Florida Laws and Incentives
Listed below are the summaries of all current Florida laws, incentives, regulations, funding opportunities, and other initiatives related to alternative fuels and vehicles, advanced technologies, or air quality. You can go directly to summaries of:
Florida’s National Electric Vehicle Infrastructure (NEVI) Planning
The U.S. Department of Transportation’s (DOT) NEVI Formula Program requires the Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) to submit an annual EV Infrastructure Deployment Plan (Plan) to the DOT and U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Joint Office of Energy and Transportation (Joint Office), describing how the state intends to distribute NEVI funds. The submitted plans must be established according to NEVI guidance.
For more information about Florida’s NEVI planning process, see the FDOT Electric Vehicle Infrastructure Funding website. To review Florida’s NEVI plan, see the Joint Office State Plans for EV Charging website.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Financing Authorization
Local governments may offer funding to property owners within their jurisdiction to help finance EV charging station installations on their property or enter into a financing agreement for the same purpose. For additional information, property owners should contact their local government.
(Reference Florida Statutes 163.08)
Excise Tax Exemption for Biodiesel Produced by Schools
Biodiesel fuel manufactured by a public or private secondary school is exempt from the diesel fuel excise tax and the associated registration requirements. To qualify for the exemption, total annual production of biodiesel must be less than 1,000 gallons and may only be used by the school, its employees, or its students.
(Reference Florida Statutes 206.874)
Idle Reduction and Natural Gas Vehicle (NGV) Weight Exemption
Any motor vehicle equipped with idle reduction technology may exceed the gross vehicle or internal bridge weight by the amount equal to the certified weight of the idle reduction technology, up to 550 pounds (lbs.). To be eligible, the operator must present written verification of the weight of the idle reduction technology and demonstrate that it is fully functional at all times. Any NGV may exceed the limits by up to 2,000 lbs.
(Reference Florida Statutes 316.545)
Utility / Private Incentives
Commercial Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Pilot Program – Tampa Electric Company (TECO)
TECO’s Drive Smart Program offers business customers a rebate of up to $5,000 per port for the purchase and installation of public EV charging stations. Eligible project locations include workplace, public or retail, multi-unit dwelling, income-qualified, and government sites. Additional funding is available for EV charging stations installed in income-qualified areas and government sites. For more information, including program terms and conditions, see the TECO Drive Smart website.
Commercial Electrification Rebates - Jacksonville Electric Authority (JEA)
JEA offers commercial customers rebates for the purchase or lease of electric vehicles (EVs) and EV charging stations. EVs and EV charging stations must be purchased and installed between October 1, 2019, and September 30, 2025. EV rebate amounts are as follows:
|Electric Public Transit Bus and Electric School Bus||Custom|
|Electric Aircraft Tractor and Pushback||Up to $1,300|
|Heavy-Duty Truck Stop Electrification/td>||Up to $1,600|
|Tractor Trailer Electric Truck Refrigeration Unit (TRU); Electric Scissor and Boom Lift||Up to $1,000|
|Electric Belt Loader||Up to $800|
|Electric Forklift, Welder, Scissor Lift||Up to $700|
|Electric Beverage Cart||Up to $600|
|Electric Baggage and Tow Tractors; Box Truck Electric TRU; Electric Scrubber||Up to $400|
|Electric Golf Cart||Up to $200|
EV charging station minimum rebate amounts are as follows:
|Technology||Minimum Rebate Amounts|
|Direct Current Fast Charging Stations||$5,200|
|Level 2 EV charging stations||$1,000|
Electric bus projects may be evaluated on a case-by-case basis. For more information, including eligibility requirements and additional rebates, see the JEA Electrification Rebates website.
Residential Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Charging Rebate - JEA
Jacksonville Electric Authority (JEA) offers residential customers with Level 2 EV charging station an incentive of up to $7 per month to encourage EV charging station use during off-peak hours. Additionally, residential customers may receive up to $300 for the pre-wiring necessary to support a Level 2 EV charging station. For more information, including program terms and conditions, see the JEA EV Options website.
All-Electric Vehicle (EV) and EV Charging Station Rebates - KUA
Kissimmee Utility Authority (KUA) provides rebates of $100 to residential customers for the purchase of a new EV and $100 for the purchase and installation of a home EV charging station. The EV must be registered to the customer’s address and a proof of purchase is required. The EV charging station must be installed by a licensed electrical contractor and must meet all state and local codes. Rebates are limited to one rebate per vehicle and one EV charging station rebate per household. For more information, see the KUA Rebates and Participating Contractors website.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Rebate - Orlando Utilities Commission (OUC)
OUC provides rebates of $200 to residential customers who purchase or lease an eligible new or preowned EV. Applicants must apply within six months of the purchase or lease of the EV. For more information, see the OUC Electric Vehicles website.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Leasing Program - Orlando Utilities Commission (OUC)
OUC commercial customers can pay a monthly fee for the installation and maintenance of an OUC-owned Level 2 or direct current fast charging (DCFC) stations. For more information, see the OUC Commercial EV Charging Service website.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Incentive for Dealerships – Orlando Utilities Commission (OUC)
OUC offers financial incentives to dealerships for the sale or lease of an EV. Incentives are awarded in the following amounts:
|Number of Vehicles Sold per Month||Incentive per Vehicle|
|Three or more EVs||$75|
OUC customers may receive a $50 gift card when they test drive an EV at a participating OUC dealership. For more information, see OUC's Electrified Dealership Program website.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Incentives - Brickell Energy
Brickell Energy’s aFLoat Program offers two different incentives to facilitate the installation of EV charging stations in Florida. Through the aFLoat Host Agreement, Brickell Energy will cover the cost of hardware, network service plans, management service, and warranties. Eligible hosts include commercial real estate property owners and managers. Hosts must cover the cost of installation. The aFLoat Rental Plan offers public and commercial locations, the EV charging station hardware, network service plan, management service, and warranties at a reduced fee. Additional terms and conditions apply. For more information, see Brickell Energy’s aFLoat Program website.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Pilot Program - Duke Energy
Duke Energy’s Park and Plug Program will assist business customers with the installation of Level 2 and direct current fast charging (DCFC) station. Eligible installations must be publicly accessible 24 hours daily, near high-traffic corridors, well-lit, and near retail, restaurant, or other amenities. For more information, including application requirements, see the Duke Energy Park & Plug website.
Commercial Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rebates - Duke Energy
Duke Energy offers rebates to commercial customers for the installation of Level 2 and direct current fast charging (DCFC) stations. Rebate amounts vary by EV charging station technology and applicant type. Eligible applicants may receive up to 10 rebates per location. For more information, including rebate amounts, see the Duke Energy Commercial Charger Rebate website.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Credit - Duke Energy
Duke Energy offers a $10 monthly credit to residential customers who charge EVs during off-peak hours. Eligible customers must have a Level 2 EV charging station. Participation is limited and available on a first-come, first-served basis. For more information, see the Duke Energy Off-Peak Charging Credit website.
Commercial Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Incentive – Florida Power & Light (FPL)
FPL offers to purchase, install, operate, and maintain direct current fast charging EV charging stations on commercial properties at no cost to the site host. For more information, see the FPL EVolution Public website.
Fleet Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Incentive – Florida Power & Light (FPL)
FPL offers advisory services to public and private fleets to analyze electrification opportunities. FPL will also design, purchase, install, operate, and maintain fleet EV charging stations for a fixed monthly fee. For more information, see the FPL EVolution Fleet website.
Residential Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Program – Florida Power & Light (FPL)
The FPL Evolution Home program provides residential customers with electrical upgrades and a Level 2 EV charging station for a flat monthly fee. The fee covers make-ready costs and EV charging station installation and maintenance. For more information, see the FPL EVolution Home website.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Infrastructure Support
Florida utilities joined the National Electric Highway Coalition (NEHC), committing to create a network of direct current fast charging (DCFC) stations connecting major highway systems from the Atlantic Coast to the Pacific of the United States. NEHC utility members agree to ensure efficient and effective fast charging deployment plans that enable long distance EV travel, avoiding duplication among coalition utilities, and complement existing corridor DCFC sites. For more information, including a list of participating utilities and states, see the NEHC website.
Laws and Regulations
State Highway Electrification Plan
The Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) must create a master plan for the development of electric vehicle supply (EV) charging stations along the State Highway System by July 1, 2021. FDOT will also establish staging area that will include EV charging stations at key locations along the State Highway system to be used as emergency evacuation stops. FDOT published the Electric Vehicle Master Plan in 2021.
(Reference Florida Statutes 339.287 and 338.236)
Autonomous Vehicle (AV) Testing and Operation
An AV and on-demand AV network may operate in Florida if the driving system complies with all applicable federal and state traffic and motor vehicle safety, insurance, and registration laws and regulations. AVs are motor vehicle equipped with automated driving system technology that allows vehicle automation to perform the entire driving task on a sustained basis.
The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles must develop a Strategic Intermodal System Plan every 5 years that includes a needs assessment which considers infrastructure and technological improvements, such as automated driving systems. The Florida Turnpike Enterprise may enter into one or more agreements to fund, construct, and operate facilities for the advancement of autonomous and connected technologies to improve safety and reduce congestion. Other conditions apply.
Automated Vehicle (AV) Grading Standards for State Highways
The Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) must coordinate with related federal, regional, local, and industry partners to establish standards to grade the compatibility of the State Highway System with AVs. FDOT must consider the structural adequacy and safety of each road and the challenges they may present to AVs. The standards established by FDOT must be incorporated into transportation projects that involve the construction of new roads or maintenance of existing roads on the State Highway System.
Natural Gas and Propane Retailer License
Natural gas and propane retailers must obtain a license from the Florida Department of Revenue. Through December 31, 2023, a retailer that does not hold a valid license is subject to a penalty of $200 per month of operation without a license. Beginning January 1, 2024, the penalty will be 25% of the tax assessed on total purchases. Exemptions may apply.
(Reference Florida Statutes 206.9951 and 206.9952)
Natural Gas and Propane Tax
Effective January 1, 2024, propane, compressed natural gas (CNG), and liquefied natural gas (LNG) will be subject to an excise tax at a rate of $0.04 per gasoline gallon equivalent (GGE), plus a $0.01 ninth-cent fuel tax, a $0.01 local option fuel tax, and an additional variable component to be determined by the Florida Department of Revenue (Department) each calendar year for the following 12-month period. To determine this tax, the Department will require each propane and natural gas retailer to file monthly electronic reports beginning February 2024. For taxation purposes, one GGE is equal to 5.66 pounds (lbs.) or 126.67 standard cubic feet of CNG; 6.06 lbs. of LNG; and 1.35 gallons of propane. Exemptions may apply. (Reference Florida Statutes 206.9955, 206.9965, and 206.996)
Public Utility Definition
Electric vehicle (EV) charging made available to the public by a non-utility is not considered a retail sale of electricity and, therefore, the rates, terms, and conditions of EV charging services are not subject to regulation.
(Reference Florida Statutes 366.94)
Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station and Natural Gas Vehicle (NGV) Policies for Condominiums
Condominium associations may not prohibit or restrict the installation or use of EV charging station or NGV fueling station in a homeowner’s designated parking space. Condominium associations may put reasonable restrictions on EV charging station or NGV fueling station, but the policies may not significantly increase the cost of the EV charging station or NGV fueling station or prohibit installation. Homeowners may be required to comply with applicable safety codes and architectural standards, engage a licensed installation contractor, provide a certificate of insurance, and reimburse the cost of any increased insurance premium associated with the EV charging station or NGV fueling station. The homeowner of the parking space equipped with EV charging stations or NGV fuel is responsible for the cost of the installation, operation, maintenance, repair, removal, or replacement of the station, as well as any resulting damage to the EV charging station or surrounding area.
(Reference Florida Statutes 718.113)
Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Rules
A person may not stop, stand, or park a vehicle that is not capable of using EV charging stations in a parking space designated for electric vehicles. To allow for consistency for consumers and the industry, the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services must adopt additional rules to provide definitions, methods of sale, labeling requirements, and price-posting requirements for EV charging stations.
(Reference Florida Statutes 366.94)
Authorization for Alternative Fuel Infrastructure Incentives
Local governments may use income from the infrastructure surtax to provide loans, grants, or rebates to residential or commercial property owners to install electric vehicle supply equipment, propane fueling infrastructure, and natural gas fueling infrastructure, if a local government ordinance authorizing this use is approved by referendum.
(Reference Florida Statutes 206.9951 and 212.055)
Electric Vehicle (EV) Insurance Regulation
Insurance companies may not impose surcharges on EVs based on factors such as new technology, passenger payload, weight-to-horsepower ratio, and the types of material used to manufacture the vehicle, unless the Florida Office of Insurance Regulation receives actuarial data that determines the surcharges are justified.
(Reference Florida Statutes 627.06535)
Alternative Fuel Economic Development
To stimulate local economic development, landowners may apply to amend the local government comprehensive plan to expand existing uses of rural agricultural industrial centers to include facilities that prepare biomass materials that can be used for the production of fuel, renewable energy, bioenergy, or alternative fuel. In addition, permitting agencies may expedite applications and local comprehensive plan amendments submitted for projects resulting in the production of biofuels or construction of a biofuel processing facility.
(Reference Florida Statutes 163.3177 and 403.973)
Fuel-Efficient Vehicle Acquisition and Alternative Fuel Use Requirements
When procuring new vehicles under a state purchasing plan, all Florida state agency, state university, community college, and local government fleets must select the vehicles with the greatest fuel efficiency available for a given use class, when fuel economy data is available. Exceptions may be made for emergency responder vehicles if these entities provide documentation. In addition, all state agencies must use ethanol and biodiesel blended fuels when available. State agencies administering central fueling operations for state-owned vehicles must purchase ethanol and biodiesel fuels to use in their vehicle fleet as much as possible.
(Reference Florida Statutes 286.29)
Biodiesel Producer Fuel Tax
Municipalities, counties, or school districts producing biodiesel must file a return documenting their biodiesel production activities and pay $0.03 of the $0.04 excise tax each month to the Florida Department of Revenue.
(Reference Florida Statutes 206.87 and 206.874)
The Florida Department of Management Services (DMS), in coordination with the Florida Department of Transportation (DOT), must conduct an analysis of fuel additives and biofuels DOT uses through its central fueling facilities. The DMS must also encourage other state government entities to analyze transportation fuel usage, including the types and percentages of fuels consumed, and report this information to the DMS.
(Reference Florida Statutes 287.16)
Provision for Renewable Fuels Investment
To create jobs and improve the state's general infrastructure, the Florida State Board of Administration may invest up to 1.5% of the net assets of the system trust fund in technology and growth investments of businesses operating in Florida, including businesses related to biofuels, renewable energy, and other related applications. (Reference Florida Statutes 215.47)
Low-Speed Vehicle Access to Roadways
A low-speed vehicle, including a neighborhood electric vehicle, is defined as any four-wheeled vehicle that is capable of operating at a speed of at least 20 miles per hour (mph), but not greater than 25 mph. Low-speed vehicle operators must comply with the safety standards in Title 49 of the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations, section 571.500, and Florida Statutes 316.2122, and license the vehicle as required under state guidelines. Seasonal delivery personnel may only use low-speed vehicles during certain yearly timeframes. Additional safety standards and conditions apply.