California Laws and Incentives

Listed below are incentives, laws, and regulations related to alternative fuels and advanced vehicles for California. Your local Clean Cities coalition can provide you with information about grants and other opportunities. You can also access coalition and other agency contact information in the points of contact section.

Filter by Technology/Fuel

Filter by Utility

Filter by County

Laws and Incentives

Information in this list is updated throughout the year and comprehensively reviewed annually after California's legislative session ends.
Last Comprehensive Review: October 2023

State Incentives

Utility/Private Incentives

Laws and Regulations

Expired, Repealed, and Archived Laws and Incentives

View a list of expired, repealed, and archived laws and incentives in California.

Points of Contact

Get contact information for Clean Cities and Communities coalitions or agencies that can help you with clean transportation laws, incentives, and funding opportunities in California.

Clean Cities and Communities Coalitions

California is home to the following coalitions:

Legislative Session Information

The California Legislature meets annually from early January until late August or early September. During the session, the governor must sign or veto legislation within 12 days of transmittal or it becomes law without signature. The governor has 30 days to sign or veto any legislation that is in their possession on the day the Legislature adjourns or it becomes law without signature.