Expired, Repealed, and Archived Nebraska Incentives and Laws

The following is a list of expired, repealed, and archived incentives, laws, regulations, funding opportunities, or other initiatives related to alternative fuels and vehicles, advanced technologies, or air quality.

Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Rebate

Archived: 06/12/2020

The Nebraska Department of Environment and Energy (NDEE) provides funding for the purchase, installation, operation, and maintenance of Level 2 and direct current (DC) fast charger EVSE. NDEE will reimburse up to 50% of the costs of Level 2 EVSE and up to 80% of DC fast EVSE. Additional requirements may apply. The program is funded by Nebraska’s portion of the Volkswagen Environmental Mitigation Trust. For more information, including application details, visit the NDEE Volkswagen Settlement website.

Natural Gas Vehicle Weight Exemption

Archived: 06/12/2020

The maximum gross weight for any vehicle fueled primarily by natural gas may exceed the state's gross weight limit by the difference between the weight of the natural gas fueling tank and fueling system and the weight of a comparable diesel fueling tank and fueling system, up to 2,000 pounds per vehicle. (Reference Legislative Bill 909, 2018, and Nebraska Revised Statutes 60-6,294)

Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) Conversion Rebate

Archived: 02/01/2018

The Nebraska Energy Office (NEO) offers rebates for qualified AFV conversions completed after January 4, 2016. The rebate amount for vehicle conversions is 50% of the cost of the equipment and installation, up to $4,500 per vehicle. Qualified vehicle conversions include new equipment that is installed in Nebraska by a certified installer to convert a conventional fuel vehicle to operate using a qualified clean-burning motor fuel. These fuels include hydrogen, compressed natural gas, liquefied natural gas, and propane. Conversion systems must have the necessary U.S. Environmental Protection Agency approvals. A vehicle is not eligible for the rebate if another state rebate or grant has been claimed for the same vehicle, and only one rebate from the Clean-Burning Motor Vehicle Fuel Rebates is allowed. NEO will process applications on a first-come, first-served basis until program funds are depleted. Other terms and conditions may apply. For more information, including the application, see the NEO Clean-Burning Motor Vehicle Fuel Rebates website. (Reference Nebraska Revised Statutes 66-203)

Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) Rebate

Archived: 02/01/2018

The Nebraska Energy Office (NEO) offers rebates for qualified AFVs purchased after January 4, 2016. Qualified AFVs include new vehicles running on hydrogen, compressed natural gas, liquefied natural gas, or propane; leased vehicles are not eligible. The rebate amount is 50% of the incremental cost of the vehicle compared to the manufacturer's suggested retail price of the conventional equivalent, up to $4,500. For vehicles that do not have a conventional fuel equivalent, the rebate amount is up to $4,500 per vehicle, based on the cost of the equipment to store, deliver, and exhaust the qualified clean-burning motor vehicle fuel on the vehicle. A vehicle is not eligible for the rebate if another state rebate or grant has been claimed for the same vehicle, and only one rebate from the Clean-Burning Motor Vehicle Fuel Rebates is allowed. NEO will process applications on a first-come, first-served basis until program funds are depleted. Other terms and conditions may apply. For more information, including the application, see the NEO Clean-Burning Motor Vehicle Fuel Rebates website. (Reference Nebraska Revised Statutes 66-203)

Residential Compressed Natural Gas (CNG) Fueling Infrastructure Rebate

Archived: 02/01/2018

The Nebraska Energy Office (NEO) offers rebates for qualified CNG fueling infrastructure that is installed at a residence after January 4, 2016. The rebate amount is 50% of the cost of the fueling infrastructure, up to $2,500 for each installation. Qualified fueling infrastructure includes new dispensers certified for use with CNG from a private home or residence for non-commercial use. Fueling infrastructure is not eligible for a rebate if another state rebate or grant has been claimed for the equipment, and only one rebate from the Clean-Burning Motor Vehicle Fuel Rebates is allowed. NEO will process applications on a first-come, first-served basis until program funds are depleted. Other terms and conditions may apply. For more information, including the application, see the NEO Clean-Burning Motor Vehicle Fuel Rebates website. (Reference Nebraska Revised Statutes 66-203)

Alternative Fuel Use

Archived: 05/01/2016

All state employees operating flexible fuel or diesel vehicles as part of the state fleet must use E85 or biodiesel blends whenever reasonably available. Additionally, the Nebraska Transportation Services Bureau and Nebraska Department of Roads must take steps to increase access to E85 and blends of 2% biodiesel (B2) for state vehicle operators. (Reference Executive Order 05-03, 2005)

Biodiesel Production Investment Tax Credit

Archived: 08/01/2015

Investors in Nebraska biodiesel production facilities are eligible to receive a tax credit of 30% of the amount invested in the facility between January 1, 2008, and January 1, 2015, up to $250,000. The credit is only available for facilities that produce B100, conduct all processing in Nebraska, and are at least 51% owned by Nebraska individuals or entities. The state may reclaim the tax credit if the biodiesel production facility remains in operation for less than three years. B100 is defined as a pure biodiesel containing mono-alkyl esters of long chain fatty acids derived from vegetable oils or animal fats that meets ASTM standard D6751. For more information, see the Nebraska Department of Revenue's website. (Reference Nebraska Revised Statutes 77-27,236)

Advanced Biofuels Strategic Plan

Archived: 08/01/2013

The Natural Resources Committee of the Legislature (Committee) worked with Bio Nebraska, a nonprofit corporation, to develop a five-year strategic plan to grow the bioscience industry in the state. The Nebraska Bioscience Roadmap 2010 includes recommendations related to the development of advanced biofuels. The Committee will prepare and present annual updates on the strategic plan to the Legislature. (Reference Nebraska Statutes 50-501)

Regional Biofuels Corridor

Archived: 08/31/2012

Nebraska joined Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin in adopting a cooperative initiative under the Energy Security and Climate Stewardship Platform Plan (Platform). The Platform establishes a regional biofuels corridor program and directs state transportation, agriculture, and regulatory officials to develop a system of coordinated signage across the Midwest for biofuels and advanced transportation fuels and to collaborate to create regional E85 corridors. The program requires standardized fuel product coding at fueling stations as well as increased education for retailers about converting existing fueling infrastructure to dispense E85.

Ethanol Production Tax Credit

Expired: 06/30/2012

A new ethanol facility that reached a minimum annual production capacity of 100,000 gallons, before denaturing, before June 30, 2004, may be eligible for a tax credit in the form of a transferable motor vehicle tax credit certificate of $0.18 per gallon of ethanol produced. This credit is available to the facility for 96 consecutive months beginning with the first calendar month of eligibility and ending no later than June 30, 2012. Credits are available for up to 15,625,000 gallons of ethanol produced annually at each facility, and for up to 125,000,000 gallons of ethanol produced at each facility by the end of the 96-month period. Credits are only available for ethanol produced at a facility in Nebraska at which all fermentation, distillation, and dehydration takes place. Producers must have entered into an agreement with the Nebraska Tax Commissioner before April 16, 2004, to receive credits and submit the claims for credits to the Nebraska Department of Revenue within three years of the date of ethanol production, or by September 30, 2012, whichever occurs first. Other restrictions may apply. (Reference Nebraska Statutes 66-1344 and 66-1344.01)

Alternative Fuel User Tax and Registration

Repealed: 05/24/2011

The following was repealed by Legislative Bill 289, 2011: The Alternative Fuel Tax Act requires individuals to purchase an alternative fuel user permit to pay their estimated fuel tax liability for vehicles that operate using an alternative fuel on state highways. Alternative fuels include electricity and any other source of energy not otherwise taxed under the motor fuel tax laws; compressed natural gas, liquefied natural gas, and liquefied petroleum gas are not subject to this requirement. A fee of $75 is assessed at the time the individual submits the alternative fuel user permit application to the Motor Fuel Tax Enforcement and Collection Division of the Nebraska Department of Revenue. (Reference Nebraska Statutes 66-684 through 66-695)