Electricity Laws and Incentives in Mississippi
The list below contains summaries of all Mississippi laws and incentives related to electricity.
Electric Equipment and Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Incentive - Entergy
Qualified Entergy customers are eligible to receive incentives in varying amounts for the purchase of select on- and off-road electric vehicles and Level 2 EVSE. For more information, including eligible technologies, see the Entergy eTech website.
Laws and Regulations
Energy Performance Contract Authorization
Public entities in Mississippi are authorized to enter into energy services and performance contracts to pay for energy efficiency improvements with energy savings, including savings from the use of alternative fuel vehicles and related infrastructure. (Reference Senate Bill 2876, 2019, and Mississippi Code 31-7-14)
Fuel-Efficient and Alternative Fuel Vehicle Use
The State Bureau of Fleet Management (Bureau), operated through the Mississippi Department of Finance and Administration, coordinates and promotes fuel efficiency when state agencies purchase, lease, rent, acquire, use, maintain, and dispose of vehicles. The Bureau encourages state agencies to use fuel-efficient or hybrid electric vehicles as appropriate and, when feasible, use alternative fuels, including ethanol, biodiesel, natural gas, or electricity, to operate the vehicles. At least 75% of all vehicles titled under the Bureau must have a U.S. Environmental Protection Agency estimated fuel economy rating of at least 40 miles per gallon for highway driving. (Reference Mississippi Code 25-1-77)
Plug-In Electric Vehicle and Hybrid Electric Vehicle (HEV) Fees
In addition to standard registration fees, all-electric vehicle owners must pay an annual fee of $150. Plug-in hybrid electric vehicle and HEV owners must pay an annual fee of $75. Beginning July 1, 2021, the Mississippi Department of Revenue will increase the fee annually to account for inflation, equal to the increase in the Consumer Price Index for urban consumers for the prior year. (Reference House Bill 1, 2018, and Mississippi Code 27-19-23)
More Laws and Incentives
To find laws and incentives for other alternative fuels and advanced vehicles, search all laws and incentives.