Expired, Repealed, and Archived Utah Incentives and Laws
The following is a list of expired, repealed, and archived incentives, laws, regulations, funding opportunities, or other initiatives related to alternative fuels and vehicles, advanced technologies, or air quality.
The Utah Clean Fuels and Vehicle Technology Grant and Loan Program, funded through the Clean Fuels and Vehicle Technology Fund, provides grants and loans to assist businesses and government entities to include:
- Up to 50% of the incremental cost of purchasing original equipment manufactured clean fuel vehicles,
- Up to 50% of the cost of converting vehicles to a cleaner burning fuel, and
- The cost of fueling equipment for public/private sector business and government vehicles (grants require federal and non-federal matching funds).
The Utah Department of Administrative Services Division of Fleet Services (Division) may allow a private individual or entity to purchase CNG from a state-operated fueling station if there are no commercial fueling stations that meet the geographical needs of the individual or entity and there is not an emergency that requires the state to reserve CNG for use by state or emergency vehicles. For information on obtaining an access fueling card , as well as information about state fueling network stations that are available to private individuals and entities, see the Division Fleet website. (Reference Utah Code 63A-9-702)
The Utah Department of Transportation (UDOT) may implement a testing program focused on networked, wireless communication among vehicles, infrastructure, and communication devices. UDOT will report the results of its findings by October 30 of any year that they conduct a testing program. Testing must be conducted outside of an urbanized boundary as defined by the U.S. Census Bureau. (Reference Utah Code 41-6a-711)
An interlocal entity composed of members from state and local government, school and transit districts, and the private sector may be created to promote the conversion of AFVs and to encourage the construction, operation, and maintenance of facilities for AFVs. The interlocal entity may contribute funding for an AFV facility so long as the entity uses or benefits from the facility. It must also work with the Utah Public Service Commission (Commission) to explore options and opportunities to facilitate AFV conversions and promote the enhancement and expansion of infrastructure and facilities for AFVs throughout Utah.
The Commission submitted a report to the governor on September 20, 2013, outlining options and opportunities for advancing and promoting measures, such as AFV conversions, to result in cleaner air in Utah.
(Reference Utah Code 54-1-13 and 11-13-224)
The Utah Public Service Commission (PSC) may authorize a utility to spend up to $2,000,000 annually for the cost of a PEV incentive program through December 31, 2021. The PSC must approve the program by July 1, 2017; programs may involve PEV charging infrastructure, PEV charging time of use pricing, and other incentives for customers to deploy charging infrastructure. (Reference Utah Code 54-7-12.8 and 54-20-103)
Through 2016, new electric, natural gas, and propane vehicles registered in Utah are eligible for an income tax credit of 35% of the vehicle purchase price, up to $1,500. Plug-in hybrid electric vehicles (PHEVs) will be eligible for a tax credit of $1,000. Leased electric, natural gas, and propane vehicles are eligible for a tax credit on a prorated basis up to $1,500. Leased plug-in hybrid electric vehicles will be eligible for a prorated tax credit up to $1,000. For additional information, including eligible vehicles and restrictions, see the Clean Fuel Vehicle Tax Credit website. (Reference House Bill 87, 2016, and Utah Code 19-1-406, 59-7-605, and 59-10-1009)
In 2011, Utah joined Arkansas, Colorado, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Mississippi, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wyoming in signing a memorandum of understanding (MOU) to stimulate the production and demand for original equipment manufacturer (OEM) NGVs. The MOU aims to encourage OEMs to offer functional and affordable light- and medium-duty NGVs, aggregate state vehicle procurement through a joint request for proposals (RFP), boost private investment in natural gas fueling infrastructure, and encourage greater coordination between state and local agencies. In 2012, National Association of State Procurement Officials coordinated the solicitation of a joint RFP, which the Oklahoma Department of Central Services (DCS) issued on behalf of the MOU signatories and additional states. As a result, state fleets have access to more affordable NGVs through dealerships now included in state vehicle purchasing bids. For more information, including awarded vehicles by state and vehicle purchase information for state fleets, see the DCS Statewide Contract for NGVs solicitation page.
To encourage the use of natural gas in the transportation sector, the state of Utah encourages the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) to take action to facilitate vehicle conversions. Specifically, the state recommends that EPA revise certification requirements for small volume conversion manufacturers, provide guidance to those manufacturers regarding the conversion of older vehicle models, and continue a NGV research, development, and demonstration funding program. The state also encourages the formation of public and private partnerships to increase the states' vehicle fueling infrastructure. (Reference House Concurrent Resolution 1, 2009)
Vehicles with clean fuel license plates are authorized to travel in HOV lanes regardless of the number of occupants, to the extent authorized or permitted by federal law or federal regulation. The clean fuel plate must be purchased from a Utah Motor Vehicles office for a fee of $15. Vehicle owners must first obtain a C Plate permit from the Utah Department of Transportation. To be eligible for a clean fuel license plate, a vehicle must meet the definition of a clean fuel vehicle as defined in Utah Code 59-13-102. (Reference Utah Code 41-1a-418, 41-1a-1211, 41-6a-702 and 59-13-102)