Expired, Repealed, and Archived Wyoming Incentives and Laws
The following is a list of expired, repealed, and archived incentives, laws, regulations, funding opportunities, or other initiatives related to alternative fuels and vehicles, advanced technologies, or air quality.
YTCC offers a rebate of $5,000 toward the purchase of publicly accessible EVSE. Eligible entities include businesses and municipalities in the communities surrounding Grand Teton National Park and Yellowstone National Park. Rebates are available on a first-come, first-served basis. For more information, see the YTCC Vehicle and Infrastructure Rebates website.
The Wyoming Department of Administration and Information, University of Wyoming, community colleges, and state agencies must ensure that at least 50% of their vehicle acquisitions that meet the following criteria are dedicated or bi-fuel compressed natural gas (CNG) vehicles:
- The motor vehicle will be stationed in a municipality or locality with an existing or planned CNG fueling station that is or will be accessible with the correct volume, flow rate, and footprint
- The motor vehicle is readily commercially available in a dedicated or bi-fuel CNG model.
Exceptions apply in situations where CNG or NGVs are not feasible or are economically impractical. The governor may waiver the requirements if the responsible department or agency demonstrates financial hardship. The requirements are effective through June 30, 2017.
(Reference Wyoming Statutes 9-18-101 through 9-18-102, and 9-2-1016)
The Wyoming State Energy Office (SEO) offers grants of up to $5,000 to municipalities in the state to conduct feasibility studies related to acquiring alternative fuel vehicles or developing fueling infrastructure. Awardees must submit final feasibility studies to the SEO within 180 days of the grant execution date. Eligible applicants are required to provide at least a 10% cash match. Other terms and conditions may apply. Funding is not currently available for this incentive (verified February 2017). For more information, see the SEO Energy Assistance website.
In 2011, Wyoming joined Arkansas, Colorado, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Mississippi, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and West Virginia in signing a memorandum of understanding (MOU) to stimulate the production and demand for original equipment manufacturer (OEM) NGVs. The MOU aims to encourage OEMs to offer functional and affordable light- and medium-duty NGVs, aggregate state vehicle procurement through a joint request for proposals (RFP), boost private investment in natural gas fueling infrastructure, and encourage greater coordination between state and local agencies. In 2012, National Association of State Procurement Officials coordinated the solicitation of a joint RFP, which the Oklahoma Department of Central Services (DCS) issued on behalf of the MOU signatories, as well as additional states. As a result, state fleets have access to more affordable NGVs through dealerships now included in state vehicle purchasing bids. For more information, including awarded vehicles by state and vehicle purchase information for state fleets, see the DCS Statewide Contract for NGVs solicitation page.
Anyone who imports, exports, or supplies ethanol in the state of Wyoming must obtain an annual license from the Wyoming Department of Transportation. The fee for each license is $25. (Reference Wyoming Statutes 39-17-106)
The Yellowstone-Teton Clean Energy Coalition is offering a rebate of up to $3,000 towards the purchase of original equipment manufacturer (OEM) propane, all-electric, or plug-in hybrid electric vehicles. U.S. Environmental Protection Agency certified conversions of conventional vehicles to propane also qualify. Eligible entities include governments, businesses, nonprofits, and individuals; additional eligibility requirements may apply. Applications will be accepted through March 31, 2015. For more information, see the Alternative Fuel Vehicle Rebate Program page.
The Yellowstone-Teton Clean Energy Coalition is offering a rebate for original equipment manufacturer (OEM) CNG vehicles and CNG vehicle conversions. The rebate is available for 50% of the incremental cost of the OEM CNG vehicle, 50% of the cost of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) certified conversion, up to $2,000. Funding is available for 12 vehicles or vehicle conversions. Eligible entities include governments, businesses, nonprofits, and individuals; additional eligibility requirements may apply. Applications will be accepted through March 31, 2015. For more information, see the Alternative Fuel Vehicle Rebate Program page.
Under direction from the state legislature, the Wyoming Department of Administration and Information (A&I) completed A Feasibility Study of Natural Gas Vehicle Conversion in Wyoming Public School Districts, which explores the options, benefits, and challenges of converting school district vehicles, including school buses, to NGVs. (Reference Senate File 1, 2012)
The Wyoming Departments of Transportation and Administration and Information must retrofit existing vehicles or acquire new vehicles that operate on natural gas or a combination of natural gas and another fuel by July 1, 2012. $200,000 in funding is available to retrofit or procure the vehicles. (Reference House Enrolled Act 67, 2011)
Ethanol fuel producers may redeem a tax credit of $0.40 per gallon with the Wyoming Department of Transportation. Ethanol blended motor fuel is defined as a blend of 10% ethanol and 90% gasoline that is used to operate motor vehicles. To be eligible to receive this credit, at least 25% of an ethanol producer's distillation feedstock purchases must be products that originate in Wyoming, excluding water, during the year the tax credits were earned. The total credits redeemed by all ethanol producers may not exceed $4 million per year, and the total credits redeemed by any individual ethanol producer may not exceed $2 million per year.
Additionally, an ethanol producer constructing a new ethanol production facility may receive tax credits for a period not to exceed 15 years after the date that construction is completed. Any ethanol producer that expands its production by at least 25% is eligible for tax credits with an increased maximum amount. Qualifying ethanol producers may only receive a tax credit through June 30, 2009.
(Reference Wyoming Statutes 39-17-109 and 40-7-102)