costs, up to $25,000, to increase grid reliability. For more information, including funding terms and waitlist availability, see the TPU Public Electric Vehicle Charging and Multifamily Dwelling EV Charging websites.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Infrastructure Support
Washington utilities joined the National Electric Highway Coalition (NEHC), committing to create a network of direct current fast charging (DCFC) charging stations connecting major highway systems from the Atlantic Coast to the Pacific of the United States. NEHC utility members agree to ensure efficient and effective fast charging deployment plans that enable long distance EV travel, avoiding duplication among coalition utilities, and complement existing corridor DCFC sites. For more information, including a list of participating utilities and states, see the NEHC website.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Rebate – Snohomish County Public Utility District
Snohomish County Public Utility District (PUD) offers residential customers a $400 rebate, in the form of a bill credit, for the purchase or lease of a new or used EV. For more information, see the PUD Electric Vehicle website.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Time-Of-Use (TOU) Rate – Pacific Power
Pacific Power offers residential, commercial, and irrigation customers a TOU rate for charging EVs. For more information, including pricing and eligibility, visit the Pacific Power TOU website.
Residential Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebate - Snohomish Public Utility District
Snohomish Public Utility District offers residential customers a $500 rebate for the purchase and installation of qualified Level 2 EV charging station. For more information, see the PUD Electric Vehicle website.
Used Electric Vehicle (EV) Rebate – Clark Public Utilities (CPU)
CPU offers low-income residential customers a rebate of up to $2,000 for the purchase of a used EV. EVs purchase price may not exceed $20,000 and must be registered in Clark County. For more information, see the CPU Electric Vehicle Program website.
More Laws and Incentives
To find laws and incentives for other alternative fuels and advanced vehicles, search all laws and incentives.