Expired, Repealed, and Archived California Incentives and Laws
The following is a list of expired, repealed, and archived incentives, laws, regulations, funding opportunities, or other initiatives related to alternative fuels and vehicles, advanced technologies, or air quality.
Heavy-Duty Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV) Grant - Sacramento
The Sacramento Emergency Clean Air and Transportation (SECAT) Program provides grants to offset the costs of zero-emission heavy-duty vehicles that reduce on-road emissions within the counties of El Dorado, Placer, Sacramento, Sutter, Yolo, and Yuba in California. Eligible projects include the purchase of battery-electric or hydrogen fuel cell trucks, buses, and shuttles. Other advanced technology implementation projects may also qualify. For more information, including current funding opportunities, see the SECAT website. (Reference California Health and Safety Code 44299.50-44299.55)
Electric Forklift Rebate - Turlock Irrigation District (TID)
TID offers commercial customers $1,000 rebate for the purchase of a new, electric Class 1 or Class 2 forklift. For more information, including eligibility requirements, see the TID Commercial Electric Vehicles Rebates website.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Rebate Program
The California Air Resources Board offers point-of-sale rebates of up to $750 for the purchase or lease of a new all-electric or plug-in hybrid electric vehicle through the Clean Fuel Reward Program. Eligible EVs must have a minimum battery capacity of 5 kilowatt-hours and be purchased from participating retailers. Eligible customers must reside in California and register the EV in California. For more information, including vehicle eligibility requirements, see the Clean Fuel Reward website.
Electric Vehicle (EV) Charging Station Loan and Rebate Program
The Electric Vehicle Charging Station Financing Program (Program), part of the California Capital Access Program (CalCAP), provides loans for the design, development, purchase, and installation of EV charging stations at small business locations in California. Small businesses are eligible for a rebate of 10-15% of the enrolled loan amount. Eligible borrowers must be small businesses with 1,000 or fewer employees and must maintain legal control of the EV charging station for the entire loan period. The maximum loan amount is $500,000 per qualified small business and can be insured for up to four years. Projects located in multi-unit dwellings and disadvantaged communities may be eligible for an additional 30% of funding.
The Program may provide up to 100% coverage to lenders on certain loan defaults. Lenders must apply to the California Pollution Control Financing Authority (CPCFA) to participate and enroll each qualified EV charging station loan through CalCAP.
The California Energy Commission funds the Program. For more information, including EV charging station technical requirements and eligibility requirements for both borrowers and lenders, see the Program website.
Natural Gas Vehicle Loan - SoCalGas
Southern California Gas Company’s (SoCalGas) Truck Loan Program provides short-term loans of up to two weeks for medium- and heavy-duty compressed natural gas vehicles at no cost to qualifying customers. For more information, see the SoCalGas NGV Incentives and Grants website.
Plug-In Electric Vehicle (PEV) Charging Rate Reduction - LADWP
The Los Angeles Department of Water and Power (LADWP) offers a $0.025 per kilowatt-hour discount for electricity used to charge PEVs during off-peak times. Residential customers who install a separate time-of-use meter panel will also receive a $250 credit. For more information, see the LADWP Electric Vehicle Incentives website.
Freight Efficiency Action Plan
The California State Transportation Agency, the California Environmental Protection Agency, the Natural Resources Agency, and other state departments implemented the California Sustainable Freight Action Plan (Plan), which establishes targets to improve freight efficiency and transition to zero emission technologies. The Plan identifies state policies, programs, and investments to achieve the following targets:
- Improve freight system efficiency by 25% by 2030; and
- Deploy over 100,000 zero emission freight vehicles and associated equipment, maximizing the number of vehicles powered by renewable energy, by 2030.
Tire Inflation Requirement
The California Air Resources Board (ARB) enforces regulations to reduce greenhouse gas emissions from vehicles operating inefficiently with under inflated tires. These regulations apply to vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating of 10,000 pounds (lbs.) or less. Automotive service providers performing or offering to perform automotive maintenance or repair services in the state must:
- Check and inflate vehicle tires to the manufacturer recommended tire pressure rating, with air or nitrogen as appropriate, using a tire pressure gauge with a total permissible error of no more than plus/minus two lbs. per square inch, when performing maintenance or repair;
- Indicate on the vehicle service invoice that a tire inflation service was completed and specify the resulting pressure measurements;
- Have access to a tire inflation reference published within the last three years; and
- Keep a copy of the service invoice for at least three years and make the invoice available to ARB or an authorized representative upon request.
Technology Advancement Funding - South Coast
The South Coast Air Quality Management District's (SCAQMD) Clean Fuels Program provides funding for research, development, demonstration, and deployment projects that are expected to help accelerate the commercialization of advanced low-emission transportation technologies. Eligible projects include powertrains and energy storage or conversion devices, including fuel cells and batteries, and implementation of clean fuels, including the necessary infrastructure. Qualified clean fuels include, but are not limited to, natural gas, propane, and hydrogen. Projects are selected via specific requests for proposals on an as-needed basis or through unsolicited proposals. For more information, see the SCAQMD Research, Development, Demonstration, and Deployment website.
Plug-In Electric Vehicle (PEV) Rebate - PG&E
Pacific Gas and Electric (PG&E) provides rebates of $800 to residential customers who purchase or lease an eligible PEV. Residential account holders may apply on behalf of a PEV owner in their household or their tenant in a multifamily household with the vehicle owner's permission. For more information, including additional eligibility requirements and how to apply, see the PG&E Clean Fuel Rebate website.
Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV) Programs Report
The California Air Resources Board (ARB), in partnership with its stakeholders, must complete a report that reviews each of ARB's ZEV-related programs by July 1, 2019. Specifically, the report must include an analysis of the greenhouse gas and air quality goals of each ZEV program, the progress of each program towards meeting its goals, and a cost-benefit analysis of each program. In this report, ARB must also propose recommendations for improvements to these programs and on how to encourage the cost-effective deployment of ZEVs in fleets across the state. For more information, see the ARB ZEV Program website. (Reference California Health and Safety Code 43018.8)
Plug-In Electric Vehicle (PEV) Rebate - SCE
Southern California Edison's (SCE) Clean Fuel Reward Program provides rebates of up to $1,000 to residential customers who purchase or lease an eligible new or used PEV. Residential account holders may apply on behalf of a PEV owner in their household. For more information, including additional eligibility requirements and how to apply, see the SCE Clean Fuel Reward Program website.
Residential Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Incentives - SMUD
Sacramento Municipal Utility District (SMUD) offers residential customers a $599 rebate or a free Level 2 (240 volt) EVSE. Rebates or chargers are available to SMUD residential customers with the purchase or lease of a new plug-in electric vehicle (PEV). To be eligible for the rebate or charger, completed applications must be postmarked within 180 days of the date of purchase or lease of the PEV. Additional terms and conditions apply. For more information, including the rebate application, please see SMUD's PEV Incentive website.
Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Rebate - Fresno County
The Fresno County Incentive Project (FCIP), funded by the California Energy Commission, offers rebates of up to $4,000 for single port EVSE and up to $7,000 for dual port EVSE toward the purchase and installation of the unit. Eligible applicants include businesses, non-profit organizations, or government entities based in California, or with a California-based affiliate, as well as property owners or entities with property owner authorization to install EVSE. Qualifying installation sites are commercial, workplace, multi-unit dwelling, or public facilities located in Fresno County. Funding is not currently available at this time (Verified February 2020). For more information, see the FCIP website.
Non-Residential Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Grants - Pacific Power
Pacific Power offers non-residential customers quarterly grants for up to 100% of eligible purchase and installation costs of EVSE. Twenty-five percent of funds will be earmarked for workplace charging and fleet electrification projects. Additional requirements may apply. For more information, visit the Pacific Power Electric Vehicle website.
Neighborhood Electric Vehicle (NEV) Transportation Plan
The Ranch Plan Planned Community in Orange County is required to publish a NEV transportation report by November 1, 2020, and a NEV transportation plan by January 1, 2022, that focus on reducing vehicle emissions and offering cleaner, more affordable transportation options in the area. Orange County published an updated Ranch Plan NEV Transportation and Sustainable Circulation Plan in October 2017. (Reference California Streets and Highways Code 1965-1965.7)
State Agency Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Installation
California state agencies must actively identify and pursue opportunities to install EVSE, and accommodate future EVSE demand, at state employee parking facilities in new and existing agency buildings. (Reference Executive Order B-18-12, 2012)
Utility Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Allowance
The California Public Utilities Commission allows investor-owned utilities to own and operate charging stations, with approval provided on a case-by-case basis. (Reference California Public Utilities Commission Decision 14-12-079, 2014)
Natural Gas Vehicle (NGV) Incentives
The Institute of Transportation Studies at University of California Irvine administers the Natural Gas Vehicle Incentive Project (NGVIP) to provide funding for qualified NGVs. Eligible vehicles include new on-road natural gas light-, medium-, or heavy-duty vehicles that are fully warrantied and meet California Air Resources Board requirements. Each applicant must complete a NGVIP reservation form and receive a confirmed reservation before purchasing an eligible NGV. Each applicant may apply for up to 30 incentives. Vehicles must operate on natural gas at least 90% of the time for three years after purchase. Incentives are available on a first-come, first-serviced basis and the amounts are based on the NGV's gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) as follows:
|Up to 8,500 pounds (lbs.)||$1,000|
|8,501 lbs. - 16,000 lbs.||$6,000|
|16,001 lbs. - 26,000 lbs.||$11,000|
|26,001 lbs. - 33,000 lbs.||$20,000|
|33,001 lbs. & greater||$25,000|
The California Energy Commission Clean Transportation Program funds the NGVIP. Funding availability is based on confirmed reservations. For more information, including vehicle eligibility requirements and exclusions, see the NGVIP website.
Vehicle Miles Traveled Tax Feasibility Study Committee
The California Transportation Commission (Commission) and the California Transportation Agency (Agency) formed a Road Charge Technical Advisory Committee (Committee) to study road charge alternatives to the gas tax and assess the potential for mileage-based revenue collection. Based on the recommendations of the Committee, the Agency implemented a pilot program to identify and evaluate issues related to potential implementation of a road charge program. The Agency submitted a final report of its findings to the California State Legislature on December 1, 2017. For more information, see the Agency's Road Charge website. (Reference California Vehicle Code 3090-3093)
Plug-In Electric Vehicle (PEV) Credit - SDG&E
San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E) offers an annual credit ranging from $50 to $500 to customers who own or lease a PEV. Enrollment is currently closed (verified June 2019). For more information, including how to apply, see the SDG&E Electric Vehicle Climate Credit website.
Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Rebate - SCE
Southern California Edison's (SCE) Charge Ready Home Installation Rebate Pilot Program offers rebates for residential customers of up to $1,500 toward the installation and permitting costs for a residential Level 2 EVSE. Eligible expenses include the costs associated with electrical upgrades and permit fees, not the cost of the EVSE unit. To qualify, customers must be enrolled in a SCE time-of-use (TOU) rate. Rebate amounts vary depending on the TOU rate in which the customer is enrolled. Additional terms and conditions apply. For more information, see the Charge Ready Home Installation Rebate Program website.
Livermore Amador Valley Transit Authority (LAVTA) Autonomous Vehicle (AV) Pilot Authorization
LAVTA was authorized to conduct a pilot to test shared AVs, without a driver in the driver’s seat, that are not equipped with a steering wheel, brake pedal, or accelerator. The AVs must operate at speeds of less than 35 miles per hour at all times, and can only be tested within the City of Dublin. For more information about the pilot, see the LAVTA Wheels Shared AV Demonstration Project website. (Reference California Vehicle Code 38756)
Heavy-Duty Truck Vouchers - San Joaquin Valley
The San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District (SJVAPCD) administers the Truck Voucher Program (TVP) for small businesses to retrofit or replace existing heavy-duty trucks. Qualified businesses must be independently owned and operated, be located in California, have fewer than 100 employees, and have an annual gross income of $14 million or less during the year of their application. Vouchers funded under these programs must achieve emissions reductions beyond those required by law or regulation. Applications for the programs can be obtained and submitted at an SJVAPCD certified dealership or retrofit installer. Applications will be accepted on a continual basis until funding for the program is exhausted. Applicants must be awarded a voucher from the SJVAPCD prior to ordering and/or purchasing the replacement truck or equipment. Other rules and conditions apply. For more information on program requirements, refer to the SJVAPCD TVP website.
Low Emission Vehicle Incentives and Technical Training - San Joaquin Valley
The San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District (SJVAPCD) administers the REMOVE II program, which provides incentives for cost-effective projects that result in motor vehicle emissions reductions and long-term impacts on air pollution in the San Joaquin Valley. REMOVE II is providing funding for vanpool agencies that reduce or replace single occupant vehicle commutes in the San Joaquin Valley. To participate, vanpool agencies must submit an application to SJVAPCD and sign a contract to become a Vanpool Voucher Incentive Program partner. REMOVE II also includes an Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) Mechanic Training Component that provides incentives to educate personnel on the mechanics, operation safety, and maintenance of AFVs, fueling stations, and tools involved in the implementation of alternative fuel technologies. For more information, see the REMOVE II website, the Vanpool Voucher Incentive Program and the AFV Mechanic Training Component website.
Neighborhood Electric Vehicle (NEV) Access to Roadways
Discussions are encouraged between the California Legislature, the California Department of Motor Vehicles, and the California Highway Patrol regarding the adoption of a new classification for licensing motorists who use NEVs. In addition, certain jurisdictions may develop NEV transportation plans. Specifically, Orange County (Ranch Plan Planned Community) must publish a NEV transportation report by November 1, 2020, and a NEV transportation plan by January 1, 2022. The report must be submitted to the legislature and must describe the NEV transportation plan, an evaluation of the effectiveness of the plan, and a recommendation as to whether the plan should be continued, discontinued, or expanded state-wide.
(Reference California Streets and Highways Code 1962-1966.7)
Support for Advanced Biofuel Development
The California Legislature urges the U.S. Congress or the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency to take action to amend the U.S. Renewable Fuel Standard to favor non-food crop biofuel feedstocks and promote the development of advanced fuels, such as cellulosic ethanol. (Reference Assembly Joint Resolution 21, 2013)
Hybrid and Zero Emission Truck and Bus Vouchers - San Joaquin Valley
The San Joaquin Valley Air Pollution Control District (SJVAPCD) contributed funds to the California Hybrid and Zero Emission Truck and Bus Voucher Incentive Project (HVIP) for eligible vehicles used in the eight-county San Joaquin Valley Air Basin. These "plus-up" vouchers range from $12,000 to $30,000, depending on the vehicle, and are in addition to California Air Resources Board voucher amounts. Vehicles must be domiciled in the air basin 100% of the time for at least three years. For more information, see the San Joaquin Valley Plus-Up website.
Utility Electric Vehicle (EV) Investment Requirements
Utilities must file applications for programs and investments to accelerate widespread EV adoption. Deploying EVs should assist in grid management, integrate generation from eligible renewable energy resources, and reduce fuel costs for EV drivers. Deploying EV charging infrastructure should facilitate increased sales of EVs. (Reference Public Utilities Code 740.12)
All-Electric Vehicle Rebate - PG&E
Pacific Gas & Electric (PG&E) customers are eligible for a $10,000 rebate for the purchase of a new 2017 or 2018 BMW i3. Rebates are available through May 31, 2018. To receive the rebate, bring the Customer Information Form and a copy of a recent PG&E utility bill to a participating dealership. For more information, visit PG&E.
All-Electric Vehicle Rebate - SDG&E
San Diego Gas & Electric (SDG&E) customers are eligible for a $10,000 rebate for the purchase of a new 2017 BMW i3 at participating dealerships. Rebates are available through January 2, 2018, or until funds are exhausted.
Fuel-Efficient Tire Program Development
The California Energy Commission (CEC) must adopt and implement a state-wide Fuel-Efficient Tire Program that includes a consumer information and education program and minimum tire efficiency standards. The CEC must consult with the California Integrated Waste Management Board on the program's adoption, implementation, and regular review. (Reference California Public Resources Code 25770-25773)
Alternative Fuel and Advanced Vehicle Career Training
The Clean Technology and Renewable Energy Job Training, Career Technical Education, and Dropout Prevention Program provides grant funding to school districts for occupational training programs that focus on employment in clean technology and renewable energy businesses, such as clean vehicle technologies, and cellulosic ethanol, biodiesel, biomass power, green waste, and fuel cell production. This program is subject to funding appropriation and expires June 30, 2017. (Reference California Education Code 54690-54699)
Low Emissions School Bus Grants
The Lower-Emission School Bus Program (Program) provides grant funding for the replacement of older school buses and for the purchase of air pollution control equipment for in-use buses. The California Air Resources Board must verify that the air pollution control devices reduce particulate matter emissions by at least 85% for each retrofitted school bus. Public school districts in California that own their buses are eligible to receive funding. Private school transportation providers that contract with public school districts in California to provide transportation services are also eligible to receive funding for the retrofit of in-use buses. New buses purchased to replace older buses may be fueled with diesel or an alternative fuel, provided that the required emissions standards specified in the current guidelines for the Program are met. Funds are also available for replacing on-board natural gas tanks on older school buses and for updating deteriorating natural gas fueling infrastructure. Commercially available hybrid electric school buses may be eligible for partial funding. For more information, see the Program website and contact local air districts to confirm funding availability. (Reference California Health and Safety Code 41081)
Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment Rebate - GWP
Glendale Water and Power (GWP) offers a $200 rebate to the first 100 single-family residential customers that are electric vehicle owners and install a Level 2 240V charging station with a Safety Socket Meter Panel.
Propane Vehicle Rebates - Western Propane Gas Association (WPGA)
Rebates of $500 are available to public and private fleets to purchase or convert a qualified propane vehicle. Recipients must provide monthly product performance information. All conversion systems for vehicles must be certified by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency or the California Air Resources Board. All vehicles must be registered and operated in California. Incentives are available on a first-come, first-served basis or until December 31, 2015. Additional terms and conditions apply. For more information, see the Western Propane Gas Association website.
Natural Gas Vehicle (NGV) Home Fueling Infrastructure Incentive - South Coast
South Coast Air Quality Management District (SCAQMD) residents may be eligible for up to $2,000 toward the purchase and installation of a qualified Phill NGV home fueling appliance. SCAQMD and the Mobile Source Air Pollution Reduction Review Committee provide funding for the program, which will continue until funds have been exhausted. For more information, refer to the SCAQMD Funding Opportunities website.
Plug-In Electric Vehicle (PEV) Infrastructure Evaluation
The California Public Utilities Commission (PUC), in consultation with the California Energy Commission (CEC), California Air Resources Board, electrical corporations, and the motor vehicle industry, evaluated policies to develop infrastructure sufficient to overcome barriers to the widespread deployment and use of PEVs. The PUC must adopt rules to address the following:
- The impacts on electrical infrastructure and any infrastructure upgrades necessary for widespread use of PEVs, including the role and development of public charging infrastructure;
- The impact of PEVs on grid stability and the integration of renewable energy resources;
- The technological advances necessary to ensure the widespread use of PEVs and what role the state should take to support the development of this technology;
- The existing code and permit requirements that will impact the widespread use of PEVs and any recommended changes to existing policies that may be barriers to the widespread use of PEVs;
- The role the state should take to ensure that technologies employed in PEVs work harmoniously and across service territories; and
- The impact of widespread use of PEVs on achieving the state's greenhouse gas emissions reductions goals and renewables portfolio standard program, and what steps should be taken to address the possibility of shifting emissions reductions responsibilities from the transportation sector to the electrical industry.
(Reference California Public Utilities Code 740.2)
Plug-In Electric Vehicle (PEV) Parking Regulation
An individual may not stop, stand, or park a motor vehicle, or otherwise block access to parking, in a stall or space designated for the exclusive purpose of charging a PEV unless the vehicle displays a valid state-issued zero emission vehicle (ZEV) decal and is connected for electric charging purposes. (Reference California Vehicle Code 22511)
Vehicle Miles Traveled Tax Feasibility Evaluation
To facilitate a reliable and steady funding mechanism for maintaining and improving surface transportation infrastructure, the California Legislature requests the President and Congress to consider and enact legislation to conduct a feasibility study of the collection process for a transportation revenue source based on vehicle miles traveled. (Reference Assembly Joint Resolution 5, 2011)
Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Grants - Bay Area
The Bay Area Air Quality Management District (BAAQMD) will award grants to expand the availability of DC fast charge EVSE in the nine-county Bay Area. Eligible property owners and tenants must respond to the BAAQMD Request for Proposals (RFP). Up to $20,000 is available for each DC fast charger installed that meets program requirements; this includes a base award amount of $10,000 per qualifying EVSE installed and incremental bonus awards of up to $5,000 each year for the first two years of operation for any station that meets or exceeds minimum usage requirements. BAAQMD will accept proposals on a first come, first served basis, through June 30, 2014, or until funds are exhausted. For more information, including the RFP, see the DC Quick Charger Deployment Program website.
Regional Climate Change Initiative
Governors of California, Oregon, and Washington approved a series of recommendations for action to combat global warming, as detailed in the West Coast Governors' Global Warming Initiative. The three states must act individually as well as regionally to reduce greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions. The Initiative includes adopting standards to reduce GHG emissions from vehicles by expanding markets for efficiency, renewable energy and alternative fuels, including creating a working group on developing hydrogen fuel. Building upon this commitment, California joined other western states and several Canadian provinces to sign an agreement establishing the Western Climate Initiative, a joint effort to reduce GHG emissions and address climate change.
Zero Emission Vehicle (ZEV) Deployment Support
California joins Connecticut, Maryland, Massachusetts, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, and Vermont in signing a memorandum of understanding (MOU) to support the deployment of ZEVs through involvement in a ZEV Program Implementation Task Force (Task Force). By April 2014, the Task Force will develop a plan of action to accomplish the goals of the MOU, including deploying at least 3.3 million ZEVs and adequate fueling infrastructure within the signatory states by 2025. On an annual basis, each state must report on the number of registered ZEVs, the number of public electric vehicle supply equipment (EVSE) and hydrogen fueling stations, and available information regarding workplace fueling for ZEVs. Each state also commits to:
- Support ZEV commercialization through consistent statewide building codes and standards for installing EVSE, streamlined metering options for homes equipped with EVSE, opportunities to reduce vehicle operating costs, increased electric system efficiency through time-of-use electricity rates and net metering for electric vehicles, and integrating ZEVs with renewable energy initiatives;
- Establish ZEV purchase targets for governmental agency fleets, explore opportunities for coordinated vehicle and fueling station equipment procurement, work to provide public access to government fleet fueling stations, and include commitments to use ZEVs in state contracts with auto dealers and car rental companies where appropriate;
- Evaluate the need for, and effectiveness of, monetary incentives to reduce the upfront purchase price of ZEVs as well as non-monetary incentives, such as high occupancy vehicle lane access, reduced tolls, and preferential parking, and pursue these incentives as appropriate;
- Work to develop uniform standards to promote ZEV consumer acceptance and awareness, industry compliance, and economies of scale, including adopting universal signage, common methods of payment and interoperability of EVSE networks, and reciprocity among states for non-monetary ZEV incentives;
- Cooperate with vehicle manufacturers, electricity and hydrogen providers, the fueling infrastructure industry, corporate fleet owners, financial institutions, and others to encourage ZEV market growth;
- Share research and develop a coordinated education and outreach campaign to highlight the benefits of ZEVs, including collaboration with related national and regional initiatives; and
- Assess and develop potential deployment strategies and infrastructure requirements for the commercialization of hydrogen fuel cell vehicles.
Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Incentive - Bay Area
The Bay Area Air Quality Management District (BAAQMD) PEV Home Charger Deployment Program (Program) provides incentives for up to 2,750 residents who purchase a new plug-in electric vehicle and install Level 2 EVSE from qualifying vendors. Incentive amounts vary and the funds are administered through BAAQMD partner vendors on a first-come, first-served basis. For more information, see the Program website.
Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Incentive - ECOtality
Through the EV Project, ECOtality offers EVSE at no cost to individuals in the Los Angeles and San Diego metropolitan areas. To be eligible for free home charging stations, individuals living within the specified areas must purchase a qualified plug-in electric vehicle (PEV). Individuals purchasing an eligible PEV should apply at the dealership at the time of vehicle purchase. The EV Project incentive program will also cover most, if not all, of the costs of EVSE installation. All participants in the EV Project incentive program must agree to anonymous data collection after installation. Additional restrictions may apply.
Electric Vehicle Supply Equipment (EVSE) Incentive - Coulomb Technologies
Coulomb Technologies' ChargePoint America program offers EVSE at no cost to individuals or entities in the San Jose, San Francisco Bay, Sacramento, and Los Angeles metropolitan area. To be eligible for free home charging stations, individuals living within the specified areas must purchase a qualified plug-in electric vehicle. Application information is available on the ChargePoint America website. In most cases, installation will be paid for by the EVSE owner; some cities, states, and utilities, however, will provide funding towards installation costs. All participants in the ChargePoint America program must agree to anonymous data collection after installation. Additional restrictions may apply.
Hydrogen Energy Plan
California's 21 interstate freeways are designated as the California Hydrogen Highway Network, and the state is committed to working with legislators, energy providers, automakers, and others to achieve the following by 2010: 1) Build a network of hydrogen fueling stations; 2) ensure that hydrogen vehicles are commercially available for purchase; 3) incorporate hydrogen vehicles into the state fleet; 4) develop safety standards for hydrogen fueling stations and vehicles; and 5) establish incentives to encourage the use of hydrogen vehicles and encourage the development of renewable sources of energy for hydrogen production. (Reference Executive Order S-7-04, 2004, and California Health and Safety Code 43868-43869)
State Biofuels Development Plan
The State of California plans to use biomass resources from agriculture, forestry, and urban wastes to provide transportation fuels and electricity to satisfy California's fuel and energy needs. To increase the use of biomass in fuel production, the state will produce its own biofuels at a minimum of 20% by 2010, 40% by 2020, and 75% by 2050. The California Air Resources Board and the California Energy Commission, in conjunction with other agencies, prepared the Bioenergy Action Plan for California, which recommended: research and development of commercially viable biofuels production and advanced biomass conversion technologies; evaluation of the potential for biofuels to provide a clean, renewable source for hydrogen fuel; and increased acquisition of flexible fuel vehicles to 50% of total new vehicles purchased by state agencies by 2010. (Reference Executive Order S-06-06, 2006)
Alternative Fuel Incentive Development
The California Air Resources Board and California Energy Commission developed the Alternative Fuel Incentive Program to allocate $25 million in incentives to promote the use and production of alternative fuels. Eligible projects include projects in California that promote high efficiency, high mileage, alternative fuel light-, medium-, and heavy-duty vehicles, for individual and public fleets. Incentives are available to replace the current state vehicle fleet with clean, high mileage alternative fuel vehicles and for the construction of publicly accessible retail alternative fueling stations and fleet fueling facilities, including E85. Incentives are also available for alternative fuel production in California and funding for research, development, and testing of alternative fuels and advancing vehicle technology. (Reference Assembly Bill 1811, 2006)
Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) Rebate Program
The Fueling Alternatives vehicle rebate program is funded by the California Air Resources Board and provides grants of up to $5,000 to consumers who purchase or lease eligible zero emission vehicles (ZEVs), plug-in hybrid electric vehicles, and AFVs between May 24, 2007, and April 30, 2009. For the purposes of this program, ZEVs include full function battery electric vehicles, hydrogen fuel cell vehicles, low-speed or neighborhood electric vehicles, and zero emission motorcycles.
Alternative Fuel Vehicle (AFV) License Fee
In order to equalize the vehicle license fee between AFVs and conventional fuel vehicles, the incremental cost of purchasing an AFV is exempt from the vehicle license fee (of 2%) when the costs are more than the most comparable conventional fuel vehicle, as determined by the California Energy Commission. This reduction applies to new, light-duty AFVs that are certified to meet or exceed Ultra Low Emission Vehicle standards. This program expires January 1, 2009. (Reference California Revenue and Taxation Code 10759.5)
Alternative Fuel and Advanced Technology Research and Development
The Innovative Clean Air Technologies (ICAT) Program co-funds innovative technology demonstration projects that will improve emissions prevention or control while promoting new industries and jobs in California. Proposals related to current California Air Resources Board programs, such as developing alternatives to diesel fuel and diesel engines, increasing zero emission vehicle efficiency, and developing fuel cells and hydrogen technology, are of particular interest. As of October 2011, the ICAT Program is on hold but is expected to resume for future solicitations.
The following was repealed by California Health and Safety Code 43860: Public agencies, utilities, and solid waste collection vehicle operators are permitted to use biodiesel or biodiesel fuel blends up to 20% in any retrofitted on-road or off-road vehicle or diesel engine certified by the state whether or not biodiesel is expressly identified as a fuel for use with the retrofit system. (Reference Senate Bill 975, 2005, and California Health and Safety Code 43860)
State Alternative Fuels Plan
The California Energy Commission, in partnership with the California Air Resources Board, prepared the State Alternative Fuels Plan as required by Assembly Bill 1007. The Final Commission Report was adopted on December 5, 2007. (Reference California Health and Safety Code Section 43866)
Hybrid Access to High Occupancy Vehicle (HOV) Lanes
The state urges the President and U.S. Congress to take legislative action to allow single-occupant HEVs that achieve a fuel economy highway rating of at least 45 mpg, and conform to any additional emissions category of the federal Environmental Protection Agency or the ARB, or meet any other requirements identified by the responsible agency, to travel in the state's HOV lanes. (Reference AJR 74, 2004)