Electricity Laws and Incentives in Nebraska

The list below contains summaries of all Nebraska laws and incentives related to electricity.

Laws and Regulations

Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) Registration

A fee of $75 is required for the registration of an AFV that operates on electricity, solar power, or any other source of energy not otherwise taxed under the state motor fuel tax laws. Compressed natural gas, liquefied natural gas, and propane are not subject to this requirement. (Reference Nebraska Revised Statutes 60-306 and 60-3,191)

State Incentives

Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) and Fueling Infrastructure Loans

The Nebraska Energy Office administers the Dollar and Energy Saving Loan Program, which makes low-cost loans available for a variety of alternative fuel projects, including the replacement of conventional vehicles with AFVs; the purchase of new AFVs; the conversion of conventional vehicles to operate on alternative fuels; and the construction or purchase of fueling stations or equipment. The maximum loan amount is $500,000 per borrower, and the interest rate is 5% or less. For more information, see the Dollar and Energy Saving Loans website.

Point of Contact
Bruce Hauschild
Energy Technical Advisor
Nebraska Department of Environment and Energy
Phone: (402) 471-2867
bruce.hauschild@nebraska.gov

Nebraska's National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Nebraska Department of Transportation (NDOT) to submit an annual EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office of Energy and Transportation (Joint Office) beginning August 1, 2022, describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. The submitted plan must be established according to NEVI guidance.

For more information about Nebraska’s NEVI planning process, see the NDOT NEVI website. To review Nebraska’s NEVI plan, see the Joint Office State Plans for EV Charging website.

Utility/Private Incentives

Electric Vehicle (EV) Event Incentive – Nebraska Public Power District (NPPD)

NPPD offers wholesale utility, vehicle dealership, and community-based entity customers a 100% reimbursement, up to $2,000, for the cost of hosting an EV event in partnership with local utilities. For more information, including event guidelines, see the NPPD EV Promotional Events website.

Electric Vehicle (EV) Event Incentive – Southern Public Power District (SPPD)

SPPD offers wholesale utility, vehicle dealership, and community-based entity customers a 100% reimbursement, up to $2,000, for the cost of hosting an EV event in partnership with local utilities. For more information, including event guidelines, see the SPPD EV Promotional Events website.

Electric Vehicle (EV) and EV Charging Station Rebate – SPPD

Southern Public Power District (SPPD) offers residential customers a $500 rebate for the installation of an eligible Level 2 EV charging station. SPPD also offers residential customers an additional rebate of up to $600 for the pre-wiring upgrades necessary to support EV charging stations. Eligible residential customers include single- and multi-family residences.

SPPD offers non-profit customers a 90% reimbursement for the installation of a public Level 2 or direct current fast charging (DCFC) station. New commercial construction projects are eligible for a reimbursement of 100% of electrical conduit upgrade costs required to support EV charging stations, up to $1,000. SPPD also offers business customers a rebate for EV charging stations, up to $200 per kilowatt. Businesses may receive a maximum of four rebates for Level 2 charging stations or one rebate for a DCFC station. Rebates are available on a first-come, first-served basis. For more information, including eligible EV charging stations and how to apply, see the SPPD Incentive Programs website.

Electric Vehicle (EV) and EV Charging Station Rebates – NPPD

Nebraska Public Power District (NPPD) offers residential customers a $500 rebate for the installation of an eligible Level 2 EV charging station. NPPD also offers residential customers an additional rebate of up to $600 for the pre-wiring upgrades necessary to support EV charging stations. Eligible residential customers include single- and multi-family residences.

NPPD offers non-profit customers a 90% reimbursement for the installation of a public Level 2 or direct current fast charging (DCFC) station. New commercial construction projects are eligible for a reimbursement of 100% of electrical conduit upgrade costs required to support EV charging stations, up to $1,000. NPPD also offers business customers a rebate for EV charging stations, up to $200 per kilowatt. Businesses may receive a maximum of four rebates for Level 2 charging stations or one rebate for a DCFC station. Rebates are available on a first-come, first-served basis. For more information, including eligible EV charging stations and how to apply, see the NPPD Incentive Programs website.

More Laws and Incentives

To find laws and incentives for other alternative fuels and advanced vehicles, search all laws and incentives.