Expired, Repealed, and Archived Arizona Incentives and Laws
The following is a list of expired, repealed, and archived incentives, laws, regulations, funding opportunities, or other initiatives related to alternative fuels and vehicles, advanced technologies, or air quality.
SRP offers rebates to commercial customers who install networked Level 2 or direct current fast charging (DCFC) stations. Government, non-profit, school, and multifamily customers are eligible for higher rebate amounts. Rebates are available in the following amounts:
|EV Charging Station Type
|Networked Level 2
|$1,500 per port; up to 75 ports
|$4,000 per port; up to 75 ports
|$15,000 per port; up to three ports
|$20,000 per port; up to three ports
EV charging stations must be installed between May 1, 2022, and April 30, 2023. Rebates are available on a first-come, first-served basis. For more information, including how to apply, see the SRP Business EV Charger Rebate website.
Arizona state agencies, boards, and commissions must purchase hybrid electric vehicles, alternative fuel vehicles (AFVs), or vehicles that meet set greenhouse gas emissions standards. At least 75% of light-duty state fleet vehicles operating in counties with a population of more than 250,000 people must be capable of operating on alternative fuels. If the AFVs operate in counties with populations of more than 1.2 million people, those vehicles must meet U.S. Environmental Protection Agency emissions standards for Low Emission Vehicles. Alternatively, the state fleet may meet AFV acquisition requirements through biodiesel or alternative fuel use or apply for waivers. For the purpose of these requirements, alternative fuels include propane, natural gas, electricity, hydrogen, qualified diesel fuel substitutes, E85, and a blend of hydrogen with propane or natural gas.
(Reference Arizona Revised Statutes 41-803)
Arizona state agencies must support the testing and operation of AVs on public roads. Testing and operation of AVs must follow all applicable federal and state traffic and motor vehicle safety, insurance, accident reporting, titling, and registration laws and regulations. The Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) may implement additional rules necessary to support AVs. Arizona formed the Self-Driving Vehicle Oversight Committee to advise ADOT and facilitate the advancement of AV technology.
Permission to test or operate AVs on public roads will be suspended or revoked if any applicable laws and regulations are violated. To test or operate AVs without a person present in the vehicle, an applicant must submit a written statement to ADOT stating that the vehicle meets all applicable requirements. If the vehicle’s automated driving system fails, the vehicle must be brought to a complete stop or safe state. The Arizona Department of Public Safety and law enforcement agencies will develop protocols on how first responders should interact with a fully autonomous vehicle in emergency and traffic enforcement situations.
(Reference Executive Order 2018-04, 2018 and Executive Order 2015-09, 2015)
Dedicated AFVs qualify for an AFV special license plate, which are available from the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT). Recognized alternative fuels are propane, natural gas, electricity, and hydrogen. There is no limit to the number of AFV license plates ADOT can issue. For more information, see the ADOT AFV website. In addition, certain plug-in hybrid electric vehicles are eligible for the Energy Efficient license plate from ADOT. ADOT has reached its maximum limit of 10,000 vehicles and the issuance of Energy Efficient license plates to new program participants has been suspended until further notice (verified May 2019). For more information, including how to apply, see the ADOT Energy Efficient Plate Program website. (Reference Arizona Revised Statutes 28-2416 and 28-2416.01)
TEP offers a discounted residential service time-of-use (TOU) rate during off-peak periods to customers who own and operate a PEV. The discount is a 5% reduction to applicable charges during the off-peak period. Eligible customers must provide documentation for a highway-approved PEV and submit a copy of the PEV's registration annually. For more information, including the application, see the TEP TOU website.
Vehicles with an Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) or Energy Efficient license plate are permitted to use HOV lanes, regardless of the number of passengers. Qualified vehicles must display the required license plate, which are available from the Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT). Vehicles registered with Energy Efficient plates prior to May 20, 2014, may continue to use HOV lanes until the owner sells or transfers the vehicle. For more information, see the ADOT and the Energy Efficient Plate Program websites. (Reference Arizona Revised Statutes 28-2416, 23-2416.01, and 23-337)
Arizona state agencies must support the testing and operation of AVs on public roads. Universities are encouraged to implement pilot programs for AVs. An employee, contractor, or other authorized person that is licensed to operate a motor vehicle in the United States, must monitor and operate the vehicles. The Arizona Department of Transportation (ADOT) may implement additional rules necessary to support AVs. Arizona formed the Self-Driving Vehicle Oversight Committee to advise ADOT and facilitate the advancement of AV technology. (Reference Executive Order 2015-09, 2015)
A tax credit of up to $75 is available to individuals for the installation of EVSE in a house or housing unit that they have built. To qualify, the outlet must meet certain codes and standards. To apply, see form 319 on the Arizona Department of Revenue’s Credit Forms page. (Reference Arizona Revised Statutes 43-1090 and 43-1176)
As part of the proposal process, any state agency that contracts for the use of on- or off-road heavy-duty diesel equipment in Maricopa, Pima, and Pinal Counties must provide incentives to bidders that use equipment retrofitted with diesel retrofit kits, newer clean diesel technologies and fuels, or biodiesel or other cleaner petroleum diesel alternatives. (Reference Executive Order 2007-03, 2007)
The following was repealed by House Bill 2190, 2016: Within Maricopa, Pinal, and Yavapai counties, school districts with an average student population of more than 3,000 students must ensure that 50% of the portion of the fleet with a gross vehicle weight rating of at least 17,500 pounds per vehicle operates on alternative fuels or meets specified emissions standards. Alternatively, school districts may meet acquisition requirements through alternative fuel use. For the purpose of these requirements, alternative fuels include propane, natural gas, electricity, hydrogen, qualified diesel fuel substitutes, E85, and a blend of hydrogen with propane or natural gas. (Reference Arizona Revised Statutes 15-349 and 49-541)
The Arizona Public Service Company (APS) offers an electricity rate option to residential customers who own a qualified PEV. To be eligible, customers must have an Advanced Metering Infrastructure meter in place. Additional restrictions apply. The rate will be available through December 31, 2015. For more information, see the APS Electric Vehicle Rate Impact website.
The Arizona Biofuel Conversion Program distributes grants to encourage the use of biofuels in the state and to promote the development of fueling infrastructure. Up to $75,000 is available to public and private entities for the incremental cost of projects that result in new or converted biofuel storage and dispensing equipment. Applicants must complete projects within six months of the grant award date. Biofuel is defined as a biomass-derived fuel used directly as a motor fuel. Program funding expired (verified February 2014). (Reference Arizona Revised Statutes 41-112 and 41-2051)
Through the EV Project, ECOtality offers EVSE at no cost to individuals in the Phoenix and Tucson metropolitan areas. To be eligible for free home charging stations, individuals living within the specified areas must purchase a qualified plug-in electric vehicle (PEV). Individuals purchasing an eligible PEV should apply at the dealership at the time of vehicle purchase. The EV Project incentive program will also cover most, if not all, of the costs of EVSE installation. All participants in the EV Project incentive program must agree to anonymous data collection after installation. Additional restrictions may apply.
The following was repealed by a rulemaking process: The Arizona Department of Environmental Quality (ADEQ) has adopted the LEV standards as set forth in Title 13 of the California Code of Regulations including the Zero Emission Vehicle sales and greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions requirements. These regulations apply to passenger cars and light-duty trucks beginning with Model Year (MY) 2012 for traditional pollutants and MY 2013 for GHG emissions. ADEQ and the Climate Change Oversight Group will review the proposed federal vehicle emissions standards to determine if changes should be made to the Arizona regulations. (Reference Executive Order 2010-14, 2010, and Arizona Administrative Code Title 18, Article 18)
(Reference Executive Order 2010-14, 2010, and )
The following was repealed by House Bill 2057, 2010: Motor fuel dispensers used to dispense biodiesel blends of up to 5% must be labeled to indicate that the fuel dispensed may contain up to 5% biodiesel. (Reference House Bill 2330, 2009, and Arizona Revised Statutes 41-2083)
The following was repealed by House Bill 2057, 2010: Biodiesel sold in Arizona must meet the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) specification D6751. Blends of biodiesel sold in Arizona must meet the D975 specifications established by ASTM. Blenders of biodiesel must submit monthly reports on the percentage of biodiesel in the final blend as well as verify the quality of biodiesel to the Director of the Department of Weights and Measures. A person who dispenses biodiesel or ultra low sulfur diesel must label the dispenser with the volume percentage of biodiesel in the final product in addition to the sulfur content. (Reference Senate Bill 1455, 2007, and Arizona Revised Statutes 41-2083 and 41-2051)
The following was repealed by House Bill 2621, 2008: Ethanol blenders and retailers must ensure that E85 blended or sold complies with American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) specification D5798-99. Fuel dispensers and pump nozzles for E85 must display a notice stating that the fuel is for use only in flexible fuel vehicles (FFVs). If all notices are displayed properly, a retail seller of E85 shall not be held liable if a consumer places E85 in a non-FFV. Motor fuel producers must provide a report to the state Department of Weights and Measures including, but not limited to, the following information: the amount of E85 produced, used, or sold each month, and the fuel quality parameters of the ethanol and gasoline used in the blend. (Reference Arizona Revised Statutes 41-2122.01)
For fiscal year 2005-2006, excess revenues received as a result of vehicle emissions inspection fee requirements are to be deposited in the state air quality fund for the purpose of awarding grants to school districts for the incremental cost of purchasing new natural gas school buses or to purchase/retrofit school buses with diesel particulate filters. (Reference House Bill 2591, 2006 and Arizona Revised Statutes 49-551)