North Carolina Laws and Incentives

Listed below are incentives, laws, and regulations related to alternative fuels and advanced vehicles for North Carolina. For more information, contact your Clean Cities regional project manager or other agencies through the points of contact section.

Laws and Incentives

North Carolina Information

Find information about alternative fuels and advanced vehicles in North Carolina.

Information in this list is updated annually after North Carolina's legislative session ends.
Last Updated October 2019

State Incentives

Utility/Private Incentives

Laws and Regulations

Expired, Repealed, and Archived Laws and Incentives

View a list of expired, repealed, and archived laws and incentives in North Carolina.

Points of Contact

Get contact information for Clean Cities coalitions or agencies that can help you with clean transportation laws, incentives, and funding opportunities in North Carolina.

Legislative Session Information

The North Carolina Legislature meets for regular sessions of odd-numbered years beginning in January, as well as for shorter sessions during even-numbered years. During the session, the governor must sign or veto legislation within 10 days after transmittal or it becomes law without signature. After the legislature adjourns, the governor must act within 30 days after adjournment or the legislation becomes law without signature.